We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo Brow Inn

Save Saved
You added Cuckoo Brow Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cuckoo Brow Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Far Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Sawrey B&B and Inns
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very impressed with the Cuckoo Brow - we'd been for a couple of meals in the past when I think it was called the Sawrey Inn (?), and we stopped this time for lunch. Food served all day, which is great - we finished our walk at just after 2 so weren't able to get in a couple of pubs as they stopped serving at 2. It was nice enough to sit outside in the beer garden, although the barman said we were very welcome to eat inside with our dog. Lovely lunch menu, I was spoiled for choice. In the end I chose the fishermans' platter which came with smoked salmon, shrimps and mackeral pate served with beautifully fresh rustic bread. I also couldn't resist order a whole baked garlic which was a real treat - not something I can often find on a menu. It was scrummy :) We'll definitely go back next time we're visiting the Lakes and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    113
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
72
282
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A lot of hard work and imagination has been put into this old hotel. The bedrooms have been completely refurbished and are large and comfortable.
The public areas have been furnished with antiques and vintage items creating a pleasing eclectic mix. Log fires burn throughout the day and it is just wonderful to come in from a long walk and relax and cosy up to the fire! We left our dog at home but dogs and their owners are made most welcome in all areas.
The beer is well kept - the local award - winning Loweswater Gold is especially good.
We enjoyed our breakfasts and the meals on both evenings. There is a good selection on the menu with a number of 'specials' each day.
Thank you to owners and staff for a very enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally s, Owner at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for leaving us your lovely review. I can see from your past reviews that you are an avid traveller so I am especially thrilled that we stand up to such international competition.
We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just got back from two nights stay, all fantastic,lovely room...beds are massive!! Wonderful powerful shower. Food outstanding...pork was amazing .My husband had a burger it was gorgeous.Nothing to add really ...except the staff were lovely and friendly very welcoming ...Do try !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just had a 2 night stay at The Cuckoo Brow with a voucher deal. The food was delicious especially the sticky toffee pudding it was to die for. Try the specials as well my husband had the catch of the day and i had pork loin with wildmushroom and apricot stuffing in a blue cheese sauce it was the best meal we have had in quite a while.No complaints about the breakfast as well empty plates both mornings. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean,warm ,lovely big bed and beautiful bathroom, excellent shower. We will hopefully return to this lovely hotel soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally s, Owner at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am really pleased to ready that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a real pleasure to have you as guests. The comments you have left about our food are wonderful, I have passed them on to the chefs – and I hope your husband enjoyed the Chocolate Mousse with the extra scoop of Thunder & Lightening Ice Cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Called in February but was closed to a private party, so as we were staying up the road, we gave it a try.
Alot of very good things here, location, decor, staff, beers, but we ordered some food and the starters were fabulous but the Sunday Roast main was inedible the meat was cut in chunks and chewy, the Yorkshires were poor, and the roast potatoes seemed to have been warmed up and then grilled?
To be fair the bar staff took it away without hesitation, apologised and did not charge us, shame as the starters were great.
Will be staying at Hawkrigg up the road again and will give it another chance based on the good points listed above, but not a good first experience mealwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally s, Owner at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving us your review, the positive and negatives are both very useful and valuable to us. Firstly I am very pleased to read that you received such good service from our staff, I have passed your comments onto them. Moving onto the poor Sunday Lunch, this has been discussed with our Chefs and they are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal, I have asked them to look again at Sunday Lunch preparations and to ensure that comments like yours are not received again. I am pleased to read that you will give us another chance on your next visit to Far Sawrey, we look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We only had a lunch in this beautifully refurbished pub, but the other reviews are right - a lot of money and thought has been invested in this place. The bar area really looked top class. We were quite early so had time to chat to the young (they all seem young nowadays) New Zealand owner/manager who was very friendly.

Our lunch was absolutely super. I had the game stew and my wife had the fishplate. Top class. It was nice to watch the pouring rain from the windows. The pub filled up by the time we had left with various walkers peeling off layers of waterproofs and friendly dogs saying hullo to each other and sitting by the fire ( we left our not so sociable dog in the back of the car to sleep).

The very best of luck to the new owners. This certainly deserves to be a destination pub in the area. Well worth the drive. Indeed we will be driving back tomorrow night for our wedding anniversary dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally s, Owner at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It was lovely to meet with you, I hadn’t realised it was your anniversary that evening – congratulations! Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review, we really do value your comments. I hope that you will come and visit us soon on your next visit to the lakes, and I am especially glad that ‘we were the hotel for you’ ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just spent the last 2 days at Cuckoo Brow Inn and we honestly can't fault it. The food was delicious, breakfast and evening meal were perfect. Compliments to the chef. Our room (9) was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, lovely big bed and beautiful bathroom. The staff were really friendly, nothing was a problem for them. We will definately recommend this Inn to our family and friends and hopefully we will return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally s, Owner at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay – despite the rain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuckoo Brow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Brow Inn

Address: Far Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuckoo Brow Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a pub with B&B in Ambleside, around half a mile from Lake Windermere, and from Near Sawrey, which is where Beatrix Potter lived (Hill Top). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cuckoo Brow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo Brow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.