We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower Bank Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawrey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tower Bank Arms
Save
You added The Tower Bank Arms to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Near Sawrey | Near Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Sawrey B&B and Inns
New York City
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a beautiful stay at the Tower Bank Arms for one night (unfortunately, it was booked up for the other nights). The historic property is located in a wonderful area, with walking trails and Beatrix Potter sites very close. The staff were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We really loved the Tower Bank Arms. It's a rare find these days - a traditional pub with a real sense of history - it even features in the Tales of Jemima Puddleduck by Beatrix Potter! The bar has a cosy feeling and serves great local beers - we liked Hawkshead Bitter and Cracker. Dinners were delicious, hearty meals - the best beef stew I have ever tasted, and a sticky toffee pudding which takes some beating!
We stayed in Methera for two nights. It's a large comfortable room with pretty views over the valley. It was a superior room, so a little more expensive than the others, but we enjoyed having the space to relax after our walks and enjoy a cup of tea on the sofa, so we felt it was worth it. The bathroom was modern and spacious with a huge shower. We liked having wifi available in our room and the bar.
The staff and host were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The Tower Bank Arms is next door to Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's farmhouse, now owned by the National Trust - worth a visit if you are staying in the village. The local area is beautiful.
We had a relaxing stay with good food and drink in a beautiful setting - what more could we ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have a really lovely weekend break at the Tower Bank Arms. Everything was frist class, the room, the food (and drinks) and the service. We could not have had a warmer welcome. We were even blessed with the weather and did not get wet once! We can really recommend this lovely quiet spot in the lake district and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Yan - a twin room but quite spacious and spotlessly clean. You get a little bit of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for a short spring weekend walking break and experienced a really warm welcome. Tower Bank has a varied menu with plenty of recommendations so we did not know what to choose which is always a good sign and our choices for evening meal were delicious. Breakfasts were great with perfect poached eggs.
Room was cosy and had lots of character and a great view out to the front of the property.
Great for accessing short or longer walks in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend having been twice before. We were not disappointed. The pub is in a lovely location near Beatrix Potters house in Sawrey. The food is excellent too but of course it's the people that really make the difference. Anthony has a very relaxed and unobtrusive style but is always on hand. His staff are outstanding and when greeted by Rosie we were made to feel most welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and for us this is so refreshing in today's world. Needless to say we have rebooked another stay. Thanks we think your Gold Medal winners!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the May bank holiday weekend. Two of our party had stayed here previously and were full of praise for Tower Bank and Anthony, the owner. We were not disappointed.

Our room Methera was spacious with great views over the fields. The bed was so comfortable we both had the best sleep we'd had in a while. Breakfast was delicious. We opted for the full english and were full for most of the day. There were also cereals and fruit available to have pre the full english.

We ate in the pub both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the home cooked food. Between us all we covered different meals on the menu over the two nights and every meal was really tasty. The locals clearly love the pub as both nights there were a number of people in but not so many that it was uncomfortably busy or noisy.

Anthony went over and above in ensuring that we were all looked after but took extra care in ensuring all my food was thoroughly cooked (I am currently having chemo so need to take extra care of what I eat).

A major plus for us is that the pub is very dog friendly as are the rooms. We will definitely be staying here again and wouldn't stay anywhere else when in this part of the Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

To be fair I wasn't sure whether we should put a review on for the Tower Bank Arms as it means more people will get to know about it!!!, My wife and I have stayed a couple of times now and will certainly be going back. It is in a really small village right in the centre of the lakes and is one of the best pubs we have ever stayed in. The welcome is always friendly, the rooms are a little on the small side except for the methera room (yan, tan methera etc being the old sheperds way of counting sheep) but definitely cosy and well appointed. The food is excellent with a good menu and specials every day. It is a pub (hip hip hooray) and the choice of beers is excellent with always at least 5 or 6 cask ales on. The landlord, Anthony, is a very friendly and helpful guy and full of local knowledge and information. All I can say is thanks and look forward top seeing you all again soon

Room Tip: Methera is the bigger room, more expensive but worth it if you are going to be there a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower Bank Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Bank Arms

Address: Near Sawrey | Near Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Sawrey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sawrey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower Bank Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Tower Bank Arms Hotel Sawrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower Bank Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.