We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ty Newydd Country Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penderyn Road | Hirwaun, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 10 & 11 April 2014 in room 5, the staff can't do enough to help Alex and Irene were brilliant, as we arrived late on the first night we rang ahead and Alex found us somewhere to eat nearby and Irene changed the reservation we had in the restaurant for the next night. The hotel was lovely and a great location to see the Brecon Beacons. The room was clean and we'll decorated a few minor points door handle coming off to bathroom, socket loose near the bed and couldn't open the window but that's being very picky. The restaurant was lovely and food excellent. Restaurant has just been refurbished and is both modern but relaxing and service was efficient. Breakfast was buffet style and couldn't fault the food and the staff were helpful and polite. Had a good chat to one if the team at breakfast who told us all about the changes and places to visit and about the weddings, didn't get her name but a credit to the team. All in all a wonderful few days and if you get the chance travel up to Brecon town and visit the Cathedral and Heritage Centre a great visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    95
    56
    18
    13
See reviews for
35
182
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having know this establishment I booked in for 4 nights but sadly after the evening meal on the first night I was very disappointed. Taken into the new Resturant very new and empty except for one couple we were placed within two feet of them. Ordered the meal Steak appearred but no chips I enquired and was told they will be along in a moment not as though they were rushed with 4 customers I waited 5 mins. Brreakfast was served in another room and cooked for you and impressive until last moring when we were placed in the new resturant and food was out under lamps and downward step in my opinion. Coffee seemed to go from filter to Nescafe and you preparing it yourself A lot needs to be sorted.Breakfast staff and the young gentleman behind reception were very good and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I had a very large room which was comfortable although the tv signal intermittent, well it is in the valleys, bathroom probably needed freshening up but it was fine. 20 minute walk to Hirwaun where you will find the Glancynon Inn a CAMRA pub. Staff were fine especially the lady on in the afternoon and evening. Freshly cooked breakfast went down a storm nice stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for one night last weekend on a Living Social deal. Hotel is well situated for exploring the Brecon beacons. Pen y fan is about 20 minutes away and we enjoyed the climb up and the views! Dinner at the hotel was excellent, with a good choice. we found the staff attentive and friendly. Our deluxe room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Freshly cooked and a great portion. On Sunday, we found another walk to waterfalls 10m drive from the hotel which was great.
We had a great time!

Room Tip: We had room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here a few weekends ago and absolutely loved it. We had a good deal thanks to a voucher which meant we had 2 nights with breakfast and 1 night's free 3 course meal.
Driving up to the hotel shows that it really is a lovely area and the hotel itself is gorgeous. Upon check in we were told that we were in the Longmeadow Suite (usually an extra £20 a night which we didn't request) so very happy about this! The room was beautiful with a 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi bath!
We mainly wanted to stay near Brecon Beacons as we enjoy walking so didn't waste any time and asked the woman on reception for anywhere nearby that is a quick walk. She guided us to a short walk behind the Community Centre on the main road so was very easy to find. We then came back and got ready for dinner. We was supposed to have our free dinner on our first night but was advised by the waitress that the menu on Sundays was smaller so better to use it the following night. We had 2 courses for £11.95 (I think) which was so good! I went for the garlic mushrooms to start and the chicken in broth for a main, both of which were amazing. We were allowed to take our dessert to our room as I was too full (very generous portions!)
The next day we woke up late for breakfast and went downstairs at 9:30am which is when it finishes. The waitress informed us of this but said that the chef will cook us something fresh anyway which was very kind of them!
We then asked the reception for any other walks which we can do and he pointed us to the Four Falls Walk in Ystradfellte up the road. The drive to there offered breathtaking views over the national park and the walk itself was amazing and included 2 massive waterfalls! We then came back and got ready for our free dinner, I had melon to start, a pork fillet special for main and chocolate gateaux for dessert. The pork was omg amazing! My boyfriend had the lamb for a main which was also so amazing!
On our last day, we requested a late checkout which was £10 but worth it as we're late risers and we spent our last day taking another walk near the Community Centre and all around the big fields there. Was so beautiful with all the views of Brecon Beacons.
Overall, we would absolutely love to stay here again as everyone was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and tidy. The food especially was so good and definitely worth returning for! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We was lucky to be given the suite without requesting it but if you're in a couple it's defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A friend and I enjoyed a great break at this hotel using a Groupon offer.We stayed in a twin room which was well appointed and of a good size. The staff were welcoming and friendly and always had time to chat and give advice/directions. The food was delicious - good quality products used. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel. We ate a 3 course meal on one of the nights and had choice from an interesting and varied menu . Again the food was delicious. There is still building work going on but this did not have any adverse effect on our stay. A great place to stay if you want to explore this part of Wales. I would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Hotel was the finish venue for the HRCR Taith Cymru Scenic Tour 2014 which had over 60 cars entered. A superb location with excellent food and first class service. We also stayed the night in a twin room which was very spacious and well appointed. The breakfast had a wide choice of menu served by pleasant and helpful staff. The location of the hotel is an ideal place to explore the fantastic scenery this part of Wales has to offer. We would certainly recommend the hotel for a quiet relaxing break

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Newydd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Address: Penderyn Road | Hirwaun, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Aberdare > Hirwaun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ty Newydd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd Country Aberdare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Newydd Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.