We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berwick Road, Little Sutton CH66 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for visiting Liverpool, Chester and North Wales. The double room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast and evening meal were well prepared and fairly priced. The evening meal was good but did not produce what was on the tin/menu. The smooth Patti was rough and we had to return it for a second choice.There were no flat mushrooms or tomato to accompany the beefburger and the hand cut chips were french fries. We also asked for Ceaser Salad without Anchovies but they still arrived with the salad and again this had to be returned. Having said this the duty manager was excellent and listened to our complaint and sorted it out very quickly which was to her credit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am delighted that overall you were pleased with the hotel and I have discussed your comments with regards to dinner with the team. Whilst your experience is not reflective of the high standards in which we pride ourselves at the hotel, we take all our guest comments very seriously and I have addressed these with our kitchen and service brigade.

Thank you again for your valued comments

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    221
    112
    47
    36
See reviews for
92
288
15
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife & I and a couple of friends stayed here for a very cheap weekend in November 2012. The incredibly cheap rate included breakfast and honestly for the money there was nothing to complain about. The staff especially were great and they gave us good advice on local pubs, restaurants & travel (to Liverpool by train).

Would definitely stay here again on a bargain rate but wouldn't choose over other local hotels such as the Macdonald Craxton Wood if the price wasn't significantly cheaper. Downsides to the Mercure are the lack of air con in the bedrooms and the lack of natural light in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
May I take the opportunity of thanking you for your comments in relation to your stay with us here at the Mercure Chester North Hotel. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback and your comments will be passed on to the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely clean hotel nice service nice room nice food Spent a lovely weekend there last week Room and bathroom very clean and fresh. Excellent food and service in restaurant All members of staff very helpful and friendly. If I had to pick one think to change, it would be the constant showing of sky sports 2 in the bar lounge, Well worth a visit and at £100 each all inclusive for two nights excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at the Mercure Chester North. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked double room on day of arrival through Accor web site chose this hotel as they had double room available. Shortly after booking the hotel telephoned to say they only had twin room available - blaming "head office" for not updating web site. Offer of "free cancellation" was rejected as we needed a room for the night. (Was finally given free breakfast as compensation after little negotiation.)
Room was clean, looked like door had been kicked in with damage round lock only poorly repaired, temperature control valve head had been removed from radiator so I just turned the radiator off completely using isolating valve at other end (as usual room overheated anyway). Room noisy from some fan near by so used ear plugs for good nights sleep on comfortable bed. I got the impression that this was the room they use only when full.
WiFi reception not available in room and TV reception on some channels poor.
Restaurant food generally acceptable except main course vegetable which was bubble and squeak using recycled vegetables under posh name. When I asked for a wine list I was asked "Why - are you paying for your own dinner?". It seems that those on inclusive rate only get option of house wine as we were not on this package I was finally allowed to see wine list and had good bottle of wine at reasonable price. Apart from wine waiter the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for feedback in relation to your recent visit to the Mercure Chester North, whilst your experience is not reflective of the high standards in which we pride ourselves at the hotel, we take all our guest comments very seriously.

I have addressed these with our team and we have reviewed our procedures to ensure that any such incidents do not reoccur in the future.

Thank you again for your valued comments

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stay here for 3 nights visiting family and catching up with friends. We were greeted at reception by a friendly face and were checked in swiftly. The room was of good size and bathroom modern, tea/coffee facilities in room and a nice comfy mattress and room was cleaned everyday by a nice young lady. We ate in the restaurant that evening as we were tired; we ordered belly pork which went down a treat and my husband had steak which was cooked to his liking. Breakfast was buffet style and was lovely, the service in the hotel was excellent, nothing was to much trouble and all the staff were friendly. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your most kind comments about the Mercure Chester North and our team, all of which I have passed on. It is always wonderful to receive such pleasing feedback as positive comments always travel slower than negative ones.

I do hope that you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

on check in team where fantastic, made us feel right at home, a great warm place to stay loved every minute in the spa area , nice to relax and be pampered. a little gem hidden away just outer Chester, 1st time stay at the hotel and will defo return in the near future !!!

great place to be when away from home :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I would just like to take this opportunity to thank you for your nice comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My son and I stayed at this hotel over Christmas, and we found the experience miserable. Christmas dinner was revolting, buffet food was dire, the mulled wine was over boiled and made my son sick the following morning. We had to eat out each day, although breakfast was good. Sadly the staff were dismissive of our complaints. The entertainment as promised did not occur. We would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies.

As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly with the team to enable us to evolve and improve where we can.

Please do contact me directly if there is anything I can assist with further.

Kind regards

Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road, Little Sutton CH66 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.