We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Colwyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Save
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list
236 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9YH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Colwyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Very clean; helpful and friendly staff. The room was nice and spacious with a really comfy bed and a good shower.
We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed the stay- breakfast was amazing!
We will be coming back here again.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Not very friendly and not all that helpful staff (all the staff seemed very young and a lack of training or they simply did not really care)- no atmosphere in the dinning room apart from the odd record which we assume was played from the bar duke box every now and then.

Starters we has prawn cocktail served eighties style in a very small wine glass just some shredded ice burg lettuce and some small prawns topped with a cheap/nasty sauce and some cheap sliced brown bread - was just edible but would never have again or recommend. -

We was then expecting a similar main meal but to our surprise it was it was a very tasty Beef Sunday Dinner, very tasty very well cooked good quality beef with home made beef stock gravy, very nice roast potatoes - tasty and crispy again seemed home made/prepared and good boiled potatoes along with a side dish of veg carrots/peas/broccoli and cauliflower all good.

Was a Yorkshire pudding but very over done/burnt - this was the only one small fault with the dinner as everything else on the main Dinner was excellent. - sweets were average pub quality- nothing special.
We would try this place again but stick to just a Sunday dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had been due to stay at another hotel in the area but, unfortunately, due to a fire, they were unable to accomodate us.
Accordingly we looked for other accomodation and approached the Marine during the afternoon. Wendy and her husband could not have been more helpful.
For a clean, comfortable room and overall pleasant accomodation, together with a big plus for the breakfast, we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend,we was made to feel very welcome,the food was excellent and the rooms were large,clean and modern.All in all The Marine is a great place to stay,we are intending to stay there again in 2011.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Fabulous stay Wendy and all the staff were wonderful!! Really accommodating especially as we travelled with a one year old!! Food was amazing (steak to die for)! Felt at home the staff couldn't do enough for us!! Welsh netball would recommend it to anyone!!! Great people great value!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Wendy, thank you for a fabulous New Years Eve - as always, your attention to detail ensures a great night and wonderful atmosphere.

We have stayed in the Marine on many occasions and it never disappoints. The accommodation, recently updated, is clean and comfortable and in the morning we get a full English breakfast that keeps us going all day. Whether eating in the restaurant or the new bar areas, the food is consistently good (and Sunday lunch is the best in North Wales!).

Great location for walking or the beach.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

recently attended this hotel at a reception after a wedding. At first everything appeared quaint and very cosy, very clean and nicely decorated. When the buffet was laid I was extremely shocked to find hardly any meat and not one single desert. After speaking to the groom I was disgusted to hear that this so called 'buffet' was a shocking £8.00 a head. I personally wouldn't have placed a value on the cold dorito crisps and deep fried cocktail sausages. On a lighter note, drinks were well priced and despite the function room being dangerously small to cater for our party of 60 everyone still had a smile on their face.
As staff cleaned the tables I have never felt so unconfortable due to the attitude and sevice given. My review concludes that I have never been treated the way that some of the members of staff who were anything but helpful treated the guests. I would even go as far to say that it appeared that I should have gotten up and helped them clear away as they were obviously disgruntled doing so and in my opinion should not be in the work of serving others. I would not advise any person considering visiting their establishment as I certainly wont be doing so in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayeayecaptain, Owner at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2010
This person attended an afternoon wedding reception for which we were asked by the Groom to provide a finger buffet for 50 people for the sum of £350. This was served and everyone was quite happy.There was also to be an evening disco for which no food was ordered as it was beyond their budget. At approx. 7.30pm a member of the party brought in a large quantity of takeaway chinese food and chips and started laying it out on our buffet tables. We remonstrated with them, as this was entirely unacceptable. We had not charged for the hire of the room, nor were we asked if they could self cater, which we do not allow. At 10.30pm more food was brought in and at this stage we stopped the party and called the police. The police advised us to allow the party to continue, partly due to the fact that a number of the guests were booked in as hotel residents. Our function room is licenced for 100 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Colwyn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 236 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9YH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Old Colwyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.