We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marinetta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marinetta to your Saves list
Hotel Marinetta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavalleggeri Nord 3, 57020 Marina di Bibbona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€238 (EUR)
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We loved our stay, 14days in a very nice hotel, the food is great and the swillingpools!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    222
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
248
174
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We come here since 1996 and this hotel just feels like our second home. This place has everything to offer: the best traditional Italian food buffet, comfortable rooms, swimming pools and a private beach, friendly and helpful staff and, in short, a great atmosphere. This year the hotel has opened a new bar at the beach, which we consider as a plus!

This hotel enables couples to have a nice, relaxing holiday and furthermore this hotel is a delight for families and kids (e.g. miniclub and different activities in the hotel, holiday park in front of it). I must say, overall, price/quality is good when staying half board (drinks included). I would recommend couples to reserve a table in the restaurant Ombra della Serra once as the service is excellent.

In the near surroundings of the hotel, there are few possibilities. Though, the location is ideal to visit different cities in the neighbourhoud like Pisa, Lucca, Siena and other. I even travelled to Rome by train from Cecina, a small but nice town in the vicinity, this only costs 15-26 euros for a one-way ticket depending on the sort of train you choose from regional to intercity (the last option being really comfortable).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our trips to Tuscany and The Marinetta were so enjoyable on the previous occasions that we came again. Says it all really! This is quite simply a great hotel to stay.

Most of this is probably confirms my previous review last year. The Marinetta is a light airy modern hotel set in it's own extensive gardens adjoining the pinewoods, and close to it's own private beach. The helpful staff are generally English speaking, and the atmosphere they create is friendly, informal, and relaxed… exactly what you want.

Even a fussy eater like myself found the Mediterranean food excellent and undoubtedly healthy. There’s a very good and comprehensive buffet breakfast to set you up in the morning. We had half board, and the evening buffet usually included soup, unlimited salad dishes including lots of roast Mediterranean vegetables, hot cooked meats, fish, pasta, and rice, plus various deserts and fruit.

The bedrooms are clean and modern. The whole place is spotlessly clean.

Poor sleepers like me should find it's quiet location a real benefit. At night you’re more likely to hear an owl than a disco! There's plenty of opportunity to relax by two swimming pools, both with poolside refreshment huts. There's also a glass fronted poolside gym with bikes and other exercise equipment.

The gardens are a delight, and there’s a fun play area for kids set in the gardens.

Other facilities include, a modern bar, wi-fi, and a wellness centre spa with a large Jacuzzi pool, energising showers, sauna, steam rooms, relaxation area… and I believe various treatments and massages are available. Use of the spa is an additional cost.

The beach although narrow, is extensive and just a three minute walk through the pinewoods. You can have a good long walk along the beach. There’s also a rather nice beach side cafe for coffees, ice creams, panninis, and other snacks. The resort itself has two of great ice cream parlours, a supermarket, and a couple of snackeries, and a few other shops. etc. Shopping is limited, and if that’s your thing then you'd need to combine it with a trip. Marina di Bibbona itself is a new-build and should be regarded as a base from which to explore this beautiful region.

To sum up, if you're after a real Tuscan experience this is a great base for getting out into the fantastic countryside and visiting the wonderful historic hilltop towns and villages. In the immediate locality are Bolgheri, Bibbona, and Castagneto Carducci... lovely old places and just a few minutes by car. The less adventurous will find this a perfect location for a beach & pool relaxing type holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, west Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our first time to Tuscany and this hotel lived up to everything trip advisor and hotel websites stated. Although the hotel is mainly occupied by Germans all nationalities stayed there. The hotel has everything you need if you want to stay in the hotel or if you have a car like we did it's only minutes into the beautiful Tuscany hills.
The staff were so kind & couldn't do enough for you.The reception staff spoke fluent English when we were struggling with our basic Italian.
We stayed in a comfort room and plenty big enough for 2 with all amenities. The maid was excellent and our room was always kept clean and tidy, in fact the whole hotel complex was always clean and tidy.
The grounds were a pleasure to walk around, beautiful trees.
This hotel caters for all especially families, but it was nice to have an adults only pool where you could chill out, I really enjoyed my swims.
We stayed HB and found the buffets great value which included wine and water at dinner. If you want to treat yourself upgrade one or two nights to the restaurant it was out of this world!!
We visited Punta Ala, Siena, Lucca and Bolgheri and loved them all, although we enjoyed our chill out days at the hotel complex and beach as well.
In fact we are planning going back next year and look forward to it as there is so much more to see.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms haven't been updated but clean and tidy.Check the website carefully to ensure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel previously and must admit it is pretty good.It is more of a complex than
a hotel.You could describe it as an upmarket Butlins for discerning clientele. All facilities are
excellent and the staff are very efficient and friendly.Be ware though this is a one horse town
with not much there. Also a large percentage of the clientele are German.The British are a
very small minority.If you like being in a British environment, this is not the place for you.The
food is pretty good and the bedrooms are above average.It cost about £45 per night half
board and I considered this good value for money.I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor as far from the lift as possble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We traveled to Tuscany for a wedding and the hotel arrangements were made on our behalf. Whilst the hotel fell short of our previous hotels had we been a family with young children it would have been great. The hotel offers numerous pools (adults only and for children). Activities were available for the little ones. The breakfast was mass catering and filled the gap but certainly not worth any rave reviews. The rooms small but functional. The mini bar could do with a deep clean (we used it to chill water). The beach is a walk away but clean and well laid out with sun chairs.
The staff were all pleasant and very helpful.
Good one for the family on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is the fourth time I've been to this area of Tuscany, and the second time to this hotel, and I look forward to staying there again next year. It's hard to find anything I didn't like about the Hotel Marinetta. The service was always helpful, friendly, and efficient from both the reception desk staff and the dining room staff. It's had a modern makeover since my last visit a couple of years ago, with a stylish new conservatory, bar, and lounge. There's also a new Wellness Centre or Spa with steam rooms, sauna, jaccuzzi, showers, and relaxation area. The pool-side gym is well equipped with new spin bikes and other kit. The Spa is an additionally priced facility or I think it may be included in certain packages.... you'd need to check.
I didn't spend much time in my room, but it was clean and perfectly adequate in terms of comfort, and cleaners kept it spotless on a daily basis. The pillows must be better than I have at home as I slept like a log.

Marina di Bibbona is a custom built beach resort rather than a seaside town. You won't find any smart fashion shops there, you'll have to travel to Voltera and Florence for that. The hotel's beach is close at hand and there's a really good seaside cafe for snacks coffee and ice cream. The beach has a high environmental rating. As the Marinetta is in it's own grounds, there's little chance of being disturbed at night with noise from the street. Opposite the hotel are two parades with most of the essential shops, snack bars, and excellent ice cream parlors. Car and bike hire is available in resort, or from nearby Cecina. There's quick access by car (or bike) to the glorious countryside, hilltop villages, and famous towns (Florence, Voltera, Lucca, Sienna etc). The tiny village of Bolgheri is an absolute must to visit at the end of a long tree lined avenue, and it's only 8km away!

The impressive thing about the Marinetta is the total package. It's a lovely modern hotel in beautiful and quite extensive gardens, with good facilities. Free internet access was a plus. There's a play area for children, open air table tennis, a childrens pool, and two main pools both with pool-side coffee, ice cream, and snacks. It's immediately imposing as you drive down it's long tree lined drive.

The food was an important element for us. The Marinetta excelled here (which is why we're going back!), the buffet was plentiful and really healthy. Lots of well prepared vegetable dishes with plenty of options, fish, pastas, and meats. The option of three or four deserts each night, and also fresh fruit, and fresh fruit salads. There was plenty to eat at breakfast and again a wide variety of choices including cooked options, cereals, yogourts, breads, cheeses etc etc.

I don't think the English have really discovered this fantastic little area of Tuscany yet. While we were staying there were groups of Swiss, Dutch, Belgians, Germans, and Italians - and most of them seemed to speak English and were very friendly.

Slight niggles: poor reception on the TV in my room, but to be fair I didn't bother complaining as I didn't really have time to watch it.

Room Tip: Request which floor and aspect you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marinetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinetta

Address: Via Cavalleggeri Nord 3, 57020 Marina di Bibbona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Marina di Bibbona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina di Bibbona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marinetta 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those loving tranquillity and nature Hotel Marinetta is the ideal choice. The rooms are cool and luminous, surrounded by a lush park with flowers, pines and plants typical of the Mediterranean vegetation. Alls rooms are equipped with all conforts. Some of them offer a view on the tuscan islands, to the Elba island and on a clair day even to the Corsica. The restaurants poolfront, completely renewed, serve fine menus of our traditional cuisine, accompanied by a selected winelist with the best labels of tuscan wineyard's production. At the Hotel Marinetta the work is mixed with a very beautiful natural landscape, a peaceful oasis at a spitting distance from the beach. Our halls are equipped with the main advanced technologies and our staff will be pleased to assist you in organizing everything, from the small meeting to the more important conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marinetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marinetta Marina Di Bibbona, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marinetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.