We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatrix Potter's Local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo Brow Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cuckoo Brow Inn to your Saves list
Cuckoo Brow Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Far Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sawrey B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beatrix Potter's Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Cuckoo Brow Inn has been refurbished and is receiving visitors to enjoy a drink and a stay in a pub that once welcomed Beatrix Potter.
The Inn has been transformed into an eternally classic four star country inn, where the appeal of the famous children’s writer has been preserved.
The inn is a short stroll from the former home of Beatrix Potter at Hill Top. It’s a cosy and inviting pub with 14 beautifully styled bedrooms. It’s named after the hill on which it sits and a wood known to be a favourite place of the writer.
There are large family rooms and intimate bedrooms for two. Each one offers a high standard of accommodation with luxury furnishings, super king-size beds and en suite bathrooms. Downstairs the inn features original open fires and a wood burning stove to create a sense of warmth and comfort. The large bar serves traditional Lakeland ales. Food is hearty, wholesome and perfect for those who enjoy classic Lakeland style.
The Cuckoo Brow Inn appeals to all visitors: couples, families, walkers and outdoor enthusiasts. It also welcomes muddy boots, wet dogs and children! Other attractions include a games area where children can play. The lounge is the oldest part of the pub dating back to the 18th century. Formerly a stable, the room contains several original features.
There’s a small gift shop with Lake District items including Hawkshead Relish, Loom Hand Woven Blankets, Pringle & Fairweather beauty products and a cute cuddly dog toy. The shop also doubles as a community shop since the Inn took over the job of newspaper sales and deliveries. There is also a small library where visitors can take any book away and leave behind an unwanted book or a donation for the Cumbrian Mountain Rescue.
Sally & Dan invited Pat and me to lunch and what a fine spread it was. We were shown the bedrooms and I must say it would be a rare treat to stay there. Beatrix Potter found her best stories in the Lake District. She also found the best hospitality at Cuckoo Brow.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    130
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
95
329
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Saw this hotel on an Online deal. I rang and had a nice discussion about their availabilty, found something suitable, bought the deal then rang back - all sorted, a little break for our Wedding Anniversary.
We stayed Friday and Saturday night and were booked in at reception then shown to our room by Safron ( a nice touch, I thought).
Not sure when the hotel was upgraded but the bedrooms are bright and modern with a comfortable bed and nice shower en suite. We were at the front of the hotel and our room was bright and airy.They've managed to have the bedrooms modern but kept the character in the main building with stone floors and fires and that Lake District feel.
We ate in the hotel both nights and I would recomend checking out the daily Specials on the menu as they were rather good and the drink wasn't overly priced.
The hotel advertises it's Dog Friendliness so there were dogs nearby all night but both dogs and owners were very well behaved.
There's a pub a little way down the road but we were quite happy to sit and chat after our meal as well as it being incredibley dark outside at this time of year.
Hotel is handy for Hawkshead, Coniston and Ambleside and Bowness is just across the lake via the car ferry.
All in all a nice stay and a place on the list to visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

we spent this weekend at the Cuckoo Brow Inn with our two dogs and could not fault a thing,the rooms are bang up to date and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was very good as was the evening meal we ate there both nights and thought it was good food and good value.
All the staff from Dan the manager Chris the deputy and all the other staff members were welcoming,helpfull and really friendly,so a big thanks to you all.
We will definately go there again so would our Whippet and one eyed Italian Greyhound who loved all the fuss she got

Room Tip: rooms at the front have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a KGB Deal recently. Location is great, room was spotless and had one of the comfiest hotel beds I've ever slept in. Breakfast was good and had lots of choice. We ate here for dinner both nights and found the prices very resonable. Only niggle we had with the place was the menu. There was a lot of things on there that weren't that appealing. They did have a specials menu every night though and that was a bit of an improvement but we'd have liked a few more traditional dishes on the main menu or even just a Steak. Apart from that the food we did have was very good! They could really do with some sofas in the bar area too. The tables and chairs are nice for a short time but they're not the most comfortable things to sit on all evening. Other than that though the place was great and I'd definitely consider staying there again, especially if we got another deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Just back from a 3 night break with The Mrs and our Jack Russell, Willow and we were really impressed with the Cuckoo Brow Inn.
The location was perfect, within walking distance of both Windermere and Hawkshead yet far enough away from that commercial side of the Lakes to relax in peace and quiet. Lots of great walks within the immediate area... The nearest shops are in Hawkshead (2 1/2 miles away)
The staff were brilliant, particularly with the Dogs and at no time did you ever get the feeling your dog was unwelcome or in the way.
The rooms (refurbed quite recently) are very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent.
Definitely a place we'll be returning to....

Room Tip: We were in Room 8.. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time everything from arriving was smooth our room was perfect every part was spotless food out of this world staff could not do enough for you can't wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanfairfechan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

what a differance we came here a few years back with differant owners, enough said, we walked past last year and seen it had been taken over, well what can i say other than "what a great stay we had this time" comfy modern bedroom, welcoming owners and staff,
well worth a visit and we will be back again, even Tumble (our border collie) was welcome

Room Tip: well worth the extra for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuckoo Brow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Brow Inn

Address: Far Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuckoo Brow Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the quiet village of the Far Sawrey, just a 3/4 mile pleasant stroll to the National Trust home of Beatrix Potter, our Lake District Inn welcomes you to come and sit by the fire. Situated at the top of the hill in between Lake Windermere and Hawkshead Village, surrounded by beautiful scenery, popular walking and cycling trails and of course the countryside which Beatrix Potter drew her inspiration from. We are a classic, yet contemporary Lake District Bed & Breakfast, which has recently been renovated and lovingly restored to its former glory. We now have 14 beautiful en-suite bedrooms, which are a selection of superking size, family and twin rooms, all rooms have power showers, 32" flat screen TVs, tea and coffee facilities and everything you would want from Lake District B&B. We are passionate about the Lakes, and strive to produce a local, sourcing as much produce as possible from the from the bountiful area in which we sit, be that the Real Ales, the game for our Huntsmans Hot Pot or the sausages for our Cumbrian Breakfast which of course no true Lake District B&B would be without. We would like to welcome all to our little Inn, which offers dog friendly accommodation for those wishing to bring their dog away for a holiday in the Lakes. Whether you are popping in for a pint or coming to stay in the Lake District Bed & Breakfast, our doors are open and our fires are on. Food is served all day, 12 noon until 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cuckoo Brow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo Brow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.