We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yr Hafod Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yr Hafod Country House to your Saves list
Yr Hafod Country House
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   nr Betws-y-Coed, Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0RQ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Trefriw B&B and Inns
Northants
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

In other more well-known / luxurious hotels it was often the case that people would nick the towels / bathrobes, here you just want to pack the hosts (Leila and Shaun) and the whole hotel into your bag and do a runner.

Shaun and Leila - the hosts are fabulous and this reflects both through Leila's choice of interior decor and Shaun's cooking, everything meticulously prepared right down to the in-room book providing all the information you need for your stay.

The bed is very comfortable, the room spotlessly tidy and the bathroom very clean and tidy with a wonderfully hot powerful shower.

The room amenities were very well stocked with both quality tea and Pukka herbal teas and were replenished both on request and daily - this is the same for the bathroom towels.

The hotel is very peaceful, rooms are light and airy and whilst the hosts are often out and about running their family and preparing the hotel and restaurant they were more than willing to stop and just talk and nothing was too much to ask.

No matter how hard Shaun and Leila worked, no matter how clean and presentable the hotel was, the hotel needs to take a back-seat when compared to Shaun's food and Leila's front-of-house.
The food is very, very tasty, all base ingredients are locally sourced and Shaun prepares everything from scratch and the value is excellent:

Combo for Two – Mushrooms, Gratin, Ribs and Garlic Bread £12.95
Chargrilled Chicken Breast £13.95
Local Conwy Valley Lamb Steak £15.95
Frozen Blackcurrant and Liquorice Parfait with Blackcurrant Sauce £5.95
Crème Brûlée Cheesecake £5.95

Total excluding drinks £54.75 or £27 pp - excellent value

Thank-you very much

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Had a brilliant stay at this Yr Hafod. We decided to stay here because of the great reviews and we weren't disappointed. Shaun was so welcoming and full of local knowledge. Rooms are fabulous. Breakfast is gorgeous. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We travelled to Yr Hafod based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed! Lovely hosts, a smashing place to stay and brilliant food in their restaurant. We ended up staying an extra night as there is so much to see in the area, not too far to Snowdonia, Portmerion, or the coast of North Wales. Shaun and Leila have done a fabulous job and are very welcoming hosts too, we would certainly hope to stay again the next time we're visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

What a delightful place to stay. Charming hosts and a first class breakfast. We asked for a blanket instead of a duvet, which was seen to with no trouble at all. Newly decorated rooms, light and airy, couldn't,t fault it

Room Tip: As a twin room recommend no 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights, excellent B and B Shaun made us very welcome. The bedrooms were lovely, and excellent bathroom with all that you need, shower jel, shampoo etc and quality tea and coffee in the room with a tea pot and fresh milk.

Breakfast was excellent, quality food, we had evening meal one night and again this was excellent, both in quality of food and service.

Excellent shower in our room very powerful. Lovely outdoor area to the room with a stable door.

Would stay again the little village has 2 pubs and a new restaurant as well. Shaun directed to a lovely walk around the lakes, overall excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at Yr Hafod for two nights in July 2014 when we were visiting Trefriw for a family funeral. Right from the moment we arrived Leila and Shaun were wonderful welcoming hosts and were brilliant at conversing with my Nan in Welsh which she loved. They helped with our luggage and had made sure the room we had was suitable for us by swapping over furniture so that it was easier for my Nan to sit down.

The quality of the rooms was exceptional. I'm usually a two-pillow person but I really only needed one here as they were lovely and fluffy. Also the weekend we visited was very hot and thankfully there was a dual function stable door in every room that meant we could get plenty of cool air. Shaun cooked us a lovely breakfast and we were very impressed with the yoghurt they sourced from North Wales. I wish we could get them in Nottingham!

We had also asked Yr Hafod to provide a spread of food for our family for after the funeral and they put out a lovely selection and even cooked more to order when more people showed up than we had planned for. We were looked after by Jenny and Kate who went above and beyond what we could have expected, particularly with helping us look after my Nan. With a big smile on their faces they made what could have been a sad day into a happy one.

I really can't recommend this place enough. I really enjoyed our stay and I hope to return very soon. Thank you to Leila and Shaun for being such great hosts. You've made Yr Hafod a wonderful place to stay. Many thanks.

Room Tip: The Rooms at the front of the house have a lovely view across the valley but the rooms at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed two nights here, room clean and tidy, wonderful shower, and superb breakfasts you must try the kippers with parsley butter Mmmm. Very friendly owners and staff well presented and polite,
Ideal location for touring the north wales area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yr Hafod Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hafod Country House

Address: nr Betws-y-Coed, Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0RQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trefriw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trefriw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yr Hafod Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently fully referbished by new owners, we are a small country house, offering overnight accommodation with comfort and quality in mind. All rooms are en-suite and have its own private entrance, giving you the guest freedom to come and go as you please. Our on site grill restaurant offers you the diner, freshly prepared meals using locally sourced, produced and reared produce where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Yr Hafod Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafod Country Llanrwst
Hafod Country Hotel Llanrwst
Yr Hafod Country House Trefriw, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yr Hafod Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.