We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo Brow Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cuckoo Brow Inn to your Saves list
Cuckoo Brow Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Far Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our 2 night stay at the Cuckoo Brow Inn. We had a fab time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was extremely clean and had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The bed was very comfy and there was a great flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a very modern bathroom with excellent shower. The room faced onto the road but we weren't bothered by any road noise as the windows were double glazed and the road not that busy anyway.

The breakfasts were very good - tasty full Cumbrian breakfast (our diet starts tomorrow!!!). There was also a choice of fruit juice and cereal, and on one of the mornings some yoghurt and fruit but this was not consistent on both days and the fruit was not regularly replenished which was a little disappointing. All in all though, a great breakfast - we could not fault it. High quality products used (great cumerland sausages) and all very fresh.

We ate in the restaurant both nights. Wine and beer prices are a little on the expensive side (slightly more than we are used to paying on average in London) and the food was 'gastro pub prices' so also a little on the expensive side but very very good quality and well worth the extra few pounds. My husband had haddock and fish which was delicious and I had the home made pie of the day which was excellent. On the second night, my husband had the home made burger and I had the lasagne both of which were good but both were covered in a little too much cheese.

A great stay - lovely staff - will definitel return!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    138
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
362
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Cuckoo Brow for 2 nights from 5th October. Very easy to find from the ferry at Bowness. When we booked in, we were upgraded to a wonderfully comfortable room. The views were spectacular. Food was very good and the staff could not do enough for us.The atmosphere was so relaxing. The weather was the only thing that spoilt the break. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

just returned from a 2 night stay at the cuckoo brow. we found the place to be a very friendly, relaxing place and had a fantastic weekend. we had a 20 month old with us and we were given a family room which gave us a more space. the room was lovely. well decorated, clean, spacious and modern but still fits in with the feel of the hotel and the surroundings. the bed was very big and incredibly comfy..the biggest bed ive slept in in this country. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the bar serves local real ales which my husband was pleased about. Our 20 month old was welcomed by everyone at the hotel which helped us to have a relaxing weekend without worrying. The hotel is also very dog friendly.This is a great thing if you like dogs and we didnt mind at all but not great if you dont
Only down side really was the food. The breakfasts were good..not fantastic but as you would expect. The food in the evening wasnt great though. wasnt bad enough to complain about but didnt have us going back for more. the 2nd day we ate in a pub down the road for lunch after a walk and in the evening we ate in hawkshead which we drove to and the food was much better. Also some comfier chairs near the wood burner would be nice. the current chairs arnt very comy in the evenings when u want to relax with a few drinks and the ones in the lounge are a little out of it away from everyone.
overall though i would definetly return

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

.
First discovered this recently renamed Inn whilst walking in September and was impressed by the relaxed quality of the place. Went there to stay for two nights on 2nd October 2011 and was even more impressed.
The bedrooms are recently refurbished to a high standard with incredibly comfortable beds. The staff and management are young and enthusiastic. Breakfast is excellent and freshly prepared to your oder. The Inn serves food all day which is well presented, of high quality and a reasonable price.
Muddy boots, wet dogs and children are claimed to be welcome, whilst I can't comment on the last two its a great place to relax with a drink in front of one of the two log fires in the bar area after a long walk.
This is my hotel of choice in the Lakes and look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel, road side,but after the Windermere car ferry stops about 21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Cuckoo Brow inn is in an excellent location near to the ferry to Bowness.The food at breakfast was average.Recently refurbished but needs some more work on the entrance to the hotel.The Tower Bank Arms down the road served wonderful food at lunch and evening.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the fromt of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just returned from our third visit to the sawrey, cuckoos brow. This is the ultimate bolt hole to go to for a retreat from the mad world. After a days walking the bar is excellent to retreat to for an ice cold cider. The staff are really nice & friendly which makes the place really special. Hope everyone does not find out about this magical place as we might find it hard to get a date to return again !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltburn
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

recently referbished this is the nicest b&b we have stayed at the rooms are big and comfortable loverly big bed to get lost in very clean,very nice en suit even has a heated mirror (quality) A loverly fire to welcome you in the front door when you arive, the breakfast is eggselent and the staff and owners very friendly well worth the trip and thankyou very much for a exelent stay in the lake district ....dogs and muddy boots welcome......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuckoo Brow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Brow Inn

Address: Far Sawrey, Sawrey LA22 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuckoo Brow Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the quiet village of the Far Sawrey, just a 3/4 mile pleasant stroll to the National Trust home of Beatrix Potter, our Lake District Inn welcomes you to come and sit by the fire. Situated at the top of the hill in between Lake Windermere and Hawkshead Village, surrounded by beautiful scenery, popular walking and cycling trails and of course the countryside which Beatrix Potter drew her inspiration from. We are a classic, yet contemporary Lake District Bed & Breakfast, which has recently been renovated and lovingly restored to its former glory. We now have 14 beautiful en-suite bedrooms, which are a selection of superking size, family and twin rooms, all rooms have power showers, 32" flat screen TVs, tea and coffee facilities and everything you would want from Lake District B&B. We are passionate about the Lakes, and strive to produce a local, sourcing as much produce as possible from the from the bountiful area in which we sit, be that the Real Ales, the game for our Huntsmans Hot Pot or the sausages for our Cumbrian Breakfast which of course no true Lake District B&B would be without. We would like to welcome all to our little Inn, which offers dog friendly accommodation for those wishing to bring their dog away for a holiday in the Lakes. Whether you are popping in for a pint or coming to stay in the Lake District Bed & Breakfast, our doors are open and our fires are on. Food is served all day, 12 noon until 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cuckoo Brow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo Brow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.