We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and good old fashioned hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grange Road, Polmont FK2 0YB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Polmont
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charm and good old fashioned hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night, Christmas night whilst visiting family in Grangemouth for Christmas. We were pleasantly surprised by this gem!

The service upon arrival was very friendly, warm and welcoming. We were offered assistance with our suitcases and declined but another staff member then saw us struggling and insisted on taking a suitcase and showing us to our room. She was extremely friendly and a real asset to the hotel.

The room is old school B&B style. Very roomy, very clean and everything you need. Nice sized bathroom and bed was comfortable. We were so impressed by the handwritten Christmas card and stocking of treats left for us.

We didn't use any of the facilities at the hotel and did not have any meals there so cannot comment on those aspects. Checkout was quick and friendly.

Very impressed and was very reasonably priced. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    207
    148
    72
    55
See reviews for
115
277
15
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are just home from enjoying our break here.The staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful
Our room was very nice - clean and fresh with a few wee extras The breakfast and dinner were both very good and we had a snack meal as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I travelled to the Inchyra with my husband in December 2012 as a birthday treat without my 3 children. Check in was swift and efficient and our room was gorgeous. Everything was spectacularly clean and the room was warm and inviting. We spent the afternoon in the pool and made use of the thermal suite. The aroma steam room was a god send for my blocked sinuses!
In the evening we had a meal in the steak club and it was divine. I can heartily recommend the haggis neeps and tatties!. The staff were very efficient and courteous throughout our meal. The following morning we had a full breakfast, and the locally sourced ingredients certainly made them excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I have enjoyed a spa day at the Inchyra twice and on both occasions the experience was excellent. I've always found staff at Macdonald hotels to offer great customer service and Jenny Simpson and her team are no exception. On both occasions I was lucky enough to snare a bargain in the form of a discount voucher but the warm welcome and courtesy from the staff was no different because of that. (In fact, I was so impressed I'm happily paying full price to stay in March with my husband. Thanks Victoria at reception, for assisting with the booking, despite your shift having finished.)

The recently refurbished relaxation room is heavenly, as are the treatment rooms, which have cosy heated beds. More beds surround the pool area next to sauna, steam room and scented shower.
Mid week is a better option as it was really busy on Saturday. The only downside of the 'relaxing' day was by 3pm there were not enough beds for everyone-in any of the relaxation areas.

Lunch (which was part of the deal) came in the form of a bento box and was delicious both times. Special thanks has to go to Brenda who looked after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble for her. A real star and huge asset to the hotel.

I do love a day at the spa and this is now my venue of choice. I would choose the Inchyra over Stobo for value and customer service. Maybe just book fewer visitors at the weekend to ensure a perfect guest experience?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We attended another xmas party at the Inchyra based upon information given by staff. We attended the year before and absolutely loved it - the function was held in the main ballroom.

This year however was a total joke------------different people supplying the entertainment even though we asked if it was the same disco etc clearly it wasnt...

The food was a little more than adequate, as for THE BAND lol lol lol lol where do we start..

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL ...get the gist!!

When will hotel management - by the whoever he was, is - was non existant - tell cusatomers the truth??? ANSWER - not this lot...

There was no interaction from the DJ - who was stuck away behind 'THE BAND' ...you would have been as well using an Ipod....wouldve saved you lot some and us some money

And what the hell does 'HIGHWAY TO HELL@ have to do with CHRISTMAS?? can someone please explain..

AT least last year all thye music was constant party music you could enjoy...

What a very very very very very poor substitute Inchyra....

Are you listening, or will you even reply??

When it comes to xmas 2013...we know where we are going ....no where near Inchyra...!!!

shocking shocking shocking

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room was beautiful and very spacious. My biggest disappointment was that it does not cater for vegeterians. The chef tried his best but you would have thought that I could have got a evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

congrats to all the staff who serviced the ball from the food which was piping hot and exelent thanks chef, to the young staff who waited on tables ,the head waiter who supervised ,the band at the ceilid,they all helped to make this one of the best hogmany,s we had as a family. Then brunch in morning, what a great idea.the selection was fab fromthe home made breads and pastries to the endless choice from british breakfast to brunch of steak pie ,pork chops e ,ggs benedict,i could go o,. the only minus was 3£ charge for payment by card and the view wasnt the best we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa

Address: Grange Road, Polmont FK2 0YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Polmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Polmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa is perfectly located in the heart of the Central Belt in Scotland, meaning you are just 30 minutes away from central Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling and all the attractions and shopping that they have to offer. We are renowned for our wonderful Vital spa experience where you can unwind in our thermal suite, including 20 metre swimming pool, rasul, rock sauna and ice fountain. We are also a perfect location for business travellers to the area, offering free, unlimited WiFi so that you stay connected to the office. Extremely accessible, just off junction 5 of the M9, Edinburgh Airport is just 25 minutes away and Polmont train station easily connects to mainlines from Glasgow and Edinburgh. After a day of meetings, adventure or relaxation in the Spa, enjoy one of the best steak's in town at the AA rosette-awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. Selecting only the finest ingredients and 21-day aged cuts of beef from Scotbeef, it's our dedication to serving quality ingredients that makes us different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel Polmont
Macdonald Inchyra Grange Falkirk
Hotel Macdonald Inchyra Grange
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa Polmont, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.