We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KALLISTI Tavern

KALLISTI Tavern
Main Square of the village of Pyrgos, Pyrgos 84700, Greece
+3022860 34108
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 18 Restaurants in Pyrgos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cape Ann, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful fresh local authentic food. Fantastic views. The real treasure is the owner and host (Nikos), an exuberant, generous, big hearted person of real depth. Just above the Zannos Melathron and below the castle ruins.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Main square, Pyrgos
Cuisine: Greek
Staff: friendly and very helpful despite being incredibly busy - we went on Easter Saturday night so one of the busiest nights in Pyrgos due to the candlelit procession
Building: typical taverna with lots of outside seating under a roof
Menu: Greek
Value: Great. We only ordered two main courses a Greek salad and pork chop. They were both huge so unless you're really hungry a starter is not really needed.
Would I go again / recommend to a friend: yes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were led to this restaurant by our excellent guide on a halfday tour of Akrotiri, so we were a captive audience! Despite this, we had a most enjoyable late lunch at a moderate price, and service was fine. Specials of the day were lamb shank with onion and tomato, greek salad in a cheese basket, stuffed cherry tomatoes (amazing!), moussaka, and local white eggplant with onion, garlic, olive oil and balsemic vinegar - all delicious. Add to this an excellent local beer, again at a good price.Would strongly recommend this place, at least in April when tourists are few!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on Santorini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I arrived late to Santorini and a local recommended a late dinner and he new just the place. It couldn't have been a more perfect opening to our first experience in Greece and Santorini especially! Our expectations of our first Greek meal in Greece were totally blown away. The owner was inviting and made us feel like he had been waiting for us to show up all day...and it was normal closing time in most places in the world. The waiter was terrific and professional to the core. He treated us very special and they were not in a hurry to see us go. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we made sure that our last meal on the island before leaving was at Kallisti's as well. Anyone who travels to Santorini and does not eat at Kallisti's has missed a great Greek experience. When the bill came I thought I had cheated them...I couldn't believe how inexpensive the meal was. An unforgettable experience! A must for all who visit the beautiful island of Santorini.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akko
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When my brother and I visited Kallisti, after getting several recommendations from both locals and tourists, it definitely paid off!
The atmosphere was lovely, as there were many people- families, couples, etc...
The food was great and the price we paid was very reasonable, especially since we got great service.
A late dinner at Kallisti was a great ending for a very long, fun day. I highly recommend it if you happen to visit Pyrgos.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KALLISTI Tavern also viewed

 
Pyrgos, Santorini
 

Been to KALLISTI Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KALLISTI Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.