We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality B&B with excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Arnaud House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Arnaud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Arnaud House B&B
Save
You added St Arnaud House B&B to your Saves list
4 Holland Street | PO Box 88 St Arnaud, Tasman, Saint Arnaud 7053, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A quality B&B with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

St Arnaud house was our first experience of a New Zealand B&B and it certainly set a high standard.

The room was luxurious and comfortable, but what I most remember is the food - from tea with homemade cakes and fudge on arrival, a dinner to rival a high quality restaurant, and a huge breakfast. Margery is an excellent cook.

Russ and Margery made us feel very much at home, with as much or as little conversation as we wished. They also took dinner with us which we greatly appreciated and added to the feeling that we were staying with friends.

The only negative was the bathroom which in our (twin) room was very small and had a feeble shower which quickly ran out of hot water in the evening when we arrived sweaty from a walk in the mountains - fortunately in the morning there was plenty of hot water although the flow was still only adequate.

We would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Margery and Russell were delightful hosts. They are very warm and welcoming, very willing and able to help with questions, suggestions, directions, etc. Their dog Ruby is the dearest gem and even the cats will come snuggle with you in the living room; they seem to especially prefer men guests. Margery's breakfasts are tremendous...stuff yourself and skip lunch. Delicious! We didn't partake of this option, but Margery will also cook dinners (delicious per Russell, of course!) ...check their website for details re cost and amount of lead time needed.

We were in the Robin Room for three nights. Very comfortable beds, nice linens and even electric blankets if you need them. Bathroom for this room is en suite, very small, but everything you need. Windows on opposing walls for great cross ventilation should you choose to have the windows open. Awaken to birdsong in the morning. Lovely.

Short walk down their quiet, shady lane to Nelson Lakes National Park and the shore of Lake Rotoiti. Also an easy walk into the tiny village of St. Arnaud. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stay.

Room Tip: The Robin Room is a larger room with a very compact bathroom. The other guest room is smaller, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Jeannie and I stayed in the upstairs room, which was quiet, lots of room, well ventilated, nice views, comfy bed... What a fine experience we had visiting for three nights with Russ and Margery at the St. Arnaud House B&B:
- Yummy breakfasts and dinners, with great company
- A living room table that was just right for my computer and papers
- A skylight above our bed to enjoy the stars
- What fun it was to wake up to birds welcoming the slow southern dawn
- Expert help from Russ with transferring photos from my cell phone to my computer
- Use of two mountain bikes for my wife and I to explore the nearby country roads and trails
- A beautiful garden to enjoy, plus watch a variety of birds
- Lots of books

Here's to Russ and Margery,
Paul and Jeannie Queneau, Golden, CO

Room Tip: Jeannie and I stayed in the upstairs room, which was quiet, lots of room, well ventilated, nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

As soon as we arrived at St Arnaud House homestay B&B and were welcomed by Russell with a cup of tea and homemade biscuits (our choice - he did offer us a real drink!) we were made to feel as if we were family friends rather than paying guests. Russell and Margery's hospitality is peerless, with friendly conversation, great local knowledge, and superb food. Russell showed us where to walk down the river to the lake then around the pensinsula, to absorb some of the atmosphere of Nelson Lakes. He also gave us a very timely warning about sandflies around the lake's edge! Later, he put food out for the birds, so that I could get some photographs of the Tuis.

We stayed in the Tui room, a cosy wood-panelled upstairs retreat with ensuite and a skylight over the bed. Both the room and bathroom were well appointed, including tea/coffee, and were spotlessly clean. Being up so high (the house itself is on a ridge) all of the room windows, including the window in the shower, look out into the treetops. The bed was very comfortable, and the surroundings quiet and peaceful.

Margery is a superb cook and the dinner she prepared for us was 5-star. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was also great, with Margery cooking to order, as well as cereals, toast and fruits.

We'd love to come back one day and explore further - maybe even climb Mt Robert!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visited St Arnaud knowing little about the place. It is a beautiful spot, great for walkers. We stayed one night at St Arnaud House B&B and I can honestly say it was great. Margery and Russell are really nice and full of great conversation and hospitality. Their place is set amongst beautiful NZ bush and hundreds of birds. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice relaxing spot away from the city or anyone on a road trip and looking for a beautiful spot for a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at some lovely B&B's during our 3 weeks in NZ but we just had to vote Margery and Russell as the best. We felt so at home and woke up to the smell of Margery's delicious home made muffins every morning. The breakfasts were superb as were the evening meals we had with them too.
The room was cosy and comfortable and we found the whole stay there was just so relaxing.
Luckily Russell is a First Aid Trainer as I managed to shut my husband's finger in the boot. He drilled a hole in it to release the pressure and dressed it. I was very relieved about that!
We loved staying with you both and thankyou so much for our home made Christmas decoration which will bring back such great memories each Christmas. Lin and Mike, UK

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived it felt like we were part of the family. Margery and Russell were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We had the 'Bellbird' room which, though not overly large, was very comfortable. Breakfast was a great selection of cereals, fruit and yogurt in addition to eggs, bacon, tomato and mushrooms. We chose to have dinner with our hosts on one evening. It was delicious and very well priced. Great location for exploring the Nelson Lakes National Park and surrounding area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
It was our pleasure, Margery take great care in sourcing locally grown in season fresh fruit and berry's and offers guests a great choice for breakfast, plus teas and coffee,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Arnaud House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Arnaud House B&B

Address: 4 Holland Street | PO Box 88 St Arnaud, Tasman, Saint Arnaud 7053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Arnaud House is a boutique sub-alpine Hosted bed and breakfast lodge nestled amongst native beech forest and its abundant bird life. We are within easy strolling distance to Lake Rotoiti the gateway to the Nelson Lakes National park We have three queen bedrooms available, all with en-suite bathrooms. Wireless broadband internet, evening meals are available by prior arrangement. St Arnaud House is heated by log fires and heat pump, making for cosy warm evenings in the winter. Whether you desire a romantic break or adventure holiday, or just yearning for fresh mountain air, St. Arnaud House is the perfect location.Come warm your toes in front of the log-burner after a great day's hiking, fishing or skiing. relax with a great espresso coffee, Please contact us for one of Margery's superb home cooked evening dinners, which includes a complimentary glass of wine are available by prior arrangement.)Russell & Margery, our Burmese cats, Pug & Chilli and Poodle, Ruby, look forward to welcoming you into our home and sharing our wonderful location with you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Arnaud House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.