We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have Coeliac, this is the place to go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nanhoron Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nefyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
Save
You added Nanhoron Arms Hotel to your Saves list
St Davids Road | Pwllheli, Nefyn LL53 6EA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nefyn B&B and Inns
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you have Coeliac, this is the place to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Made very welcome at this hotel. My husband is allergic to gluten and of all the hotels we've been to, the efforts of the 2 Chefs were the best ever! Very impressed. Hotel was lovely and clean and people extremely friendly.

Room Tip: The room was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Receptionist at Nanhoron Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We try our best to accommodate guests dietary needs, and as most of the menu is home-made we are able to adapt meals to suit most requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
14
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I read about this hotel in the Daily Mail a few weeks ago so as I was having to work down this part of Wales I decided to stay at The Nan,as the locals call it, and I wasn't disappointed. Having asked for a single room I was given a lovely room with a slight sea view. The room was nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed. The en-suite bathroom had everything one needed and there was complementary tea and coffee. When one's away from home you hope that the food is going to be good and The Nan didn't let me down! A hearty breakfast was served each morning,( ask if the chef has been fishing, fresh mackeral) and the evening meals! A good choice of starters, recommend the tapas, and for a main course I couldn't fault the roast duck. My waitress was very helpful with her suggestion, on my second night, of the fresh sea bass that had been caught that day. Price of wine was reasonable and they had a good choice of beers. On the whole I was very satisfied with the Nanhoron and was very pleased with my bill.I was expecting it to be more! Good hotel, good food,good service and a nice warm welcome by the family who run the hotel. In the famous words of Arnie''I'll be back''!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk-worcestershire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Not a great deal to do in nefyn you may as well stay in abersoch which is nicer and more upmarket.
This hotel is tired looking in need of a revamp and a lick of paint. Opposite a social club and has a bar attached to it can be noisy.
Food in restaurant is overpriced as they can charge what they like as there are many restaurants in nefyn.
Hotel room had damp in the ceiling, very basic, needs money spending on it, double bed £88 room b and b we got up the next morning to no breakfast no sign of any staff on site at all.
Website makes it look very nice with good photos of it in the dark with the lamps on, when you arrive in the day you see where it fails.
We went to abersoch before going there which was very nice I would prefer to stay there, nefyn had a small fish and chip shop and a spar! Don't go out your way to go there's!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was with a party of 12 golfers who spent one night here prior to playing Nefyn Golf Course. The hotel has modern rooms, offers a good selection of unpretentious food and appears popular with locals and visitors alike. It could do with a larger lounge area to sit and relax with a drink but apart from that it was fine for the one night we stayed

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UKI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Your website needs correcting! How do you manage to survive with such slack information? I would not have thought the hotel would wish to have anything to do with your site. Words fail me....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I meet and have dinner here regularly and the previous review gives a completely unreasonable and inaccurate sumary. The meals are very good in my view. Not pretentious but good local ingredients with loads of well cooked vegetables. Like any place with a bar you might sometimes get one or two noisy customers but whenever I have been there it has been quiet. I cannot think of any pub within a 8 mile radius that has closed so that is untrue as well. The Nanhoron gives access to a very beautiful area and excellent golf.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Arrived after long journey on a Sunday. Dinner options limited. We advised Reception that we would be eating that evening. Family met in Bar after unpacking, looking forward to leisurely pre-drink before making our way to the restaurant. But that was not to be... menus were thrown at us and orders demanded way before the time we had said we wanted to eat. Very surprised at poor quality of food on offer. Eating area seemed busy, so clearly we were expecting lots more than regulars/locals or there's little on offer locally.

We were shown into an area that could best be described as a breakfast room of some sort, but it was more akin to a Little Chef eating area than a restaurant. Food was awful. Chef has evidently no apprecation of vegetables. Extremely disappointed.

Rooms were okay although the beds were never made properly. Windows painted shut. Reception rarely manned, even though they expected guests to leave room keys there. In full vew. Never did that. There is a proper dining room in this place... it is not a hotel by my standards. But it seems to be used most often for the proprietors affairs and not for the benefit of guests. Apparently the pubs in the local vicinity have all closed, people now converge on the Nanhoron. And you can hear them from the back all through the night. The "social club" at the front, across the road, is less rowdy but can be disturbing.

We've passed this place many times over the years and have heard good things about it in the past, but I would not recommend this place to anyone.

At breakfast the first morning we were asked for our order but there was no indication about what was on offer. Same bowl of 'grapefruit segments' seemed to apear every day. We were shown into the same eating area as we had dinner the night before. Breakfast edible but selection was nothing to write home about.

Given service, food etc. not good value for money. Will be stayin elsewhere in future!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nanhoron Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanhoron Arms Hotel

Address: St Davids Road | Pwllheli, Nefyn LL53 6EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Nefyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nefyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Nanhoron Arms Hotel Nefyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanhoron Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.