We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamping: Much better than camping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Dwr Pods and B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandegla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Dwr Pods and B&B
Llandegla LL11 3AW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Glamping: Much better than camping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My Husband, Border Collie and I stayed in Bryn Dwr pods in February this year. The pods are basically at the end of the garden, far enough away to feel isolated and "at one" with nature but close enough to stumble to the toilet in the middle of the night. There is a lovely stream running through the back garden which our Collie loved bounding round in and keeping herself occupied. There is a dog living in the main guest house but we did not see it and our dog basically had free reign in the garden the whole time we were there.

The pods were lovely. Well maintained, weatherproof, clean, comfortable, warm and well-lit. It was so nice to come back to a cosy bed rather than a wet tent so I doubt we'll ever go camping again after this experience!! We were allowed to use the toilets in the guesthouse and could take advantage of the kitchen- great when you need a quick cuppa first thing in the morning, plus it was novel not having to pee in the freezing cold.

Outside there was decking, picnic tables and a chiminea. Given that it was the middle of February we stayed out for most of the evening enjoying a few drinks. The whole place feels secluded but with many home comforts, we found it really easy to relax!

Julie was lovely, very welcoming and made us feel at home, plus I feel she made a great effort in regards to our dog who can be hyperactive at times.

Overall, we had a great time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I recently stayed at Bryn Dwr - an idyllic setting! Its very quiet and relaxing. Its a perfect base for visiting local attractions that were on our list while in North Wales

1. Portmeirion
2. Caernarfon Castle
3. Conwy Castle
4. Bodnant Garden
5. Llechwedd Slate Caverns
6. Swallow Falls
7. Great Orme Tramway
8. Penrhyn Castle
9. Erddig
10.Harlech Castle

also Chester Races. Julie is extremely helpful, enthusiastic and very willing to help with local information, the best places to eat locally and the best routes to get to our planned destinations and best parking which is really useful. The breakfast was delicious and I love the fact that the breakfast menu is made up of local produce - eggs from the local small holding. Delicious! also sitting at the same breakfast table as fellow guests was a nice touch as we could discuss the day's activities together. It really is a great B&B and I'd recommend it to any of my friends and family.
We were in the upstairs room, It was clean, spacious and comfortable, had everything you could possibly want. .
There is a big dog there but very friendly and always up for a cuddle.
Thanks Julie & Sam (the dog) for a great stay we had a great time and enjoyed our time in North Wales, pity we had to come away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We found on arrival at approx 5:00pm after a long walk that the place was not just chaotic, as descibed by the owner , but also dirty. The bathroom and toilet facilities shared by the campsite, other B + B guests and the family is situated through the family living quarters. Every surface in the kitchen was stacked high with unwashed dishes and food. We were warned there is a dog but not that it is sometimes kept in the room we were allocated. The house smelled strongly of the dog and was really untidy. The tariff is expensive when compared to other B + Bs we used on this trip.

Room Tip: there are other places to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

After a long days walk the thought of having to put up a tent, often in the rain, means that a pod is a very pleasant alternative. In a lovely setting, relatively private from the house where bathroom facilities are, the pods are basic (camp beds - be warned they are a little hard, heating, and lighting), but provide a nice alternative to camping, at a lower cost than a B&B. The owner Julie was very accomodating, cooks an excellent breakfast, and ensured that we were well looked after throughout.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

the pods are asically at the bottom of the owners garden, which is in a beautiful setting, the pods are next to each other and one of them (the one we had) has newly fitted decking which is over a stream, lovely to sit out!!
the pods are small but was pleanty big enough for us, (me hubby 6month old baby and dog) it is carpeted with 2 camp beds a smll heater and a light!!
just everything we needed to introduce our baby to the outdoors - without the stress of worrying about the weather and not having bottle warmer etc.... the owner s very friendly and the house (which is also a b&b) is open for guests using the pods to use the bathroom and kitchen.
the loacl village is lovely and the locals very friendly small postoffice available. and wrexham is only 10miles and ruthin 8miles so we went to both towns.
all in all a great visit would definatley reccomend. we are alreday planning our next visit - hopefully with friend next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryn Dwr Pods and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Dwr Pods and B&B

Address: Llandegla LL11 3AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llandegla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Llandegla
Also Known As:
Bryn Dwr Pods And B&B Llandegla, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Dwr Pods and B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bryn Dwr Pods and B&B to your Saves list