We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Colwyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Save
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list
236 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9YH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

just had a weekend here and really enjoyed it.the room we had was very clean and the en-suite looked new so very good,the only two things that let the hotel down are the stairs and landings leading to the rooms need decorating badly,and on returning to the hotel early evening saturday we were greeted a gang of lads shouting and swearing i know wales had played rugby earlier but as aguest of the hotel i didnt expect to have to go to our room to be comfortable.colin would have told them to quieten down but he wasnt around, overall though a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

just had great weekend with fantastic band in brilliant function room excellent food and accommodation very friendly staff and owners who did everything to make your stay comfortable cleanthliness100% would stay any time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just enjoyed a great weekend at this friendly,family-run hotel. Clean and comfortable room, good food, pleasant and helpful management and staff, good beer and friendly locals. Enjoyed rock bands on Saturday and stayed over to chill on Sunday. Could not fault this hotel and will recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Rooms have been refurbished and are all of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Last night of 3 hotels in 3 days across Wales. I'm a south-coast lad originally and this is how all hotels by the sea should be. Real 'proper' hotel feel to it, not a modern multi-branch stack'em high approach. Short stop, but very friendly staff. No chance to try food or drink (but bar was very busy when we checked in).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just left earlier today. We have stayed here every time we visit the area and every time Wendy and her team give us the warmest of welcomes. Hotel is 5 minutes away from Colwyn Bay and its beautiful new sandy beach! Do not miss Wendy's home cooked welsh lamb or massive full monty english breakfast. Rooms are clean and homely, we stay in the en- suite doubles. Will be back. Thanks Wendy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I paid a visit to the Marine in January and wished I hadn't. The food was average at best and the staff seemed to be solely concentrating on counting down the minutes until their shift ended. There were quite a few young people there who seemed to be friends of the staff and ruined the atmosphere with their endless swearing which was tolerated by the management.

I was quite surprised to see the number of "excellent" reviews on here until I looked closer and realised that they are ALL posted by people who have only ever left one review on Tripadvisor. And even the "very good" review section is dominated by one off contributors. I'm sure we can all draw our own conclusions from this rather unusual pattern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Colwyn hotels

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We decided to give this place another try and came for another Sunday lunch and found it to have got much worse, same unfriendly / unhelpful young staff but the food as got much worse - had the beef dinners and found very little flavour in the meat or the over cooked watery veg and very undercooked Yorkshire puds this time around which were just stodgy and soggy.

service was very poor ordered drinks after it took a good ten minutes of waiting to be asked by the staff then took them another good 5 mins to bring them and wished they had not bothered.
Was asked only at the very end if everything ok and did tell the young waitress that we did not enjoy it and she said she would tell chef.

Would not revisit or be recommending under current management as almost £30.00 for two very poor quality Sunday dinners with a couple of drinks is simply too costly a risk .

Room Tip: avoid the dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 236 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9YH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Old Colwyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.