We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Terrible Hotel, Filthy, not maintained, barely edible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Morar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Morar Hotel to your Saves list
Morar Hotel
Morar | Morar, Morar PH40 4PA , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Simply Terrible Hotel, Filthy, not maintained, barely edible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

How other travelers can find any positives with this hotel we fail to understand (except for the views which are stunning). The owners should be suitably embarrassed to take good money off people to stay in this establishment and should have the courage to close the place down and substantially refurbish. Dirty throughout; a fingerfull of dust removed from window sill still there after 3 days! Disgusting mattresses. No evidence of any basic maintenance. Black mouldy silicone in bathrooms last refurbished 30 years ago! Pathetic small portions of poorly cooked barely edible food served at dinner. Burnt croissants and almost raw sausages served up for breakfast. I pity the staff that are forced to represent this shambles in order to earn a living. Treyn holidays should be equally embarrassed for suggesting this hotel be awarded a bronze award!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere in nearby Mallaig
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear slimmerthanever,
Thank you for providing us with your comments with regards to you recent stay at the Morar Hotel. I can assure you that we are fortunate to receive many letters of thanks from our guests, not everybody resorts to tripadvisor.

Fortunately we also receive many compliments about our rooms, service, food and cleanliness and the hotel is certainly not fit for closing down, refurbishment work is on going and it is unfortunate that you could not find any positives to include in your pictures.

Our mattresses are renewed as required and have a mattress protector and sheet. Maintenance is carried out on a weekly basis and many bathrooms have been refurbished over the past few years, with the last few remaining ones being completed in 2014, not sure that these are over 30 years old.

Kind Regards,
Morar Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    66
    36
    33
    38
See reviews for
30
109
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It would seem the newish bypass took at lot of the life out of this hotel & hamlet. The staff were lovely, our room was clean (a slight damp smell but definitely no damp) and had a great view, the bed was comfortable and yet there was a tiredness about the place that I find hard to explain. I got the feeling that it had been neglected for a long time and had recently either changed hands or new management, as the staff were to dynamic compared to the building. Breakfast was very good too yet for the price we paid it would want to be. If you like to be away from it all this might suit well but for us it was the only place we could book within reason of Mallaig.
The receptionist/manager a pleasant man showed us the dinner menu for that evening, it read like something from the 70's & not in a James Bond way. We declined the offer. I have no wish to put anyone off here but it wasn't really for me. Stay there if you wish but check out the menu before you commit.
Plus side, there is an easily climbed hill with steps beside it with a beautiful panoramic view. Lake Morar & quiet beach are also minutes in a car away as is Mallaig.

Room Tip: south facing rooms have a view of the bay, islands of Rum & Eig
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were on a Treyn Holiday when we stayed with around 40 others. We were really disappointed with the Hotel and with Treyn for using it. It was understaffed, needed a really good clean and people who could cook and serve decent food. No one seemed to care and we felt sorry for the young people left to face the guests. The food was awful. After the first day we realised that we needed to take sandwiches in to make up for poor food - and we are not big eaters. It was the Isle of Skye and we thought the menus might include salmon or kippers or porridge. All we got at breakfast was cereal and partly cooked sausages (sometimes bacon) and scrambled eggs or beans. Dinner was for instance - chicken stroganoff or a remixed type of chicken curry. There is not any other restaurant in which to eat in Morar. The views are beautiful but they do not make up for this awful hotel. Strangely it does not admit non residents. It may have been a lovely hotel at one time but it is now awful.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Treyn should not be using this hotel. Read the reviews - going back years !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Belfast James007,
We are sincerely sorry that despite our efforts and hard work we were not able to meet your expectations. With over 4,000 guests staying with us this year, the vast majority would disagree that we are an awful hotel. It is unfortunate that despite having 3 choices at each course for dinner you were unable to find anything to your liking. We are not located on the Isle of Skye and we do offer an extensive buffet breakfast to include 5 choice of cereals, fruit juices, croissant, mini pastries, tea, coffee, fruit teas, yoghurts, grapefruit segments, orange segments, prunes, cheese, ham and white and brown, Sausages, Scrambled egg and bacon, most people would find something suitable from that wide selection which meets our 3 star standards and we are priced to offer value.
Kind Regards,
Morar Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here early this August. I had the choice of staying at Mallaig or at Morar just 5 minutes down the highway. I am glad I chose Morar as it is a very peaceful place and the rooms (if you choose the sea view rooms) have a lovely view across the bay. The rooms and bathroom are good sized and clean. We went into Mallaig for dinner but the breakfast here was fine. Staff was efficient and friendly. It does have an old fashioned look with a large lobby having a scattering of sofas you can sink in to use the free WiFi (only works in the lobby). Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here in August with a group on a Treyn Holiday.

What were the strengths?
The hotel was clean.
My room had a charming view of the sea and sands.
The staff were friendly.
The breakfast sausages were delicious

What were the weaknesses?
Service at dinner was rather slow.
My room's mattress seemed tired.
The hotel seemed understaffed.

Overall, the hotel seemed to be on tick-over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We came here in October 2012 and although it was out of season - the hotel was quiet but the staff were so lovely. Yes the interior was dated but it is the Highlands and I think its part of the charm. It was a very warm and lovely place to be.
If you're not phased by materialistic problems then this hotel is ideal and situated next to the most beautiful beaches.

We can't wait to come back!

I'm 26 so please don't assume that I'm old and approve of the old décor! ;) I'm young and couldn't care less about something so materialistic!!!

Room Tip: I think the dated décor adds to the charm. This hotel doesn't need to appear stylish to make it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Last stayed at this hotel 45 years ago (some of the decor is unchanged!). What it lacks in character and finesse it makes up for in friendly and helpful staff. Lee was on reception when we arrived, he sorted our booking problems with minimum fuss and maximum efficiency, helped book our ferry for the next day and was probably one of the most helpful people I have ever met! Room was large and comfortable with great views. Dinner was basic but great for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morar Hotel

Address: Morar | Morar, Morar PH40 4PA , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Morar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morar Hotel is a friendly hotel on the romantic "Road to the Isles", 3 miles from Mallaig, the Southern Gateway to the Isle of Skye. The hotel commands breathtaking views of the famous Silver Sands of Morar and the Inner Hebridean islands of Rum & Eigg.The Morar Hotel offers true Scottish Highland hospitality. The hotel features 30 bedrooms - all with colour TV, private bathrooms & tea making facilities - comfortable accommodation, log fires and good home cooking. A warm Highland welcome is assured! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Morar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morar Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.