We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here yet again ! It's a great location ,love being so near railway line .What fantastic views too .Great hosts as ever ....we will be back .....Good value .Cosy bedrooms ,we've stayed in them all I think ...Relaxing time ,tasty breakfast .I cannot say anything negative at all ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I based myself here for eight days to walk the hills and try some off-road biking. Hosts Phil and Ann are keen cyclists and can give lots of useful tips. The B&B is right up against the main railway line with its own footpath level crossing leading straight out to four Munros - but you're never disturbed by the few trains that pass, nor by the busy A9. Balsporran is about a close as you can get to the centre of Scotland, so it's not far to drive round to Lochaber and Fort William, up to Aviemore and the Cairngorm summits, down to Pitlochry and the Perthshire hills, or the Monadhliath Mountains. The B&B is very comfortable, quiet, and well equipped with a guests' lounge and good rooms. Stay here!

Room Tip: Four rooms - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As you travel along the A9 through the Drumochter Pass, you can see a small, isolated row of cottages from a long way back, set against the beautiful backdrop of the Scottish landscape. Its position on the A9 means that it is very accessible, unless the road is blocked during heavy snowfall.

Please be warned that if you are using a sat-nav, their postal code will not show you where the B&B is since it is shared with the village itself. The B&B itself is a few miles south of the village of Dalwhinnie Village and is on the A9 road and therefore a car is essential. Rail travellers note that Dalwhinnie station is a very long way from the B&B.

Run by a very attentive and dedicated English couple, we were made to feel at home from the very start. The guest lounge was very cosy with a wood burning stove to warm up next to. At the top of the grand staircase, is the room which was en-suite. The bed was comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there and what a view to wake up to. The bathroom was rather small and unheated, but that is about all the criticism I could give.

Breakfast was exactly what a good cooked breakfast should be. Tasty, satisfying and filling. The dining area is tastefully decorated and that fabulous view of the Drumochter Pass can be enjoyed as you eat your food and the wild chaffinches eat their breakfast from the bird-feeders outside. Being so remote, it is a long way to any restaurants and evening meals are offered. There are a few choices, including the traditional haggis from their "local" butcher about 15 miles away. The evening meals were delicious and warming and I would recommend it so long as you can get back to the B&B by 7pm.

A lot of effort goes into running this facility, especially when it is necessary to get supplies in for the meals since the place is so remote. It isn't possible to just pop around the corner just because there aren't enough eggs. The hosts, Ann and Phil, are very friendly and a great source of advice for places to visit nearby. With today's high tech devices, it is a nice touch that WiFi is available which helped me greatly with planning the day ahead using an iPad.

So long as you have a car, this B&B is definitely a great place, perhaps with the best possible views you could ever wish to wake up to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A creative conversion of 3 cottages filled with interesting artifacts.Gracious hosts a comfortable living room to share with warming fire. Great hiking right out of the front door. What more could one ask for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Balsporran became our point of reference for all the other B&Bs we stayed at during our one month adventure in the Highlands and the Islands. Lying in splendid isolation between beautiful heather clad hills, a tinkling stream sparkling its way to the river just outside, this 18th century converted soldiers lodgings felt like home away from home. We slept in beds hand crafted by our host, sat in a lovely and very personally decorated sitting room where a fire was lit for our pleasure, ate in the cozy kitchen with our hosts working together to make us delicious breakfasts (with home made jams) or dinners. We walked in the purple hills and simply thrived. Don´t miss a tour of the Dalwhinnie distillery just a few miles down the road. It added its touch to the lovely magic of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon, for a weekend stopover on our way to the islands. Our room was very comfortable and had a fantastic view.
Ann and Phil made us very welcome,Ann was a good help in suggesting a walk up the hills suitable for our abilities.
We had breakfast and dinner both days, good choice of menu, very well cooked.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Phil and Ann when we stayed after a day in the hills. We turned up about 5.30pm and were shown to our room. They have evening & breakfast menus in the rooms and we needed to get our evening order in by 6pm so we quickly selected our choices before washing up and recovering. The room had Sky tv and a very comfortable bed. We went down for our evening meal which meant sitting at a kitchen table with the other guests which was nice and meant we all got talking about our days. Good food - home made chips to die for! Starters, mains and dessert. All really good and filling.
After a very good nights sleep we were looking forward to breakfast which didn't disappoint. Even the fry up looked healthy! A great start to the day and didn't feel rushed out. A lovely converted cottage. Would definitely stay again as it's a great location for several hill walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwhinnie
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
23.6 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
13.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
15.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, R...
Show More
14.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#4 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
15.8 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Spa, Mid-range...
Show More
26.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.