We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased with choice of hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foelas Arms Hotel

Foelas Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentre Foelas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foelas Arms Hotel
Save
You added Foelas Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Pentrefoelas, Pentre Foelas LL24 0HT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
bolton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleased with choice of hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

After reading some of the reviews i was a little apprehensive about me and my family staying at the Foelas Arms.

Well i am very pleased i stayed at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, me and my family ate everynight in the the hotel's new restaurant (which was beautifully decorated). The food was very nice and reasonable.

Our room was cleaned daily and the breakfast choice was very good.

The hotel is in a good position, near to Betws-y-Coed and other places of interest.

Overall i would recommend this hotel to anybody I know.

  • Liked — Good food, nice friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Nice and clean large rooms. Very good breakfast. Can be a bit noisy if you are located above the bar area at weekends.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

we had booked for three days , we thought it was in Betsy-coed
when we got there it was 7 miles from betsy-coed there was no one there to meet us. the outside did not look very inviting we finnally got a painter and decorator to let us in. the place needs a complete restoration.after we looked at the rooms we were shocked the ladies refused to stop there ,. we carried on to betsy coed and booked in the Royal oak hotel.

  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Arrived Easter Saturday approx 3:30 pm weather cold and it had been snowing en-route. Our hearts sank when we entered the doorway of the hotel. Decor shabby and old fashioned. Shown to room and informed the heating would not be on till 5.00pm but was provided with an electric heater to warm the very cold room. (This we used during our total stay.) shortly after we went into bar for drink this was just like a tap room, no where comfortable to sit. nearly all men in working clothes sitting watching sport on large TV screen. There was another room - the dining room ( we had breakfast in there ) but it was cold and no one used it while we were there during the day and in the evenings when we returned it was in darkness. We did not go in the bar for the rest of our two day stay. On a positive note the beds were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fine too. We were informed the people had only been in one year, but to get visitors to return they really must decorate and improve the hotel facilities. (Give it a total make over.) I am sorry but this couple will not be re-visiting the Hotel again.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — Decor and facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Considering my previous stay at the Foelas Arms, I find this hard to write.
During a follow up visit to the U.K., this time with my brother and his wife along. We booked the Foelas for their last night before heading home, June and I where staying another week to see Scotland.
We arrived about 4 pm, and tried for some time to get anyone to answer the front or side doors. I noticed that the entire first floor was filled with what looked like building supplies, and tools. It became apparent that the hotel was not open.
In the future, I would check with the hotel managment to be sure their going to be there.
Further; it would have been nice if mangment had contacted us, or made arrangements for lodging at one of the many hotels in the area. This sort of disregard for customers, is beneath the level of service that this wounderful little hotel should offer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Closed for remodel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

The hotel is placed in a small village fifteen minutes away from the centre of Betws y Coed so is perfect for a stay away from the main tourist attraction yet still allows you to have all amenities on your doorstep.

Although situated alongside the A5 the traffic is never imposing and once inside you would never know it was there. The bedrooms are well turned out and more than met our expectations.

We found the staff both welcoming and helpful. The bar has a great relaxed atmosphere and the locals are very chatty and friendly.

The hotel, and bar attached, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and although breakfast is served between 9.00 and 9.30 guests can request food outside of this time.

All in all the hotel is placed in a beautiful part of the country and our choice to stay there made a great holiday even better.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

The hotel touts itself as situated in a quiet village. It is actually right on a busy A road. I found the hotel spooky, lots of unused rooms full of stuff.

We arrived at 4pm, rang the doorbell for about 10 minutes and were about to leave as we had been standing in the rain, when the door suddenly opened and the chap looked surprised to see us. Well we booked!

If you like furry, this is the place for you, even the bedside tables are covered in furry fabric and the loo carpeted. Overall the room was ok but a bit pricey for its poor and noisy location.

The reception was cold and unfriendly. The food was so so. Breakfast has a window of only 30 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foelas Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foelas Arms Hotel

Address: Pentrefoelas, Pentre Foelas LL24 0HT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Pentre Foelas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pentre Foelas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel Foelas Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foelas Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.