We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscan Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fonte de' Medici

Save Saved
You added Fonte de' Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fonte de' Medici
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50020 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscan Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We traveled to Italy with 2 other couples. We spent 12 nights in Italy, 6 of them in Tuscany, 3 of which were at Fonte de Medici. This was by far the best place we stayed. As other reviewers have pointed out, you need a car. And it helps greatly to have a gps.

The only thing stopping me from giving a higher rating is how uncomfortable the beds were. They were, by far, the hardest beds we slept on during our entire trip. Having said that, we all wish we would have spent all of our nights in Tuscany at Fonte de Medici. The rooms are decorated well. The grounds and views are breathtaking. This is the perfect Tuscan location. We took day trips to Florence and Siena. It's a short drive to Greve and many other small Tuscan towns. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us driving directions and restaurant suggestions. The restaurant at Fonte de Medici was wonderful and the breakfast provided was delicious with several options.

We did not use most of the amenities provided on the grounds, but we did set up a tour of the Tignanello wine estate (down the road from Fonte de Medici, same owners). We had a wonderful guide.

If we could pick just one place to return to from our Italy trip, this would be the place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a kitchenette. If this is important, please be sure to specify when making a res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Erde
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Following is for the restaurant only!

The restaurant is very difficult to find. It is somewhere on the hills. You need a car to reach it. The food is delicious but if you wear T-Shirt and shorts (as we are used to wear during our vacation) the waiter/waitress will not honor that. You will get a "lousy" table. In any case it is recommended to book a table in advance. Than i would suggest to ask for a free table on the terrace. The price ~ 40-45 Euro/Person including drinks.
My suggestion is to go to Trattoria Mamma Rossa instead; only 5km away :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Spent 5 days here with my husband and son. At first we were very worried after reading all the reviews on how service was bad etc...but surprisingly everyone was so nice and helpful. We did a simple renewal of vows in their garden and since it was just the 3 of us we needed help from the staff. Have no complains with the service. The view of the grape vines rolling up and down the hills from the swimming pool and trattoria is just so magnificent. You can walk down the path or up the path to take photos at the vineyard beside the grape vines and the photographer's photo came out so nice as the blue skies and rolling hills (of grape vines) provided a very nice backdrop.

This whole place just gives you that ambiance of life can move 2x slower. Just wonderful!
The rooms - note that this is the country side so do not expect wifi, 3 star hotel service or a room that looks like a new york apartment loft. The rooms have the charm of the country side. You have heaters, ac, a small kitchen and hot water. A bed that is not small and tight. So the basics are covered and it is comfortable.
Internet access is via a laptop at the reception so either get a local sim card and use your phone to access emails and web or get a Prepaid wireless access at the airport (Wind or Tim telecom)
Definitely need to do the tours and wine tasting in their cellar (which we were an able to do as August month most people go on holiday so by the time they are open we were heading out already) We did get to do wine tasting at Osteria di Passignano plus the meal was fantastic! It was recommended by reception at Fonte de' Medici. It is a 1 star Micheline restaurant.
How to get here - definitely need a GPS and a car as it is at the center of all the beautiful landscape of vineyards.
We also learned from our photographer (local Italian in the nearby area) that Tenuta Tignanello (which you will pass on the left side of the road as you head to Fonte. It is actually just in front of Fonte) is where one of the expensive Italian wine Tignanello is produce. I have to say it is very good. And when we ask reception they said yes it is the same family who owns Fonte.

Of course no one can be perfect. So the only thing we felt that really bothered us was not having a shower curtain in out suite. (not sure if the other rooms had it) so it gets the floor in the bathroom really wet and with a 2 yr old son running around the fear of slipping in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel/apartments is/are located in the best place of the chanti region between Siena & Florence.
The staff is very friendly, the meals are great and the views are amazing, since it's located at the top of a hill.
You can do wine tasting here and relax next to the swimming pools or travel around to the small villages located all around.
They have a swimming pool for kids, which makes it safier and funnier for them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I spent four nights at Fonte de' Medici staying in two different locations on the property. I was there for a wedding and over the weekend we (about 85 of us) took over the entire property. A group of about 20 arrived early and we stayed at the top of a hill in villa's that reminded me of something out of a movie. Most of the wedding party and guests were traveling from Ireland and the UK so I arrived separately from America (exhausted after plane delays and a two hour drive from Bologna) The property is shockingly (this is Italy... I was prepared to be lost in the dark!) well marked and easy to find. Just far enough off the highway to feel like you're in the countryside but convenient to shops and major roads. The accommodations were gorgeous and very well kept. The bathrooms had the couple of products I forgot to pack and the villas included kitchens. Our very large party enjoyed time by the pool and a large bbq before preparing for the big day. I will say you really have to rent a car and be comfortable driving around. Some of the roads in the area are dirt and not well kept, so an SUV might be ideal (yes, I know how hard these are to find at Italian car rental) I had a large automatic Mercedes and was fine though there were a few moments. The hotel has a restaurant which was fine for quick meals and snacks but there are some fantastic restaurants within a few miles so I'd recommend that. The staff was fantastic: I had lots of pre wedding errands to run and they gave me great directions to everything from the car wash to the nearest florist! Over all I would say this is a great place for groups, families, and couples. It is quiet and you can't walk to much so it's really more about a "holiday" than "seeing the sights"

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

On the plus side, situated in beautiful countryside, accommodation is good and the pools are nice.

On the minus side and there are more of these, our self catering appartment - this is not a hotel in my book - was 1.6 km up a steep dirt track in the hills (seriously damaged by recent thunderstorms so that only a 4*4 would negotiate it without damaging the undercarriage).
No food and no means of getting any.
Went to breakfast in the morining - oops several possible routes and not signposted so got lost and were late for breakfast. "Breakfast finito, No breakfast!" said the "restaurant " manager. So back up the hill again while some of us got a taxi to the nearest supermarket 6km away. No "restaurant" after that thank you very much.

There were two appartments in our building which had one main entrance but no doorbell. One key was issued to the party of 5 so we could not operate independently of one another. Our younger family members got locked out and had no way of contacting us and couldnt get in. Security came, drove past and wouldnt assist.

Taxi drivers like to change the agreed fare also as happened to us on the eay to the airport.

Bit of an expensive nightmare really - and only suitable for the young and fit

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This was our third stay at Fonte de Medici in the past eight years, and we still love it. This time we stayed in the Barbera apartment (Malvasia each time before), where despite some air conditioning problems (which the staff tried very hard to fix), we had a wonderful and relaxing time. The apartment is large, comfortable and well equipped.

This is a superb location to use as a base for day trips - Florence, Siena, Lucca and all the beautiful villages of Chianti are within easy reach. Don't miss more local market days so you can have a feast at "home" overlooking the vinyards. Great restaurants abound in the area (don't miss the beef-fest with the butcher of Panzano) ....or can you relax around the fabulous pool with a gelato.

We found service attentive and friendly. When we had friends for diiner, they happily supplied extra dishes, wine glasses and even candles. We will happily return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonte de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonte de' Medici

Also Known As:
Fonte De` Medici Hotel
Fonte De` Medici Hotel Montefiridolfi
Fonte De' Medici Montefiridolfi, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Via Santa Maria a Macerata, 31, 50020 Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa > Montefiridolfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Montefiridolfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fonte de' Medici 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 double rooms, 20 apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fonte de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonte de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.