We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buck Hotel

The Buck Hotel
Main Street, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5EL, Wales
0871 951 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Caersws
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

During the latter part of 2013, stayed overnight on three separate One Night Stays.
Room comfortable and most important warm. Food main stream Pub Grub.......Only downside was the quality of the "real ales" thought they tried to offer to many, as a result quality below average .
Owners and staff, always a pleasure to deal with.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Cracking lunch enjoyed by the whole family,3 courses with a good selection of starters, mains and puddings. Reasonably prriced, and delivered piping hot by attentive and friendly staff 10/10

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just had a meal at this pub and wow we weren't disappointed. Huge portions, too much to eat. Lovely home cooked food. Friendly staff. Recommend to all if you are in this neck of the woods. We walked from Trewythen Lodges and what a lovely walk it was.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Buck whilst staying at some log cabins nearby we booked the night before and they had availability despite being really busy on the night. We had three great courses and really enjoyed the food and ambience. I would recommend this little gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
“"First Class Food And Service"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We called in the Buck Hotel for Sunday lunch after my Brother recommended it to us.We were given a warm welcome by the lady serving the drinks .There was no room in the Restaurant but she kindly offered us a place to eat in the bar which was nice and cosy. The drinks were very reasonably priced and the beer was nice and cold.We ordered the beef and OMG! it was delicious the meat melted in your mouth the gravy was to die for and the Yorkshire pudding was homemade and a lovely texture,they even bought us a gravy boat out as we like lots of gravy.Whilst we were chatting to the staff she told us about their steak night we were so impressed with the Sunday dinner that we decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed the service was excellent and within a minute of sitting down in the spacious and cosy restaurant our food arrived and to be honest we were blown away by the quality of the food there was so much of it. I asked for a salad instead of the chips and they bought me a lovely bowl of mixed salad with spring onions tomatoes peppers etc, my partner who had the chips said they were the nicest chips he had ever eaten he was well happy.The steaks which we asked to be well done were perfectly cooked and juicy without being cremated the peppercorn sauce was lovely and tasty and the onion rings were perfectly cooked .We did not have room for desert but they looked Delicious.I can not wait to go back there and I highly recommend people giving this lovely hotel a try as it has such friendly welcoming staff and it really offered the best quality food I have tasted in ages.Try it you will not be disappointed !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buck Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Buck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.