We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View of the house from the front garden
View of the house from the front garden
View of the house from the front garden
View of the house from the front
Sunny day
View of the house from the side
Living room
Cadnam
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TillyBath
Bath
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“PERFECT RETREAT, IN A PERFECT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This is a beautiful cottage, so homely and cosy within easy reach of the local shop and 2 great restaurants. Lovely walks from the cottage, a good find.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not enough time spent, will improve on that next time.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Butterup
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic holiday base and home from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage was a fantastic base to get to places for day trips , 15 mins from Southampton and 40 mins from Poole and Sandbanks. It was really well equipped, with everything that a family needs and the added bonus of wifi and sky tv was a treat. The 2 bathrooms were useful too. Catherine and Chris were helpful and welcoming and the arrival provisions a lovely extra touch.
We would definately recommend Forest Syde to friends and family and visit again ourselves.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2013
Thanks very much Jo for the lovely review it maakes all the hard work to get the cottage satisfactory for most people

kind regards

Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Geert A
Hoeilaart, Belgium
1 review
“Spacious, well equipped, well located and charming cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My brother and I spent a week with 3 teenage sons in the cottage which was just perfect for us. Forest Syde Cottage is very spacious, very well equipped and also very well located to discover the area which has many interesting places to discover. It offers both the charm of a traditional cottage and every modern day comfort you could expect. The cottage was also spotlessly clean! On the day of our arrival, we were welcomed by the very friendly owner Catherine and her son who had kindly placed quite a bit of goodies in the fridge to get us started. This is definitely a holiday home I would recommend.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The whole package was just great.
Liked least: The only slight minor point I could mention was some road noise from the main road nearby.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jenny H
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday experience for us all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Forest Syde cottage totally exceeded our expectations of what a holiday cottage should be. We have never stayed in such a well equipped cottage. The stair gate, highchair, travel cot and washing machine were really appreciated as we have a toddler. Our four year old loved exploring the cottage and garden. The enclosed back garden was beautiful for us all to enjoy, with a summer house and decked area. The fridge was stocked with essentials on our arrival and we had everything we needed to make our holiday perfect. It was a home away from home. The sky tv and wifi were nice for relaxing in the evenings when the kids were in bed after a busy day
It was in a perfect location for us to do all we had planned and the wonderful weather was an added bonus! It is a lovely cottage for families with children and i hope many more families enjoy it as much as we all did.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: all the thought that had gone into making the cottage so comfortable. I loved the bathrooms!
Liked least: Was a little worried about open front garden, as we have young children, but owners did warn us about letting children run around out there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ian C
USA
1 review
“Welcoming cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Cottage is very well positioned for easy access to Southampton (15mins), Romsey(15 mins), Winchester(20 mins), Bournemouth(20 mins) and the New Forest(1 min).
3 good size bedrooms and a large family-sized bathroom. Ideal cottage and location for those with young children. For us 'older' children the SkyTV and Wi-Fi were just what we needed!
Catherine was very helpful during both the booking process and our stay. Thanks Catherine, we had a great time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Road noise, and would prefer better lighting in kitchen and bathroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kerry b
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gorgeous cottage in a brilliant location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful four day stay at Forest Syde. I travelled with my four children aged from 9 months to 11 years and we all had a fabulous time here.
The cottage was warm and welcoming with all mod cons and facilities.
The bathroom in particular was a hit with its amazing drench shower.
The enclosed garden was a big bonus for all the children, and me!
The cottage is ideally located for exploring the New Forest and Peppa Pig World (Paulton's Park). That was the main reason for our break and being only three miles away certainly made the day easier.
Catherine was there to welcome us and show us around, and left us with the keys and some much needed goodies.
I would recommend a stay here to anybody, you won't be disappointed.
Thank you Catherine x

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfortable cottage and the location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
alisonm90...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage had everything needed and was furnished to a very high standard. When we arrived the owner gave us a warm welcome and the open fire was most appreciated as it was very cold out! The cottage was very warm and cosy which was fab as it was an extremely cold week that we stayed, we even had snow despite it being April! The cottage was very well located with lots to do without having to drive very far, which was very handy as we had a little two year old to entertain! We had a fabulous week despite the freezing temperatures and I would highly recommend the cottage even to those with little ones.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$961
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Catherine J
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Apr 2012
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing