We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Early Birthday Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sawrey House Hotel to your Saves list
Sawrey House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Near Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE on Midweek Breaks
Ranked #2 of 5 Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An Early Birthday Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been coming to the Lake District for years, but this is the first time we have stayed at Sawrey. The Hotel itself is in a fantastic location for walking and the surrounding countryside is magnificent. Both our rooms were lovely with all the facilities you would need and nicely decorated with crisp clean linen sheets. our room looked out over the gardens and the lake, it was very windy when we were there and we even had some snow, but the bed was lovely and cosy. The bathroom was a little cold, due to the sash windows, but a portable heater had been provided so this was never a problem.
Everyone we met at the hotel was very friendly and pleasant, in particular Alin the waiter, who always had a cheery smile.
We did not eat in the hotel, but the menu was interesting and offered good value for guests, breakfast was first class, with a help yourself buffet and hot food to order.
Will we be back, Yes!

Room Tip: Room 3 is nice and quite large, room 7 is smaller but with lovely view over the garden and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear akeithj,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break at Sawrey House. We are delighted you found our hotel to your liking and enjoyed everything we have to offer. We are very lucky to be set in such a wonderful location and trust you managed to make the most of it despite the wind and snow. We are in the process of upgrading all our windows and adding secondary glazing to them too, so all our rooms will be even cosier in the near future. We have passed your praise on to our team and don't forget to sign up to our email newsletter or follow us on facebook to get the best deals for your next visit!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    82
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
332
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

KGB deal for the weekend. Excellent value for money. Staff warm, friendly and professional. Food was very good. Bed a little too hard for us, but hey, everyone is different. I would love to return in the summer on the motorbike. Will be looking for deals again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Baohx,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your weekend break with us. I'm pleased to read you would love to return to us after your enjoyable stay at Sawrey House and look forward to welcoming you back in the summer. If you haven't already, then sign up to our email newsletter on our website, we email all our best deals to our exsiting customers first and that way you are sure to be the first to receive more great offers and deals.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent weekend break at this fabulous hotel It was an early birthday treat, as the date of my birthday was not available. We found the hotel exceptionally friendly and sparkling clean. The breakfast was to die for, and served by a wonderful and friendly waitress, Toni, who was always smiling, nothing was too much trouble. It was one of the best breakfast selections we have ever seen. We were on a KGB deal and booked one of the classic rooms, it was a shame not to see the wonderful views the hotel has to offer as the room we were in has a velux roof window. (Room 8) having said that it did not spoil our stay at all, because we were out and about all day. The bathroom was spotless but a little cold as there is no heating in there, perhaps a heated towel rail would help. All in all this was a fantastic value for money weekend break and I would not hesitate in recommending this excellent hotel and will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Midge-ntl,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to read that you had such an excellent weekend break and found the hotel, staff and food so good. Our standard and classic rooms don't have lake views due to the position within the hotel, but our Lake View and Four Poster rooms have amazing views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, so it's well worth upgrading to have one of these rooms. We're also delighted to read you wouldn't hesitate to recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second visit to the Sawrey House Hotel and it was just as good as the first time.

We stayed in the Grizedale Room with excellent views of Esthwaite Water & the Grizedale Forest. The snowy outlook added to the scene. Our friends stayed in the Deluxe 4-Poster Esthwaite Room with equally stunning views, and a window side spa bath to boot !!

The food at the Sawrey House is absolutely first class - a special mention goes out to Head Chef Cameron who's varied menu is of stunning quality.

All the staff were very attentive with a special mention for the waitress who looked after us during our stay, Toni. She always had a smile on her face and nothing was ever too much trouble.

Can't wait to be back again !

Lee & Amanda Wilkinson

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear leewilkMansfield,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your second stay with us. It was lovely to see you both again and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have passed your praise onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Sawrey House very soon.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Everybody was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely and very clean. The bed comfy, the quilt warm, thick and felt quite heavy, just what you need on a snowy January night. Had everything we needed, tea, coffee, extra heater and power shower. It was very quiet, nobody walking noisily past room banging doors or noisy heating systems like you get in purpose built hotels, excellent nights sleep. The hotel itself was a beautiful building in beautiful surroundings. The food was fantastic! Breakfast, lots of choice and very tasty. The evening meal was wonderful, there was not one morsel I didn't enjoy. The hotel had just reopened after a 2 week break so was a bit chilly when we first arrived, but warmed up as time went on, but we did make use of extra heater in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Sawrey House for New Year Break 31 Dec 2012-02 Jan 2013, and had an idylic break. The Room was immaculate and comfortable. The Food was as good as any 5 star restaurant, with Callum (the Chef) excelling himself on New Years Eve, with an excellent menu, ably assisted by young Toni.

Our stay was the second new year we have stayed here and hope to be back again for next year, and hopefully we can fit an odd weekend in between!

If you are looking for a comfortable friendly hotel, with good staff and a warm welcome from Toni & David then give the hotel a try, it is in an idyllic quiet location, yet easy to get to from Hawkshead and an ideal location for walking

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a very relaxing time and can thoroughly recommend Sawrey House for recharging batteries.
We stayed with friends over the New Year (and our second stay) nothing was too much trouble for the friendly owners and staff and the food was fantastic. Very well done to chef Callum, the gala dinner was wonderful. Toni our young waitress was lovely too and also deserves praise (and that pay rise)!
Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Address: Near Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawrey House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.