We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful alpine environment, spacious spotless rooms and wonderful friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Lodge to your Saves list
Alpine Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful alpine environment, spacious spotless rooms and wonderful friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beautiful alpine environment, spacious spotless rooms and wonderful friendly staff.

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge for one night for a wedding anniversary party. We had the most delicious set menu with lots of different choices (beautiful d'oeuvres ... scallops and homemade rabbit filled ravioli, superbly cooked lamb and pork for mains with delicious salads and vegetables). Staff really went the extra mile to make our evening a real celebration. The table was also set so thoughtfully for us with beautiful decorations which we hadn't expected.

We highly recommend this gem of a place. Service is superb and it's in one of the most beautiful parts of NZ.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for you for taking the time to write about the Alpine Lodge.
We hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
pacific palms
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just walked in to this lovely log cabin style lodge on our way from Picton to the West Coast and found it to be really good value for families. Located near the Nelson Lake National Park. The accommodation is very comfortable and constructed in solid timber which gave it an authentic alpine feel. The rate for 2 bedrooms was good value and more than comparable to others we had priced prior to leaving.
Management was very efficient and the dining room had a good varied menu.
The setting was beautiful with the mountains towering in the near distance.
For people wishing to take the slow road to the west coast this makes a good initial night stopover.
Unable to rate due to a problem with TA website.

Room Tip: Take a short drive down to the lake-very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to writing a review.
We like the fact we are somewhat understated and that our guests, such as yourself feel pleasantly
surprised when they come and stay with us.
Warm regards
Alexandra & Leighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We showed up unannounced, tired, hungry and smelly after cycling several hundred km's over the previous few days. We were treated to our own room in the backpackers part of the accommodation, towels and even some free soap (as good as gold to us), which was above what we were expecting. Can't comment on the other accommodation options but the backpackers was well laid out.

The staff went out of their way to be super friendly even though they were slightly understaffed due to a sudden surge in visitors. We ate in the restaurant which provided great meals with everything prepared on site. Excellent location.

Room Tip: The backpackers rooms are all double glazed and have heaters so should be super warm in winter. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hello...
Many thanks for your great review.
You are right we did get busy unexpectedly, but having lovely, patient and appreciative guests like yourselves make all the difference.
We hope that you have time to explore more of the Nelson Lakes National Park some time in the future.
Warm regards Alexandra & Leighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Average hotel, clean, possibly a tad pricey. Dated fittings, nice bar area and beautiful surroundings. No air con, no guest laundry. We had a smaller ground floor room which was well maintained but could have been better ventilated.

No complaints.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We agree that some of our rooms are dated and due to the economic times we have only managed to refurbish some of our rooms.
For now we are trying to focus clean rooms, good service and great food and looking forward to the future we will continue to upgrade the hotel.
We are truly sorry that you did not find our guest laundry, it is located opposite the spa pool, next to the luggage storage.
Being at an altitude of 640m we don't find it necessary to provide air conditioning.
As for the ventilation we will check all the rooms as we are unsure which one you had.
We hope to see you again sometime and please feel free to ask Leighton or myself for an upgrade into one of our superior rooms.
Warm regards
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Wished we had stayed more then 1 night. Looking forward to a return visit. Our superior room was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of a stream. Food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious. Service was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello Marianne
Thank you very much for your lovely response.
Is not easy to please everyone in the Hospitality so it makes us happy when we receive great reviews.
We are looking forward to hosting you again sometime in the near future.
Warm regards Alexandra & Leighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed there a number of times over the years, starting in 2003 under the old management, and then more recently under the new. It's a great place to stay when in the Nelson lakes, within walking distance of Lake Rotoiti, most of the accommodation is away from the main road, and the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are excellent! the rooms seem to fall to two categories, but we always pay a little more for the bigger rooms overlooking the brook at the back. The main thing that seems to have changed over the years is that the quality of the food in the restaurant has slipped. Don't get me wrong, it's not bad, but it used to be excellent, so that was a little disappointing on this trip, especially as there really isn't anywhere else to eat in town (there is fish and chips across the road, but closed when we were there). That aside, I couldn't re comment this place more highly.

Room Tip: There is a little bush walk you can take to the lake, which avoids having to take the car, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are a surprised to hear that the food was disappointing.
This is the first for us as all of our Trip Advisor food reviews have been good as well as our guest comment cards.
Our chef has worked for our family for the last 11 years and without details it is going to be hard to know what to improve on.
We do take all the guest comments seriously as this is our own business and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
If you decide to come and visit St. Arnaud again, please let us know so that we can maybe offer you a free room upgrade as an apology. There is a new cafe in town which you may wish to try next time..... Warm regards Alexandra & Leighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have stayed at the St. Arnaud Alpine Lodge numerous times. The service is always fantastic, every member of the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are wonderful, very comfortable, very clean, great views.
The restaurant serves lovely, healthy food. t is always presented well. I love eating there. Prices are very good and the menu is pretty exstensive, offering something for all tastes.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have lovely views. The family rooms are spacious, with a lovely lounge area to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.