We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caravan: great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencairn House
Save
You added Glencairn House to your Saves list
Glencairn House, Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Morar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Caravan: great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We are just back from a week at the Glencairn self catering caravan. We stayed 7 days with our 3 year old daughter and it was perfect. Ruth and Gary are genuinely nice people who looked after us well. They couldn't have been more helpful when we needed something but otherwise left us to get on with our holiday. The caravan has plenty of space, gas central heating, a bath!!! and en suite in the main bedroom. The area is unbeatable and it was a great base for walking, cycling and exploring the islands. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for one night before hopping on the ferry to skye. Gary made us immediately welcome with tea and homemade shortcake before heading off to do some work. We had the house to ourselves. Our room was fine and had a huge balcony that would have been great had the weather not been horrendous! Instead we decided to spent the evening in the enormous lounge watching TV, drinking a bottle of wine we had brought and using the internet to plan our wedding. The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast then went for a stroll on the fantastic beach less than 10 minutes walk away then drove to the ferry to skye, about a 10 minute drive.

All in all fantastic hospitality,food, scenery what more do you need?

Dave + Susie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was booked as a surprise honeymoon for my wife (!) and I and it really didn't disappoint.
We loved the general atmosphere which was convivial and relaxed, especially with Gary's very amusing stories and the three lovely dogs.
The kitchen and lounge were a real treat and I'd echo a previous commenter in saying how lovely it was to be able to use these as if we were at home. Gary even pre-empted our evening take-away (from the only - but excellent - Thai place in the region - it's the Highlands) by laying out plates, condiments etc. How lovely!

The room was comfortable - we had the en-suite, which was great and well-appointed. And the location couldn't be better - tucked away in a small nook in the hills, but 5 minutes' walk away from the most wonderful, secluded, white-sands beach. There's also great walking roundabouts with some stunning views across the Western Isles if you make the effort to head up into the hills.

Breakfasts were a thing of great wonder to both of us - particularly the fish. wow.
Only downside - we had to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ter Apel, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Thank you Gary and Ruth for making our short trip so sweet and lovely!
We enjoyed everything in you B and B especially all the extra's ;-)
The wonderful dogs and the great hospitality that you gave us and our son and his friend when they came to stay for the last night of our visit with you.
Super - Thank You and we will be back!!
Henriette and Gerth
The Netherlands

Room Tip: the one with the balcony and the views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'm a tour guide and travelling through Scotland is my job. First time I booked this BB because it was cheap and pocation was right, it was business trip and I couldn't be really fussy.

But in two weeks I brought my family for weekend to Gary and Ruth, because I absolutely loved this place. And it is not just about beautiful and pieceful location (it is next to the white beach, but in a very hidden dip), it is about hospitality first of all.


You can book little bedroom with shared facility but would you espect the huge sitting room? How many BB onwers would offer you to use dining area for your own dinner? Who aslo but Ruth will feed you in the afternoon with fresh jam and freshly made pancakes (for free)? And how about barbeque patio with all the equipment for your evening meal?

Gary offers you huge breakfast - what ever you could imagine is on a list, even deliciouse white pudding. And my toddler daughter was allowed to pick the egg from hen house and it was boiled forher breakfast.

Well, looks like I'm just an idiot to advertise this place...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merom, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Glencairn in June 2011. As an American we were only familiar with hotels. Staying in B& B's was an entirely new thing for us. Ruth and Gary were so friendly. They both explained how their B&B worked as soon as we arrived. They encouraged us to come into the living room and visit with the other guests, something we were not use to but soon came to enjoy very much. The breakfast choices were amazing, I loved having a traditional Scottish breakfast! We were offered tea and cakes in the afternoon. This B&B welcomes dogs and we were able to enjoy other guest's pets. We stayed two nights. Our first night we were upstairs. Our room had a private bathroom. The room was so comfortable with a tea kettle and tea and biscuits. It also had a balcony. The second night we stayed downstairs. Again, the room was comfortable and lovely. We shared a bathroom with the other downstairs guest. Gary and Ruth had bird feeders set up outside their living room window. I enjoyed this very much as an avid bird feeder myself. Gary was quick to show me his backyard bird book so I could try to identify all of the wonderful new Scottish birds. I would love to go back to Glencairn someday.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room upstairs with the private bathroom and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We think it would be impossible to say enough good things about Glencairn House.
The house is beautiful and immaculate, the breakfast is delicious and the area is wonderful but beyond that, Ruth and Gary are such wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome. There is not one aspect overlooked (there are lovely bath salts in the bathroom and tea & coffee making facilities in the bedroom) and we could not recommend this b&b enough. We will most definitely be back to this wonderful part of Scotland and Glencairn House.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glencairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn House

Address: Glencairn House, Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Morar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A detached property set in 35 acres of land located on the Road To The Isles mid-way between Mallaig and Arisaig. Three en-suite rooms - one king-size double with private balcony, one standard twin/double/triple and one standard double room. A wide breakfast selection with traditional Scottish foods, local specialities or a continental option. Free-range eggs from our own hens and home baking available. Dogs welcome. Free parking. Free high-speed Wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn House Morar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencairn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.