We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pot

Golden Pot
Reading Road | Eversley, Eversley, Hook RG27 0NB, England
+44 118 973 2104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Eversley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Privately owned Free-house under new ownership since May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with daily specials on fish dishes (fresh fish delivered every day) and creative foods sourced from local suppliers wherever possible. Lovely 150 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs and group bookings welcome. Outdoor seating area available. Car park at the front and rear.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly & accommodating staff. Great food & good selection of beers & wine. Very cosy & friendly atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    46
    20
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Scrummy steak !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Dropped in with a friend for dinner and as ever were given a warm welcome by John and the staff. My friend and I both had the fillet steak - it was cooked to perfection ! The restaurant was quite busy and had a good lively buzz about it.
Im a regular visitor but I would highly recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superlicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came over to the UK from Switzerland for 2 days and we stayed at the Kingsley at Eversley B&B 100m away. They recommended the Golden Pot, and what a choice!!! We arrived quite late on a Thursday evening at approx. 2100, but we were warmly welcomed by John, the owner, and his team. My children (aged 12 and 9) loved their kids meal, and my wife and I had some fantastic duck rolls, and a great meal. The atmosphere is so welcoming and John was very attentive. He has worked in various premier hotels all over the world, and this clearly shows in the way he runs this pub - the service is second to none. It was so good we went back again the following night!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universe1
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A great impromptu evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided on the spare of the moment to dine out and decided to go to the Golden Pot. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome and were offered drinks at the bar before being shown our table. The menu offered a wide choice of "pub favourites" as well as some more "unusual" dishes. Overall the food was great and the team were very accommodating to our request(s) to change some elements of the dishes. The service was efficient and friendly and there was a great "buzz" to the place on what was a busy week day evening. Definitely worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Glad for the change of heart.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were actually on our way to a local Indian restaurant when we spotted this nice looking country pub en route and decided on a change of plan. Upon arrival we were met by John the owner who offered to take our coats and asked if we had booked a table. Always a good sign if you haven't and they go out of their way to accommodate you. The bar has a fantastic selection of beers and wines of which John was noticeably very knowledgeable. We were surrounded with special menu boards detailing the various offerings that day. I have to say the food was second to none and, when next in the area, will not hesitate to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Pot also viewed

Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 

Been to Golden Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.