We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect setting with superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maesmawr Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leominster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The perfect setting with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We went to Maesmawr for an 80th birthday lunch at the weekend and were overcome by how beautiful the place was and how helpful the staff. We were met in the car park with a glass of champagne, and all afternoon the staff did there best to make us feel welcome. The buffet lunch was very tasty and included a few less common items, and I was particularly pleased that the beef in the sandwiches was still wonderfully pink. Sited a few hundred yards from the Severn, there are also stunning grounds to walk in to work up an appetite for more of their food. We already have our calendar out to see when we could fit in a weekend as the rooms also look very atttractive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    61
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
78
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My partner booked a 3 day mini break as a special birthday treat for me and for the perfect antedote to our busy working lives and we were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we drove up the lovely tree-lined driveway we sensed we had made a good choice. We stayed in the coach house in room 23 which has recently been re-furbished and the quality of accommodation was outstanding. My suggestion for improvement in this room would be a light in the wardrobe and also a full length mirror but these are minor and did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay. As a retail manager I am passionate about high standards of customer service and the staff here certainly lived up to my high expectations and more. We found all the staff were extremely friendly and courteous, giving the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. The quality and presentation of the food is to be commended. In summary, a fantastic break and we will be certain to recommend Maesmawr Hall to our friends, family and work colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesmawr, Owner at Maesmawr Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Vicky
Thank you for your very kind comments about the hotel staff,food and service received on your recent break. We are all delighted that your "Birthday Treat" was both relaxing and we hope memorable.
With regards your suggested improvements we thank you for these and we will look to fit both a light in the walk-in wardrobe and a full length mirror in the next couple of weeks.
Kind regards
John Garner
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel dates back to the 16th Century and is full of character. The staff, without exception, were of the highest quality, the service was excellent and the food was superb. We stayed for one noght and got, what I consider, was a very reasonable rate. The restaurant isn't cheap but the food is of the highest quality and well worth the money. The hotel looks a little tired in places but it is obvious the owners are continuing to make improvements where necessary, we stayed in a premier room which was spacious, although the bathroom was a little on the small side it was good value for money. If you want a "chain hotel" with stereotypical qualities then don't stay here - however if you want an independent hotel of character with wonderful service and food then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The beautiful Grade II listed period house is privately owned and dates back to 1535. The roaring fires and comfy sofas make for a splendid time sipping a beer or glass of wine. The food is very good and staff just about perfect. The rooms might need a lick of paint or so, but that doesn't detract from a lovely, restful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for a 2 night B&B basis. The area is very beautiful and gives easy access to lots of mid Wales scenery. The building is very old and the main building is full of character. Breakfast was excellent. Al the staff were very friendly and special mention must be made of the breakfast waitress who was outstanding in looking after 3 very young guests at breakfast. It was a demonstration of service at its best.
The first room we were allocated was not updated and the radiator valve was stuck on. The staff reallocated us a beautiful updated room at the top of the old building.
The restaurant was in a very pleasant room overlooking the garden. Some of the main courses were overpriced.
Our stay was pleasant as the hotel was relatively quiet. However you should note that the hotel has a large wedding / conference facility attached and it is worth checking if there is a big event scheduled during your stay.
Also there is an ongoing room refurbishment programme and you should seek an updated room.

Room Tip: The hotel has a large wedding / conference facility attached and it is worth checking if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandinam, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My son has had his wedding reception at Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, the food the staff the venue were all simply wonderful, we could not have asked for anything else from Lee and his wonderful team. From the first meeting to cutting the cake and the wonderful evening hog roast all simply wonderful? If you are looking for a wedding venue in Mid Wales Maesmawr Hall Hotel will do you proud.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to friends. It's full of character and whilst some carpets weren't in pristine condition and some signs of tiredness were present, the bedroom room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the food (dinner and breakfast) was to a high standard. I would rate this as a very good three star hotel. The staff were brilliant in terms of helpfulness and friendliness..they made it for me a great experience.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Wales - Powys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maesmawr Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.