We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed on the 15th July 2013.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
Crieff, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stayed on the 15th July 2013.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Thank you for the lovely stay with a nice freshly cooked breakfast and I like the extra like putting squash in the room(great when its hot!!!).Maybe next time I will try a cooked evening meal. Glad I cycled from Kingussie to Pitlochry as leaving your bed and breakfast ITS ALL DOWN HILL (great fun)

Room Tip: Just yards from the number 7 cycle route ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annBalsporranB_b, Owner at Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks for your review Shaun, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.. We've had orange squash in our rooms for a number of years now, a lot of people don't drink tea or coffee and like you say its great when its hot.
You had wonderful weather or your ride to Pitlochry, it's certainly a lovely ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in and asked for a coffee, offering to pay. The female owner said no bit her husband made is coffee. After we finished we took our cups in and offered £10 for the three drinks. The female tool the money but her facial expressions were really hostile. We asked to use the toilet and she agreed with poor grace. As we waited to use the toilet the silence was awkward so we tried to engage in conversation. I can honestly say nobody has ever been that openly rude and hostile to me. She also said. When we enquired, that they do evening meals for guests but she didn't like it when people ask as its hassle. I can understand why they found our request unconventional but they could have turned us down politely. Having chosen not to do so, they should have offered us change from the £10 and having accepted it, they shod at least have been civil . I would not stay in a place where I had been treated so poorly. My friends and I are spreading the word.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annBalsporranB_b, Owner at Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I'm sorry you thought I was rude when you randomly knocked on the door and asked for coffees.I said no but the person at the door said something like " we'd really, really love a coffee before we go up the hill " So my husband made some.
When money was offered for the coffees it was phrased in such a way that I thought change wasn't wanted or I would have given it.
I didn't say that it was a hassle to cook for guests in the evening, that is part of what we do !
but I did say that it was a hassle when passing strangers knock on the door wanting drinks or the toilet at all times of day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great location for hill-walking, especially when you can set off suitable fuelled up with tasty breakfast and come off the hill to a delicious dinner. Nice residents's sitting room for relaxing in and very welcoming owners. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnesswood
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my last night on a 12 day 720 mile cycle tour. Although I arrived early this was not a problem and was made most welcome. Food is cooked to order and great. I left the following morning very well rested and fed. My hosts were very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation recommending this overnight to other cyclists.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just shy of a week over Easter. It was a very handy base for exploring the Highlands and we totally fell in love with every vista that greeted us around every turn. The bed was comfy, the cooked breakfast warming and filling and a great start to the day. Dalwhinnie's charm is its isolation, it truly is remote and this was a great central base for exploring. If, however, the A9 is closed due to weather conditions then you will be stuck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was so pleased with my choice. It took some searching for an overnight stop and I couldn't believe my luck in finding this gem of a B & B where you can also have a home cooked evening meal. My room was small but so, so comfortable and I slept really well. The lounge is a very pleasant room where you can sit by the fire to read or chat to other guests. The only problem I had with the little trains was that they passed too quickly for me to grab a camera and take a photo! I felt very much at home here as the owners were very kind and welcoming. I will definitely stay here again when I go up north and have passed the details on to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have passed this B&B several times on route south from Inverness and have always thought what a stunning location, within easy access of the A9 sitting within walking distance of several munros surrounded by heather moors.
I stayed for a night in April and was not disappointed ..... excellent hosts, comfortable bedroom and guest lounge with stunning views. My bedroom was classed as a single but the bed was 3/4 size and extremely comfortable. My cosy room offered a selection of books, as well as the usual tea and coffee I found mineral water and orange to dilute. I couldn't hear any traffic noise and only heard two trains passing one around 10.00pm and the next the following morning.The ensuite toilet and shower room was small but big enough for a single traveller, maybe not if a six foot male though!
The breakfast was delicious, I'm not a great sausage fan but I must admit the venison sausages were pretty tasty! Although I did not have an evening meal I studied the menu and it looked quite impressive. Just wish I could have stayed longer .....mental note made .... next time bring my husband , arrive a little earlier and enjoy an evening meal there too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.