We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalwhinnie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Homely and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Really nice stay with Ann & Phil, great to arrive to find the drive cleared of fresh snow, have passed this place umpteen times and wanted to stay!
It was well worth the wait, warming welcome, roaring fire, comfy room and a breakfast to die for!
Thank you
Andy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed with 3 other friends in January 2014 for a night as part of a weekend hillwalking trip. I've driven past the B+B a number of times in the past and always wondered what it was like, so we decided to book in as it's right on the doorstep of a number of Munros. We weren't disappointed. Ann and Phil were friendly and welcoming, the B+B itself was originally 3 railway worker cottages, very warm and comfy and with a great lounge area. Even has good speed wifi... As well as an excellent breakfast they do a dinner option as well (book in advance) which is strongly recommended as it's 4 miles to the nearest population centre. BYO. In summary, would love to return, possibly with the family this time.

Room Tip: It only sleeps 6 maximum and all rooms are well soundproofed so you don't need to worry about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have stayed here twice. Once at the end of the third day of cycling Lands End to John O Groats, and once when walking the hills in that part of the world. This place is on the A9, but set back a long way from the road. It's just about at the highest point of the pass from Stirling to Inverness, so downhill all the way to Inverness if you're on a bike!
The owners are very accommodating, and had no issue with me arriving at 10pm and leaving at 6am - the left all the breakfast stuff either out or in the fridge. Even put my bike inside in the entrance hall so I'd have no hassle in the morning.
Second stay I had the evening meal which was fantastic real home cooked food. Large lounge with lovely fire and TV. Nice en-suit rooms (I stayed in a twin room). Great value.
Recommend to anyone, but especially cyclists.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We has always wanted to stay at the Balsporran when driving past on the A9 and we were not disappointed. Very shortly after booking on a generic website the owner contacted me to advise that evening meals could be provided, which was excellent as I would have assumed being a B&B they were not and would have missed out on a delicious home cooked meal around a country kitchen table with other guests. The location is very remote therefore it is a complete break and very relaxing. The owners were extremely welcoming and have made a lovely home in a beautiful location. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Friendly welcome, spacious room, cozy sitting area, nice freshly cooked breakfast.
We arrived at 7pm and have been very pleased to could have evening dinner witch was very tasty.
In front of the house there is a little bourn and on the side of it the owners makes a veru cosy corner. We loved it .
Highly recommended

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 4 colleagues stayed for one night whilst cycling Inverness to Glasgow. We couldn't fault the location or the place itself. The owners were lovely, the food brilliant and the views fantastic it was also directly on the Sustrans route.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've stayed on two occasions as an over night stop on our journey from the Midlands to the north coast of Scotland.

The owners are friendly and welcoming, just what you need after a long journey. The accommodation is comfortable, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was very tasty.

As Balsporran Cottage is close to the A9 there is no need to divert off route if you are in the middle of a longer journey. The central position approximately half way between Perth and Inverness means that it is well located if you wish to explore the local and wider area.

We certainly plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.