We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liddington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Medbourne Lane, Liddington, Swindon SN4 0EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Liddington B&B and Inns
Baldock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed with Jane and Mathew last Saturday. They have a beautiful home. Bedroom most comfortable and breakfast excellent. They are a lovely couple and chatted to us and breakfast and we felt like we were visiting friend. They had obviously gone to the trouble of giving us the sort of things we normally have for breakfast plus the added delight of Mathews cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
We appreciate your tremendous review, thank you. We are glad we made you feel so welcome, that is our aim at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, whether you are staying one night for pleasure or all week for business we like to go the extra mile with personal touches. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed in many B&Bs over the last view years and this has to be my favourite, a true gem!
Meadowbank House is situated in the quiet and idyllic village of Liddington in Wiltshire, which is the perfect spot for a weekend of walking and or cycling, relaxing in beautiful countryside or if you're visiting friends or relatives in Swindon and want to stay out of town. We were given the warmest welcome by Jane and Matthew who are superb hosts and make you feel at home and at ease immediately. The house, terrace and garden are just lovely and clearly very well looked after. Our room (The Barbury) was cool (in hot July!), quiet, spotlessly clean and the bed was amazing, best night sleep I've had in ages. Breakfast was one of the highlights with a full english for my very happy husband and Jane's AMAZING blueberry pancakes with maple syrup for me - de-licious. My only regret was just staying the one night! We will definitely be back soon - Thanks Jane and Matthew!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbury room, was quiet, cozy and comfortable with a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your marvelous review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. It was very kind of you to take the time to write a review of Meadowbank House and we appreciate it. Our motto is happy guests = happy hosts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in 8 B&B when we were in UK, Meadowbank House would be the best one! When we arrived here at dark, we got big welcome from Jane and Mathew, made us feel like home at once. I will never forget that moment.

The house is so cozy, clean with high quality supplies. I enjoyed almost everything, from bedroom to living room, bathroom to dinning room, most important, the time with Jane and Mathew, they are helpful and friendly, just like my elder sister and brother.

The village near the house, has a love village pub serves good pub food. Of cause, I knew it from Jane and we did have a please dinner there:) We also made a nice walk aroud the beautiful village and the hillside in the morning, fantastic!

If I had choice, I would love to stay here longer and longer. It's the best choice for visitors of Cotswolds, Stonehenge and Bath!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay. Thank you for your superb review of our Bed and Breakfast, please do tell all your friends about us. You were our first visitors from China and we hope we have many more. We hope that you will come back and stay longer and explore more of our beautiful location. Thank you from Jane and Matthew at Meadowbank House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finedon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Meadowbank House is perfect, Matthew and Jane have it down to a T and are so welcoming and friendly.
We stayed overnight as a bit of a treat rather than just visiting the area for the day and we'll certainly be doing the same again.
The house and gardens are beautiful, everywhere is peaceful and the bed was so comfortable we slept like babies!
Tea on the terrace in the sun when we arrived set the scene for a wonderful stay and we felt as though we'd had a whole weekend away even though we were only away from home for 24hours!
In the morning after a lie in we were treated to a gorgeous breakfast full of home made and local goodness which left us satisfied until supper time.
We had a wonderful time at Meadowbank House and are already plannig our return visit with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review. Our aim is to provide the best service we can and make sure that while our guests are staying with us they are very happy. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose Meadowbank House as our base for a 3-day cycling and walking long weekend, and what a find it was. After pedaling and walking the beautiful downland scenery it was a haven of peace and gentle recuperation. We slept like logs in the peaceful comfy surroundings.
Matthew and Jane are excellent, friendly hosts, and their sumptuous breakfasts set us up for the day, with no need for a large lunch later on. The local pub provided our evening meals and liquid refreshment, after which we returned to Meadowbank's guest lounge to relax and catch up with some reading or TV.
Only a few minutes from the M4, it was an ideal central base for exploring the area, and if you must shop, Swindon is very close.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We aim to provide great service and we want our guests to be happy and relaxed while they are in our home. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Medbourne Lane, Liddington, Swindon SN4 0EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Liddington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Liddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful and contempory B and B in the lovely village of Liddington, close to Junction 15 of the M4, the Ridgeway National Trail, Swindon and we are 5 minutes from Great Western Hospital. Our location makes us ideal for business people working in Swindon; ie Nationwide, Intel, Honda, who require accommodation with a high level or service and attention to detail. We are also ideal for walkers, for exploring the Cotswolds, Oxford, Salisbury and Stonehenge, Avebury and Marlborough. Meadowbank House is a large detached house with lots of space for guests. We have three fabulous rooms with either private or shared bath / shower rooms. Two of the rooms have king size Sealy beds with superb white linen to guarantee a comfortable night. Rooms have kettles, fresh milk, a range of teas and fresh ground coffee. We have a guest sitting room with lots of books, a writing desk, flat screen TV and a Bose iPod docking station. The room has double doors to a terrace with seating to relax and watch the sun go down and an open log fire for when it is not so warm. We have free wireless Internet throughout the house. There is private parking, clothes and boot drying. Guests are welcome to use the garden.Jane makes a fabulous breakfast which includes a choice of Wiltshire breakfast, American pancakes and French toast with maple syrup. Jane uses local ingredients and everything is freshly made. Liddington is a lovely village. It has a friendly pub and shop, The Village Inn for evening meals within a few minutes' walk. There are footpaths up on to the Ridgeway where there are breath-taking views of the rolling downs.There is a bus service through the village to Swindon, the hospital and the station. We can usually arrange to collect and transport guests given a bit of notice. We love meeting travellers who come to stay. Jane knows all the local walks and sights and is a mine of local information. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.