We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean bright and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwick Road, Little Sutton CH66 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean bright and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked this hotel via a KGB voucher as we thought it was excellent value for money,it was all inclusive. We wanted a hotel close to Chester and this was about 15 min drive from the city center,it is also a good base for exploring north wales,the Wirral peninsular or Liverpool. The hotel is very modern with good facilities. The bedroom was clean and bright with the usual facilities you would expect from a modern hotel. The one downside was the traffic noise which was quite loud from the busy main road,it was a warm night and we had to leave the window open as there is no air conditioning in the room.
The food in the restaurant was good especially the breakfast which had very good quality ingredients. All the staff were very friendly especially the 2 girls behind the bar, although they had to keep helping out in the restaurant so service was sometimes a little slow, I think it would be better to have someone behind the bar at all times. The lady who served us in the restaurant in the evening was very attentive and very quick to keep our wine glasses filled, and the couple who served us breakfast were also very good, in fact the gentleman,sorry I forgot his name, was like a human sat nav if you wanted any information or directions to many of the local attractions he was more than happy to give some very good advice.
The hotel also has a gym and a swimming pool,neither of which I used, so I can't comment on them. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if we wanted a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your reveiw, I am glad you enjoyed your stay

Kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    237
    113
    48
    39
See reviews for
95
308
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked an inclusive break for a weekend in May. After a fraught journey on the M5 and M6, we were warmed greeted by Matt on reception. The room was very good – a long walk from reception – but it was on a corner and thus had two windows, giving us differing views. The bed was huge and comfortable, though personally we could always do with firmer pillows. The bathroom, too, was clean and of excellent quality. There was a good range of options for the evening meal and the waitressing staff were very attentive. Breakfast also was good. The first morning I asked for soya milk which they did not have, and then I asked if they could get some in for me the next morning. I wasn’t very hopeful judging by the look on the young waitress’s face but, sure enough, it was there the next day. The wifi signal was poor in our room but OK in the restaurant and lounge – apparently they had been experiencing problems, and apologised in advance when we checked in. The hotel is in a good location, between Chester and Liverpool, and I would gladly go back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words we look forward to welcoming you back

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend and the food and the staff were lovely at the hotel, however the cleanliness lacked slightly in the hotel rooms and corridors. Breakfast was filling each morning but don't leave it until breakfast is nearly finished to go down otherwise things have sat for a while.

Room Tip: If you have a taste card they accept it here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Many thanks for your reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked a twin room for the May bank holiday weekend, for a leisure trip.
The room was cramped, overlooking the roof over the kitchen. Airconditioning unit over the kitchen droned on till after 10pm and started again at about 6am.

There was a strange smell in the bathroom - a combination of drains and swimming pool chlorine, as far as we could tell.

The shower was tepid, at best, and with poor flow.

But top of the negative list has to be duvets that did not cover the width of the beds - even before anyone got into them.

We decided not to stay in the hotel for drinks and food. A loud and foul-mouthed trio seated at the bar was off-putting and the dining room simply did not look inviting.

Yes, we complained and the staff bent over backwards to try and put things right. We were moved to another - double - room, which was larger and pretty much OK. We were also given a bottle of rather good white wine to share.

Thanks, guys, but the people above you - especially those who dictate that small duvets are fine - let you down.

No, I shall not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't accept room 212 or those either side of it. Photos will follow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady called Jodie at reception when we arrived and she provided excellent service.
The evening meal was quite an experience, the staff seemed rather unsure of what they were doing and there were a few mistakes when ordering our wine. There was a slight feeling of if you asked for anything you were being a bit of a nuisance from some staff in the restaurant and bar, with the exception of one young lady and Pritak, who were very friendly. The food was very good although breakfast was a little cold.
The leisure facilities are somewhat run down with the pool not smelling too clean and the whole section in desperate need of refurbishment.
One evening in the bar we could hear one of the barmaids complaining about not knowing what the wine was and arguing with her colleagues, seemingly complaining about having to do some work! The same girl provided rather awful service at dinner that evening to our table and did not smile once when she served us our food.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable and were cleaned to a high standard by the housekeeping staff each day.
When we checked out the young lady on reception was very disinterested in how our stay was and barely acknowledged us leaving!
Overall the hotel is fine for the price and is not too far from Chester if driving, however I feel some of the staff could do with more training on basic customer service and seeming like they care about their work and customers!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Many thanks for your reveiw please accept my apologies regarding the poor staff attitude, not the usual comments we receive on the team which is disapointing and not accepted ! the individual has been spoken to.

Kind regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just back from 3 nights in the Woodhey. We have stayed many times before but this time Stayed on an all inclusive deal. The staff are very helpful especially the restaurant staff Ken and his wife on morning duty. Room was large and clean with a good bathroom , comfortable large bed. Food was good in the evening, and the free wine and beer welcome!! We would recommend this hotel and the all inclusive deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in 313. No road noise, minor internal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road, Little Sutton CH66 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.