We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrific” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Belfast

Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Belfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belfast International Airport, Aldergrove BT 29 4ZY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Belfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Aldergrove
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“horrific”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First of all, I booked the Plaza Hotel at Belfast Airport and got no notification that the hotel had changed its name so drove around Belfast Airport looking for it and finally had to phone the hotel to be told it was now Maldron Hotel, mentioned this to the receptionist who dismissed it and said everyone was contacted. Not so!! As we checked in we were offered tickets to their function that night declined and asked would the noise be heard in our room, was assured as we were on the second floor we would not.. To say the noise was horrendous is an understatement, we contacted the duty manager who informed us that as we had been informed of the function at check in he didnt think it was a problem and offered to shift us to another room but could not guarantee us no noise we declined as it was not our intension to start walking round a hotel when really all we wanted was a night sleep as we were up at 4pm for our flight next morning. I am still waiting for the manager of this hotel to contact me to discuss this.. my advice if you want to sleep dont book this hotel, maybe if guests want to be entertained its the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen R, Manager at Maldron Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Patsy Ferry,

Im sorry to hear you had such a dissapointing experience at the hotel. the Hotel has made every effort to notify all sites off our name change, i offer my sincere apologies if this caused you inconvenience. please contact me directly at the hotel or at sredden@maldronhotels.com. and i would be delighted to discuss your experience with you

regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    92
    71
    26
    17
See reviews for
36
106
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had to stay because of the G8 in Northern ireland as we were booked on an early flight to Edinburgh the next morning. My partner was arrivinig late and wouuldn't make dinner. i had a lovely meal and nothing was too much trouble. As we were leaving early, we had breakfast in our room, well worth it rather than pay massively inflated prices for the unsatisfactory muck thrown at you in the airport. (note to Consumer Council in NI, can you look at airport food and prices please??)
Room was spotless and newly decorated, staff were excellent - such a friendly service. Well done maldron

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The trip from the reception to the airport check-in is less then 2 mins walk, so you don't book this hotel for the view, but is ideal for convenience. The room was clean and larger than expected. With the window closed the room was quiet. The staff are helpful and polite. Considering I paid £59 per night the level of service was excellent.

The restaurant has a very small menu, but the food was well presented and very good. The restaurant prices are a little on the high side, when compared with the price of a room. It's not the fastest kitchen in the world, considering how few customers they had, but worth the wait.

The only gripe, and there has to be one, is the circa 1995 14" CRT television in the room. Poor picture and no subtitles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and the hubby stayed over on Saturday night till Sunday . The hotel was spotless clean and the staff were very friendly and had plenty of time to chat to you and make you really welcome ..the food was gorgeous and you got plenty of it ...the entertainment Gareth Brook Tribute Act that night was amazing and breakfast next day was lovely too.. Well with being so close to the airport we never hear any planes coming in or going out ....would really stay here again ... Excellent hotel lovely staff and gorgeous food what more could you ask for

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned after a four nights at this hotel with a Shearings package holiday to Belfast & Titanic exhibition. This included Bed Breakfast & Evening Meal.

The hotel was very clean and modern. Our room was lovely and very clean. Very comfortable twin beds and as the room was extremely quiet we had four good nights sleep even though we we overlooking the airport terminal building.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were top class. The only niggle was the evening meal. it was very annoying having to wait as part of a large group for between 35 and 45 minutes for the first course to be served. Then waiting for everyone to finish before the next course is served. Why some hotels persist in this method beats us.

One surprise and very much appreciated was the special 5.30am full breakfast laid on. (we were told it would be a cold continental style). My thanks go to all who made that possible.

For those not staying on a organised coaching holiday, excellent shuttle services are across the road at the terminal into Belfast. (Currently £10.50 return)

Overall, a very comfortable and pleasant stay and would definately return next time we visit Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Comfortable bed, clean if a little tired, surprisingly quiet for the airport (though there was an issue with howling vents), and excellent location. Very expensive for what it is at £79, but if you need to be at the airport early it offers a no-hassle option. Better deal for those who need parking as their park, sleep & fly deal is £99. We only stayed to avoid the worry of getting through the G8 security for our early flight so probably wouldn't stay again, however would be happy to recommend as a decent airport option. Didn't try the food as breakfast was not included, it was an extra £12pp and better value can be found in the departure lounge (saves time too!).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen R, Manager at Maldron Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear wana_go_everywhere,

thank you for your kind feedback. im glad to hear you had such a positive experience. Next time you stay please sample our breakfast, its available at £9 if prebooked before you arrive. all our products are locally source and great quality. that does cost more than the cheaper options at the airport.

we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I want to be as fair and constructive as possible in this review. My partner and I chose this hotel as we were returning on a late flight to Belfast airport and felt a good sleep was in order before completing our journey home.
We arrive into the hotel at about 11pm - check in was completed promptly and the girl was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor and was clean but the hall light did not work (bulb flickering on and off) soon after we settled down to sleep - the racket started!!! What appeared to have been 20 or more girls in rooms on our floor simply ran amok quite drunk very bawdy and very very loud - doors banging loud screaming running up and down corridors etc; - this went on and on through the night and again on waking at 8am after practically no sleep at all.
The phone did not work to call reception!! (since told a second phone existed on bedside locker but either due to tiredness or annoyance we didn't see it - but why not have BOTH phones working or just have ONE that does!!)
We complained to reception in the morning and were told this was no noisy hen party but - wait for it - a group from the GIRLS BRIGADE - yes you read correctly - the receptionist was as stunned at their antics as we were. The floor on the corridor outside the rooms was bedecked with empty wine bottles and containers. This behaviour is surely at odds with the principles of this Christian organisation and these members displayed nothing but contempt for others and utter selfishness - the decadence shown by them last night would have left the Borgias looking good!!
To their credit the receptionist and duty manager were very supportive and helpful and arranged two very nice complimentary breakfasts to compensate for awful night we spent. The duty manager assured us she would speak to the senior members of the Brigade who were still present in the hotel - we were more than surprised that not even one senior member even bothered to approach us to apologise for the wholly unacceptable and inappropriate behaviour of the members of their Brigade.
In conclusion - One can't blame the hotel entirely for the bad behaviour of guests but surely when they know they have a large, potentially raucous, group on one floor then other guests should be informed of this on arrival and given the option of a quieter room.
Nice hotel - nice staff - but they really do need to be more watchful of large groups and more considerate of travellers in need of a good rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maldron Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Belfast

Address: Belfast International Airport, Aldergrove BT 29 4ZY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Belfast)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Aldergrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Aldergrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Belfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our convenience to Belfast International Airport the hotel is the ideal location for leisure and business travellers visiting Northern Ireland. In the heart of the province the hotel offers a central base for your convenience. Book your stay online and see why our convenient location and excellent 'Can Do' service set us apart from other hotels in Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Maldron Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Belfast Hotel Aldergrove
Belfast Park Plaza
Maldron Hotel Belfast Aldergrove, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.