We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
A836 | Mey, Mey KW14 8XH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mey B&B and Inns
Cupar, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hawthorns for just a single night and wished we had more time to enjoy this lovely house & location. The room was impeccably furnished, breakfast delicious, and a warm and friendly host. She was more than accommodating to our late arrival and 2 dogs who were traveling with us. The bathroom was stocked with soft towels and extra toiletries and she had made us incredibly tasty homemade shortbread to go with a wide selection of teas and coffee. The house is not situated in an ideal configuration as it sits right on the main road. Parking was ample and the views of the countryside to the southwest.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Holly, but all the rooms are large, bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
68
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I can't praise this accommodation enough. We were Three motor bikers who had been in the rain for ten hours, wet through is a under statement. Theresa and Becca could not do enough for us. It is a beautiful home, wonderful food and great people. You would be foolish not to book this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we had 5 days at this first class guest house of Teresa Andy Beccy & Tom , what a lovely helpful friendly family they are , top notch food so relaxing beautiful views & in a ideal spot between John O Groats, Thurso,Dunnet Head, Castle Mae & Duncansby Head (STACKS) We cant wait to go back please please visit & find out for yourself xx

Room Tip: nice peacefull , stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in Sept 2012. Teresa was very helpful with practical advice on things to do and places to go in this area in and around John o'Groats. Its a beautiful B&B with generous sized rooms and ensuites. There is plenty of off street parking. The breakfasts were delicious. I cant add anything to what has already been written about this B&B just know its all true.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

So much thought and detail has been put into the running of The Hawthorns. The welcome we received, the comfort, cleanliness and delicious food are all very much appreciated. We would recommend this pleasant house with its lovely views of Dunnet Head to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: Room with view of Dunnet Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Teresa and her husband. We only spent 2 nights but would have loved to have stayed longer. We could not fault it and will be telling all our friends who want to visit the Castle of Mey or Jon O'Groats .
Lovely rooms with everything you could possible need, delicious breakfast, easy parking and great views from all the rooms. Such a shame that on our trip round Scotland we did not find another one as good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hawthorns with Teresa for four nights. Everything was perfect, breakfasts, our room and facilities, very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with little extras, free wi-fi, mini fridge with jug of milk, homemade shortbreads everyday with the tea tray, jar of teabags and jar of coffee plus choice of other drinks on the tray. The view from our room was beautiful. Isla, Meg and Whisky ( the dogs), greeted us each day. Whisky was our little favourite. In the bedroom was also a choice of watching tv or dvd, and a large selection of books and magazines to read. If we get the chance to visit near Thurso again we will definitely stay at Hawthorns, we miss you already Teresa!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast

Address: A836 | Mey, Mey KW14 8XH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Mey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mey
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.