We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonte de' Medici

Save Saved
You added Fonte de' Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fonte de' Medici
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50020 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We first stumbled across font de Medici in 2009 when in Tuscany planning our 2010 summer wedding. We loved the location and simplicity of the surroundings that we wed in certaldo approx 10 miles away and held our reception party within the grounds of font de Medici under starlight.
We returned in sept 2012 with our 15 month old daughter to find our expectations and memories remained as fond as we had left back in 2012.
The location of font de Medici gives you a great base to explore nearby Florence and other Tuscan cities, whilst returning to rolling vineyards and a glass of wine under the Tuscan evening sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Simply put, this is a fantastic hotel that I would recommend to anyone. The service is very helpful by Italian standards. Italians tend to not behave like "servants" but rather like humans when serving you. I prefer this anyhow. They are not always ultra prompt, but they are very friendly. Not to say they are slow, but life moves at a different pace in Tuscany.
The bikes do suck, but they work! Get over it! If your such an avid cyclist bring your own bike! Or rent one in nearby Florence.
The food is delicious, and the restaurant is beautiful and located right beside the pool.
The location is in the countryside so rent a car if you want to go on excursions.
The rooms are beautiful and clean, and tuscany is magnificent!!
We absolutely loved fonte de Medici and plan on returning. Trip of a lifetime indeed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were part of a group to take over the property for a wedding. 40 from Ireland and 40 from Canada and what a time we had. The wedding was in a Castle not far from this property. We spent 6 nights and it was amazing. We were in the Pino Nero and it was lovely. Beautiful bright bathroom and lovely sitting room . The food at the Trattatoria was very good and the service and hospitality from all the staff was perfect. Everyone spoke english and the girls at the front desk were so elpful with directions etc. We did lots of day trips as it is close to many villages. I was told upon check in that wifi might be iffy from our apt and I would have to go by the office or pool, however I had wifi the entire time. I highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: We were in Pino Nero and loved it but we were in several apartments and they were all equally charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were surprised on the proximity of this hotel to nearby towns. As you drive up to the hotel, you see lush vineyards all around. We stayed in the Riesling room - a spacious one bedroom suite with kitchen, fireplace, and landscape views. It's pricey, but overall, the hotel has a wonderful feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

5 women friends were travelling together and we stayed in the Mamola apartment. We have all vowed to come back...together and with our husbands. Our Villa was remote, yet not too far from anything. The service was fantastic, the facility was clean and it felt like home. We loved every minute of our stay. We enjoyed the tennis court, fitness centre and the swimming pools. Mostly we loved watching the sunset every evening from our outdoor terrace with a fire crackling in the fireplace. All our evening meals were shared here. We enjoyed cooking and relaxing in our surroundings. Lunch was fantastic, as was the cooking class and wine tasting organized by Erica and Julia. Thank you for making our stay incredible. We did not want to leave!! Love from the happy Canadian women!! p.s. thanks for the wine...delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic location from which to see the amazing landscape of Tuscany. You will need a car, but the surrounds and views are simply magnificent! The Fonte de Medici is a nice place, great pool and ok breakfast, but the service we received when we arrived was poor. We were not shown around, nor given good instruction on where things like the gym, restaurants, markets were. In general, the girls at the desk seemed more interested in having their smokes outside (3 in 30 minutes that we saw) than taking care of their guests. We also cooked for ourselves a couple of nights and found the kitchen very limited. We don't mind the cramped cooking area, but not having simple things like a sharp knife or a simple salad bowl was disappointing. Finally, if you are a couple looking for some quite time, this may not be the place for your as there are a lot of families and kids enjoying the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just spent a week in this agriturismo with another family. There are lots of positives: rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is very good (although not 5 star hotel quality), the pool and the pool area are great, views magnificent, there is a nice tennis court and a small, but workable gym, and the location is just perfect with Firenze and Siena nearby. Service is also very good, and we made a nice tour to the Antinori cellars. Fonte de Medici is just a very nice place to visit, and we had a great time together there.

The price is fairly high obviously, and is linked to the location and the quality of all premises. What left room for improvement was evening dining at the restaurant, more about that in the restaurant review.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonte de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonte de' Medici

Address: Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50020 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Montefiridolfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fonte de' Medici 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 double rooms, 20 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fonte de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonte De` Medici Hotel Montefiridolfi
Fonte De' Medici Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonte de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.