We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We have just spent 3 nights at Balsporran, and despite the harsh weather ,we had a lovely time ,great B&B ,lovely hostsand amazing location.We heard and felt the trains go past, while being cosy in our well set up room.....We will return....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

It's out a bit in the middle of nothing, the closest wee town being Dalwhinnie, so one needs a reason to come here, like climbing a particular Munro. But the B&B is lovely, the owners are obliging, and all the rooms are en suite.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I stay here for 2 nights and it was great. Ann and Phil were great hosts, we stayed up the first night chatting. We did some traveling the following day and the location was a great half way point to our desitnation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed here, probably the same night as the previous reviewer, with my young son and a family relative, who had stayed here before on a few occasions. It was on his recomendation that we stayed here, on our way up to Durness, and what a recomendation!

It is a snall (4 bedroom) B&B in an absolutley stunning location. The views out of the guest lounge (which is both ample and very comfortable) are breathtaking and the hosts are very lucky indeed to live here.

It is just off the A9, but far enough away so that traffic noise is not an issue. It is also very close to the railway line, in fact our bedroom was probably the closest one to it, and I agree with the previous reviewer, this just adds to the charm and character of the experience. My son was very excited everytime a train went by, which wasn't too often, and I think the last train was at 22.00 and the first one in the morning was 07.30 ish, so it wasn't intrusive at all.

We enjoyed our stay so much we stopped over on our way back from Durness. We were made to feel very welcome.

The food was great. They make a lovey venison (Stalkers) pie, and I enjoyed haggis on our return visit.

I enjoyed the stay so much I was prompted to write ths, my very first review on Trip Advisor, and I would not hestitate to recomend the Balsporran to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annBalsporranB_b, owner at Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2009
Thanks for your comments Shane. Hope to see you next time you're in Scotland. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

My husband and I only stopped one night but were absolutely delighted with the cottage and the scenery was spectacular. What on earth the last reviewer was on about I don't know.......yes it is near to a major road but not near enough for it to spoil your stay. The noise from the road was minute and when you were in the cottage you could hear absolutely nothing and yes it does shake a little when the train goes by but so what it just adds to the quirkyness of the place. We went on to stop in a 5* b and b after this which wasn't a patch on Balsporran. Rooms were lovely and the breakfast was just the ticket for somebody who was cycling 90 miles!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annBalsporranB_b, owner at Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
Thanks Vicki for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Balsporran Cottage is a nice place but unfortunately it is stuck between the main road (A1) to Perth (with lots of trucks) and the train tracks right next to it, just under its windows. The house actually shivers when the trains pass. Unfortunately, that information was not apparent neither on their website nor on that of the Scottish tourism board or in the accomodation guide.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Set high up in pass near Dalwhinnie here you can enjoy quiet, a good breakfast, lunch and dinner if you like. Friendly hosts, good local walking, great guests lounge with a fire and excellent bedrooms too. They have an attic double which is very good value at £50, great view out the roof window.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.