We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better than Kasteli” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasteli Bar & Restaurant

Kasteli Bar & Restaurant
Pyrgos 84600, Greece
0030-6978752079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Pyrgos
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“You can do better than Kasteli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was probably our least enjoyable meal in Oia. The service was slow and very casual. The food was extremely average. The chap doing the grilling was not an advert for hygiene or food safety (although we were absolutely fine afterwards). We ate much better in other restaurants. One final point, if you think that listening to the same Greek music on a loop might grate, be warned - it goes on forever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    6
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Ann, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful fun and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Oops. I reviewed Kastelli Tavern, but did mean Kasteli Restaurant.
Amazing views. Good, fresh, local, Greek food. Nice menu variety. Nice drinks. The owner and host (Nikos) is a real treasure. A warm, generous, big hearted man of great depth and wisdom.
Do not miss. Right next door to Zannos Melathron and below s
Castle ruins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“An overlooked gem in Oia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ambience: Much like all the other places on the main thoroughfare but totally unpretentious and with a terrific view for both people watching and scenery.
Service: Again, nothing special but okay.
Food: Absolutely terrific. I'm a bit of a foodie, so this trumps everything when I go somewhere, and here they had it done right. We came here on the first day as a case of taking the first place we saw when starving, but came back for lunch all 3 days in Oia - something I would usual never do. We loved the grilled shrimp (which were huge!) with it's succulent seasoning as well as the grilled octopus which was meaty but the most tender and tasty I have ever had anywhere (and I try this dish wherever I can). The lamb chops were simply okay, but the grilled pita was something my friend couldn't stop eating, and was even better with the taramasalata (roe dip).
Price: Can't beat it - every meal was under 25 euros for two with wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Perfect casual home cooking place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We first went here when we arrived in Oia. We needed a little something to hold us over till dinner. It was a very hot day. The rose wine was chilled and dry and the beer was great. We had the tatziki. It was home made and the best I have ever had. We tried it at several other places and this was the best! We then went back another day for more wine, beer and this time had the greek salad. It was also very good. I wish we had gone back for the souvlaki but ran out of time. It is a casual place with beautiful view and the man who runs it is so friendly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kasteli Taverna in Oia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We regularly ate at Kasteli's during our last visit in September 2012. We first discovered it in 2009. It is in a perfect spot, with stunning sea views; the atmosphere is relaxed and the food is excellent. We think that Kasteli serves the best pork souvlaki in the world, but we also enjoyed other dishes, from the Greek salad to the moussaka and stuffed tomatoes. This is run by a very friendly family and we definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasteli Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Pyrgos, Santorini
Pyrgos, Santorini
 

Been to Kasteli Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasteli Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.