We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definatley go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodidris Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bodidris Hall to your Saves list
Bodidris Hall
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bodidris hall | Wrexham, Llandegla LL11 3AL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Llandegla B&B and Inns
mid wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“definatley go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

we were geated by a lovely receptionist, who showed us to our room, which was lovely ,clean & fresh, went to the bar , of which the drinks are a bit pricey compared to a pub, but we wasnt in a pub ,so what the heck,the food was out of this world, all in all a fantastic place to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    31
    16
    24
See reviews for
26
152
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I was looking for a romantic location to spend a relaxing weekend for my husbands birthday and came across this hotel through last minute.com. When we arrived we were escorted to the Elizabeth suite. WOW is often overstated but this is the only way to describe the very large four poster suite. The view from anywhere in the room is spectacular. We really just wanted to hole up there for the duration of our stay. The food at breakfast was wonderful but nothing to that of the evening meals. The menu gave good variety with unusual choices. Try the duck or the Roe Deer. Both absolutely beautiful. Some people have said the food is pricey, but you get what you pay for and the quality is superb.

If you like old worlde charm then this is the place for you. Our suite had spectacular views . Also although the furnature in the room is in keeping with the embience of the building the bathroom was modern and clean , a huge corner bath with masses of hot water was just too tempting. I have stayed in many period hotels before but have very often not enjoyed the bathroom experience.

We had a wonderful stay and will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

A bit late with this review (sorry, Bodidris!) as we actually stayed in August 2008! We have stayed at many hotels, all over Britain, and we can honestly say this is the best hotel room we've ever stayed in (the Elizabeth Suite) and the most friendly, helpful staff we've ever encountered (no, we're not related to them!!!) :) It was for my partner's birthday and we stayed with our young, extremely friendly and excitable black Labrador. Dog friendly? Second to none. In addition to being very boisterous, our Lab also doesn't like to be left on his own and as dogs are, quite reasonably, not allowed in the dining room, each morning the hotel laid up a special table for us in the study (nice little room) so that we could breakfast with our dog, how great is that! The suite was absolutely gorgeous, huge four poster bed, lovely views over the grounds from the window, just the most beautiful room to spend time in. Lots of lovely walking at the nearby forest, Coed Llandegla, and the staff just so pleasant and friendly. Also loved the 'flaming torches' in the dining room! We definitely hope to come back!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Friendliest staff i've come across in ages

And the building is awesome, steeped in history and set in lovely grounds with pheasant and geese wandering around

Shame the renovation feels a bit tired and there's these weird plastic flowers popping up all over the place which give it a slight air of tackiness

The room didn't get me a wow-response

Some stair carpets literally thick with dust

Food was awesome, we had the set menu dinner

And again, staff couldn't have been nicer

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Booked this direct with hotel as they were doing a promotion where you stayed for £10 per person if you ate at their restaurant.

First of all, the good points
The surroundings are beautiful. The bar area is very old and quaint and looks like an old hunting lodge with stags heads etc on the walls. The chap at reception was excellent. he was very heplpful and appeared to be running everything by himself.

The meal at the restaurant was generally very good with some very unusual and lovely desserts. the waitress again was very good.

The view from the breakfast room is stunning. Looking over the lake with the welsh hills in the background.

Now the not so good points

The room (the leicester room) was very shabby with a threadbare and dirty looking carpet. the funiture looked like it was all purchased from a car boot sale and nothing was really inkeeping with the surroundings there were broken ornaments on the windowsill, Wallpaper was peeling in places. The Bed was old and uncomfortable
Picked up the TV remote and it was sticky eeeeeuugh ! .Had to clean it with a wet cloth in the bathroom.

shower had very poor pressure and very difficult to maintain a decent temperature . same old carpet in the bathroom which smelt a little damp. there were used shampoo bottles on the shelf which hinted that it hadnt been cleaned very well.

Overall, I would say that the room was worth a tenner but not much more.
Lovely hotel otherwise but the room ruined the whole experience. I was nothing like the ones they show on their website.

the bar was very expensive, when we got our bill each round of two drinks averaged just over £9

our £10 break cost us over £130 .

will not stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Booked this after seeing special offer in newspaper.
We were absolutely delighted with our choice.
We woke up to thick snow & the view from all the windows was like a winter wonderland.
Very friendly staff,good food & roaring log fires made this a superb chill out break.
Word of warning - beware of the stairs ,originally designed to confuse enemies attacking the hall,after a couple of glasses of wine they can be lethal!

  • Liked — Warm relaxed atmosphere & a real sense of history
  • Disliked — Dining room a bit chilly but the again what do you expect in a house built in the 15th century
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I booked this hotel via laterooms for my 50th birthday on July 10th last year and they gave us the most beautiful suite overlooking fabulous countryside and an enormous window sill which I could actually sit in. We just wanted a night away somewhere special. This was special. Look out for the duelling stair - it got me every time (incidentally the champers may have helped as well).

We like to walk and the local walks were lovely. Mind you I did end up having to climb across a stream over a tree which had fallen down as the bridge had collapsed. Anyway, this hotel is a beauty if you like the country house sort of place but its not for those who like marble, spas and contemporary furnishings!

  • Liked — The fact that I might go back
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodidris Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodidris Hall

Address: Bodidris hall | Wrexham, Llandegla LL11 3AL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llandegla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llandegla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodidris Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodidris Hall, standing alone amongst wildly beautiful moor and mountain, is approached by a long drive. A building has existed on this site since 1165. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bodidris Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodidris Hall Hotel Llandegla
Bodidris Hall Llandegla, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodidris Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.