We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Winery

Santo Winery
Pyrgos, Greece
+30 22860 22596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Pyrgos
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Stunning Views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

From the car park the winery looks ok it's only when you walk onto the Terence area you see the true beauty of the place.
You can go on a tour but we decided to have a selection of wines to taste,for 17.50 euros you get 12 wines some cheese & bread.
We sat enjoying the views & worked our way through the wines some white some red & really enjoyed the experience.
It's worth a visit!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    131
    34
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view and delicious wine tasting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We went there by local bus from Thira, cost 1.6 euro. We chose 6 kinds of wines tasting, 6.5 euro.
We enjoyed it and also excellent view. Winery locates on the hill, so you could enjoy very good island view.
One thing I have to comment, the bus stop to Thira is difficult to find, it is in front of the small church near winery. And bus doesn't come very often, every 1 hour. As a result we took a taxi.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Clearly enchanted with magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is insane. Truly. I never imagined I would ever see this kind of beauty myself in person. Was always sceptical about those sunset postcard type images existing without editing/enhancing by someone clever, but this place flipped that notion quickly.

The view is nothing short of stunning. A view you could travel miles for... then.. they feed you an assortment of wine to lounge, float off and take it all in peacefully and comfortably in their fabric chairs. It's a mature, social atmosphere with a placid tone.

It feels magical. During the sensation of this experience, I suddenly felt enlightened by the true meaning of the words "evening out" whilst every inch of the sunset was visible and turning several colours until it became a purple dot disappearing into the horizon - We nearly cried - just go...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a wiew to enjoy while winetasting and trying local cheese :-)
Faboulus place on the top of beautiful Santorini.
A bit crowdy when the busses from the cruiseships arrive in daytime

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pesaro, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and very good wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We (me and my girlfriend) had a very good wine degustation here; 12 different glasses of wine, with their names and informations too (and olives, cheese, bred, as said in other reviews). They range from dry to sweet ones, but I was more interested in the former ones, because ther's plenty of sweet wines in Santorini.
Moreover, the view is very nice, and waiting for the sunset here, sitting and tasting wine is a smart idea.
Didn't judged it 5 stars, just because only 2 or 3 wines out of the 12 are "5-stars wines".
(Sorry, but in Italy we do it better... :D)
Enjoy

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo Winery also viewed

 

Been to Santo Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.