We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loving it at Bedwellty house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedwellty House and Park

Bedwellty House and Park
Morgan Street, Tredegar NP22 3XN, Wales
01495 353370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Tredegar
Type: Parks, Cultural
Attraction details
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“loving it at Bedwellty house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

after another great sunday lunch at Bedwellty house with my family I must ! for the first time share my experiance on tripadvisor
what are we looking for ? nice surroundings, nice people, plenty of good food,and easy on the pocket .
we have visited several times and still feel it's a great place to spend the day
found the staff helpfull and polite ! with no shortage of extra's if requested

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Obviously can't please everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Looking at the reveiw below, i really don't know weather these people went to same place as me. Me and my family visit you regularly, and a major pulling power is the tea room. the food is lovely and very reasonably priced. "nice to see no chips". And the service is always second to nun, and very polite. and that goes for all the staff. some people need to get out more!!!.
"rant over"

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A gorgeous building with some interesting artefacts and, in the assembly room, a running film about Aneurin Bevan's life. The park is lovely for a stroll and the cafe in the conservatory does a fabulous line in afternoon tea - a selection of sandwiches and Welsh cheeses with tea or coffee. It also does a very reasonably priced Sunday lunch. What a treat and such a shame that the town itself looks tired and unloved - a shcoking lack of investment by the council in what is the birth place of the NHS.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful but let down by the cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

An amazing and beautiful park, well worth a visit. The only let down was the cafe, bad service, terrible terrible coffee and very expensive. Take a packed lunch or picnic and you'll have a brilliant time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real gem in the valleys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well worth a visit. Near the centre of town. Well laid gardens which are well maintained. Fascinating nooks and corners and a great childrens playground. The jewel though is Bedwellty House inside the park which is still the Town Council Offices. It is open to the public and amongst other things charts the rise of Aneurin Bevan who became the local socialist MP and founder of the NHS which was modelled on the Tredegar Health Board. Nice cafe which sells the Ironworkers dinner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedwellty House and Park also viewed

 
New Tredegar, Caerphilly County
Cwmcarn, Blaenau Gwent
 

Been to Bedwellty House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedwellty House and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.