We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb small hotel in a very quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sawrey House Hotel to your Saves list
Sawrey House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Near Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE on Midweek Breaks
Ranked #2 of 5 Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Superb small hotel in a very quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely small hotel in a tiny village in a quiet part of Lakeland. The hotel is a beautifully renovated Manor House and our room was excellent, the only gripe was the rather small shower room which was a bit chilly. We enjoyed a superb dinner with excellent service and there were lots of nice touches inc canapés and home made bread, breakfast was also excellent with an extensive menu. The staff and service were good throughout our stay and we would definitely return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Staffsmartin,
Thank you for taking the time to review Sawrey House. We are all delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us during your break to the Lake District. We have passed your praise on to all our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    82
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
332
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a house with a fascinating history, (eg used for WW1patient convalescence), and now has an ambiance that one would associate with "country house". This includes a very comfortable lounge, with a real fire, and two splendid labradors that appear occasionally, both very friendly. The staff are young, but highly competent. We did not eat in the restaurant, but judging from the breakfast, and comments from other guests, it was our loss.
The walks around Sawrey are excellent, and a nature trail is being created on the banks of Esthwaite. A very enjoyable weekend, many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear maldachs,
Thank you for your splendid review of Sawrey House. We are thrilled you found our hotel 'Terrific' and enjoyed the ambiance and comfort we provide. It is a shame you didn't eat in the restaurant on one evening of your stay, as you would have found the same high standards of food and service as you do at breakfast. Callum and his team work very hard to produce excellent food and our front-of-house team deliver excellent service everytime, although this is a good excuse to return again to try our restuarant!! Thank you again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We like to visit the lakes a few times a year purely for the walking, so consequently would book into B&B’s purely for somewhere to lay our head and enjoy a hearty breakfast. This place is a difference class altogether. Yes, thanks to its wonderful location, you can still enjoy the fantastic walks but the sheer luxury of the place and professionalism of the service helps turn it more into a wonderful holiday experience than simply a base for walking.
Their prices are a fair reflection of the standard of rooms and food, however we took advantage of the ‘Winter Warmer’ deal which in our case equated to £60 pppn for BB and dinner. These offers are for all rooms so it’s first come, first served for the best rooms. (Top Tip – follow on Twitter & Facebook to get advance notice of special deals). The 3 course Table ‘d Hote menu itself is worth £30 so you can see what a fantastic deal it is.
From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you check out, the service is exemplary. Not a stone is left unturned to cater for your every whim. The waiters are so polite and attentive and a credit to themselves and whoever trained them. From the pre-meal canapés to the post meal petit fours you are just so well looked after and the timing between every stage of the meal are just spot on.
The food, where do I start? We have now had 14 three course meals between us and have yet to have had anything that was less than excellent. The choice each night is amazing yet we had 3 different menus for the 3 nights we were there. Even the breakfast menu had over a dozen different options.
Thanks to advance warning from ‘Twitter’ we managed to get the Grizedale room, 4 poster bed and Lake views. Our only complaint about this room is that it was so nice it was difficult to tear ourselves away to visit the fells. Even if you aren’t lucky enough to bag this room, we know from our previous visit that other rooms are just as immaculately clean and well maintained.
There was other plus to our visit this time and that is the discovery of the Mountain Goat bus service which takes you to Hawkshead or the Bowness ferry from a bus-stop just 100 yards from the hotel entrance.
As you can tell, we love it here. We can combine our walking holiday with a luxury holiday for an affordable price in a wondrous location. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View room. The views arew stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mozisgod,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest stay at Sawrey House. We are always delighted to welcome back guests and very pleased to read the amazing review of your latest visit. We have passed all your praise onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near furure.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Sawrey House Hotel after booking our wedding there later in the year. I have to say , everything we thought the place would offer us for a venue has surpassed our expectation!
The value for money is exceptional. The accommodation , facilities and food were all truly superb and hats off to Callum, the resident chef, for the meals were second to none ,beautifully presented and even better to eat!
At the end of each evening we were invited to take coffee in the bar or lounge where we enjoyed sitting in front of a roaring log fire. I was surprised, although secretly very pleased, so many of the other guests retired so early given the warm , cosy atmosphere in the lounge. It was lovely to have the room to ourselves to relax for the remainder of the evening. At this point I would also like to add that unlike in other houses where the managers are tapping their feet waiting for all their guests to retire for the night , here Toni the joint manager was more than happy for us to make ourselves at home and leave us to enjoy our evening.
A special nod to Juan must also be mentioned . What a lovely, cheerful and helpful waiter at breakfast ( which again was delicious and offered an ample selection of all sorts of goodies to set you up for the day ) .
As for the hotel itself ,the building has been lovingly restored and decorated to the highest specification and the views are breathtaking with some of the quietest and most beautiful lake district walking on the doorstep.
All in all with such wonderful staff and a superb hotel the Sawrey House Hotel deserves to thrive. We are now looking forward to our wedding even more!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful but go for a lake view room , truly stunning view from the front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear StaffordshireRufus,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Its always a pleasure to read our guest's comments and I delighted you and your partner had such an amazing time with us. We have passed all your praise onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Sawrey House in the very near future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful two night stay. Even though it was extremely difficult to get up the hill from the ferry in all the snow, it was well worth it. The lovely warm welcome, not just from the staff, but also from the lovely warm open fire made up for the fact we were tired very wet and cold from having to push the car up the hill!

The room was lovely and had everything in there you needed. The food was amazing, we ate there both nights.

The view from the rooms across to the lake were very picturesque.

The hotel added to a lovely three day trip to the Lakes and would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a small and friendly hotel to stay in whilst visiting the Lakes. We will definitely be visiting again.

Many thanks to all the staff.

Brian and Helen Driscoll

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Helen D,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your wonderful review. We are all delighted you managed to get to us in the snow and thrilled you enjoyed your wintery break so much. Sawrey House is indeed in a wonderful location and ideal for getting away from it all and enjoying the peace and quiet the Lake District has to offer. We hope you consider us for your next break in the lakes.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a Valentines break. The hotel is lovely, very clean and welcoming. The staff are very attentive and polite. It was lovely to sit in the lounge with a drink with a roaring log fire and a view over the lake.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and great value for money.

We booked this through a very reasonably priced KGB deal and the value for money is exceptional.

Ideally located for walking and exploring the nearby countryside. I would recomend that you have a car though as nothing is really within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Lorraine S,
Thank you for taking the time to your recent Valentine's weekend break with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found everything to your liking. We are pleased you found us great value but don't forget to sign up to our e-newsletter or follow us on Twitter or Facebook to get all the best deals first!
Hope hope you consider us again for your next visit to the Lakes.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The setting and the scenary are outstanding and the staff are excellent. The restaurant service is of a very high standard: welcoming, attentive and very thoughtful. It is clear that every aspect of the service had been thought about, from the the ordering in the lovely bar, the leading to the table and the intricacies of the finishing touches that lead you to think that this is a top class establishment. The food is exquisite - any other word would be an understatement. You will not be left disappointed by this hotel.

Room Tip: Any lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Address: Near Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawrey House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.