We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, nice place, service a little lacking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fonte de' Medici

Save Saved
You added Fonte de' Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Venere.com
and 5 more sites!
Fonte de' Medici
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50020 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, nice place, service a little lacking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic location from which to see the amazing landscape of Tuscany. You will need a car, but the surrounds and views are simply magnificent! The Fonte de Medici is a nice place, great pool and ok breakfast, but the service we received when we arrived was poor. We were not shown around, nor given good instruction on where things like the gym, restaurants, markets were. In general, the girls at the desk seemed more interested in having their smokes outside (3 in 30 minutes that we saw) than taking care of their guests. We also cooked for ourselves a couple of nights and found the kitchen very limited. We don't mind the cramped cooking area, but not having simple things like a sharp knife or a simple salad bowl was disappointing. Finally, if you are a couple looking for some quite time, this may not be the place for your as there are a lot of families and kids enjoying the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just spent a week in this agriturismo with another family. There are lots of positives: rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is very good (although not 5 star hotel quality), the pool and the pool area are great, views magnificent, there is a nice tennis court and a small, but workable gym, and the location is just perfect with Firenze and Siena nearby. Service is also very good, and we made a nice tour to the Antinori cellars. Fonte de Medici is just a very nice place to visit, and we had a great time together there.

The price is fairly high obviously, and is linked to the location and the quality of all premises. What left room for improvement was evening dining at the restaurant, more about that in the restaurant review.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Excellent location by the famous Antinori's wineyards in Tuscany. Very relaxing atmosphere. They also have their own restaurant serving typical Tuscan food with a lot of taste. Also a pool and a small gym.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We traveled to Italy with 2 other couples. We spent 12 nights in Italy, 6 of them in Tuscany, 3 of which were at Fonte de Medici. This was by far the best place we stayed. As other reviewers have pointed out, you need a car. And it helps greatly to have a gps.

The only thing stopping me from giving a higher rating is how uncomfortable the beds were. They were, by far, the hardest beds we slept on during our entire trip. Having said that, we all wish we would have spent all of our nights in Tuscany at Fonte de Medici. The rooms are decorated well. The grounds and views are breathtaking. This is the perfect Tuscan location. We took day trips to Florence and Siena. It's a short drive to Greve and many other small Tuscan towns. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us driving directions and restaurant suggestions. The restaurant at Fonte de Medici was wonderful and the breakfast provided was delicious with several options.

We did not use most of the amenities provided on the grounds, but we did set up a tour of the Tignanello wine estate (down the road from Fonte de Medici, same owners). We had a wonderful guide.

If we could pick just one place to return to from our Italy trip, this would be the place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a kitchenette. If this is important, please be sure to specify when making a res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erde
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Following is for the restaurant only!

The restaurant is very difficult to find. It is somewhere on the hills. You need a car to reach it. The food is delicious but if you wear T-Shirt and shorts (as we are used to wear during our vacation) the waiter/waitress will not honor that. You will get a "lousy" table. In any case it is recommended to book a table in advance. Than i would suggest to ask for a free table on the terrace. The price ~ 40-45 Euro/Person including drinks.
My suggestion is to go to Trattoria Mamma Rossa instead; only 5km away :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Spent 5 days here with my husband and son. At first we were very worried after reading all the reviews on how service was bad etc...but surprisingly everyone was so nice and helpful. We did a simple renewal of vows in their garden and since it was just the 3 of us we needed help from the staff. Have no complains with the service. The view of the grape vines rolling up and down the hills from the swimming pool and trattoria is just so magnificent. You can walk down the path or up the path to take photos at the vineyard beside the grape vines and the photographer's photo came out so nice as the blue skies and rolling hills (of grape vines) provided a very nice backdrop.

This whole place just gives you that ambiance of life can move 2x slower. Just wonderful!
The rooms - note that this is the country side so do not expect wifi, 3 star hotel service or a room that looks like a new york apartment loft. The rooms have the charm of the country side. You have heaters, ac, a small kitchen and hot water. A bed that is not small and tight. So the basics are covered and it is comfortable.
Internet access is via a laptop at the reception so either get a local sim card and use your phone to access emails and web or get a Prepaid wireless access at the airport (Wind or Tim telecom)
Definitely need to do the tours and wine tasting in their cellar (which we were an able to do as August month most people go on holiday so by the time they are open we were heading out already) We did get to do wine tasting at Osteria di Passignano plus the meal was fantastic! It was recommended by reception at Fonte de' Medici. It is a 1 star Micheline restaurant.
How to get here - definitely need a GPS and a car as it is at the center of all the beautiful landscape of vineyards.
We also learned from our photographer (local Italian in the nearby area) that Tenuta Tignanello (which you will pass on the left side of the road as you head to Fonte. It is actually just in front of Fonte) is where one of the expensive Italian wine Tignanello is produce. I have to say it is very good. And when we ask reception they said yes it is the same family who owns Fonte.

Of course no one can be perfect. So the only thing we felt that really bothered us was not having a shower curtain in out suite. (not sure if the other rooms had it) so it gets the floor in the bathroom really wet and with a 2 yr old son running around the fear of slipping in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel/apartments is/are located in the best place of the chanti region between Siena & Florence.
The staff is very friendly, the meals are great and the views are amazing, since it's located at the top of a hill.
You can do wine tasting here and relax next to the swimming pools or travel around to the small villages located all around.
They have a swimming pool for kids, which makes it safier and funnier for them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonte de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonte de' Medici

Also Known As:
Fonte De` Medici Hotel
Fonte De` Medici Hotel Montefiridolfi
Fonte De' Medici Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50020 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Montefiridolfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fonte de' Medici 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 double rooms, 20 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fonte de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonte de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.