We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable B&B with delicious food in gorgeous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Tingo.com
and 3 more sites!
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable B&B with delicious food in gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great location for hill-walking, especially when you can set off suitable fuelled up with tasty breakfast and come off the hill to a delicious dinner. Nice residents's sitting room for relaxing in and very welcoming owners. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kinnesswood
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my last night on a 12 day 720 mile cycle tour. Although I arrived early this was not a problem and was made most welcome. Food is cooked to order and great. I left the following morning very well rested and fed. My hosts were very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation recommending this overnight to other cyclists.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just shy of a week over Easter. It was a very handy base for exploring the Highlands and we totally fell in love with every vista that greeted us around every turn. The bed was comfy, the cooked breakfast warming and filling and a great start to the day. Dalwhinnie's charm is its isolation, it truly is remote and this was a great central base for exploring. If, however, the A9 is closed due to weather conditions then you will be stuck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was so pleased with my choice. It took some searching for an overnight stop and I couldn't believe my luck in finding this gem of a B & B where you can also have a home cooked evening meal. My room was small but so, so comfortable and I slept really well. The lounge is a very pleasant room where you can sit by the fire to read or chat to other guests. The only problem I had with the little trains was that they passed too quickly for me to grab a camera and take a photo! I felt very much at home here as the owners were very kind and welcoming. I will definitely stay here again when I go up north and have passed the details on to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have passed this B&B several times on route south from Inverness and have always thought what a stunning location, within easy access of the A9 sitting within walking distance of several munros surrounded by heather moors.
I stayed for a night in April and was not disappointed ..... excellent hosts, comfortable bedroom and guest lounge with stunning views. My bedroom was classed as a single but the bed was 3/4 size and extremely comfortable. My cosy room offered a selection of books, as well as the usual tea and coffee I found mineral water and orange to dilute. I couldn't hear any traffic noise and only heard two trains passing one around 10.00pm and the next the following morning.The ensuite toilet and shower room was small but big enough for a single traveller, maybe not if a six foot male though!
The breakfast was delicious, I'm not a great sausage fan but I must admit the venison sausages were pretty tasty! Although I did not have an evening meal I studied the menu and it looked quite impressive. Just wish I could have stayed longer .....mental note made .... next time bring my husband , arrive a little earlier and enjoy an evening meal there too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Second time I've stayed here when doing grouse pointing at Drumochter and as it's smack bang next to the estate, you couldn't get a better location. This time I had my husband as well as our two GSPs in tow. It's a lovely, comfortable house right next to the railway track which adds to the charm. Ann and Phil are really easy going and didn't mind the dogs having a good sniff around (including at the bird cage....). They had a roaring log fire going in the guest lounge which was super and they have Wifi so you can check emails etc. We had dinner which was generous portions and very tasty, It's BYO for any booze. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here yet again ! It's a great location ,love being so near railway line .What fantastic views too .Great hosts as ever ....we will be back .....Good value .Cosy bedrooms ,we've stayed in them all I think ...Relaxing time ,tasty breakfast .I cannot say anything negative at all ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list