We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice of wedding venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bartley Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bartley Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Bartley Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park SO40 2NR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great choice of wedding venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I got married here August 2013, all the guests commented on how amazing the hotel was, and how grand it looked. Everyone who stayed at the hotel for the weekend found it to be pleasant and comfortable. The staff were on hands to make sure all our needs we're met, and overall myself and my husband were extremely happy with our choice of wedding venue. The bridal suite is lovely overlooking the grounds, with a four poster bed and a beautiful bathroom. The night before the wedding I stayed in a family room with my sister, which is where myself and all my bridesmaids got ready the morning of the wedding, the room was huge! Fit 6 of us in very comfortably! Id highly recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, General Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Zaaarrr

Thank you for taking the time to review Bartley Lodge after your wedding last year.

I will pass on your lovely feedback to the team and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Regards

Stuart Earp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    111
    42
    34
    20
See reviews for
110
164
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked one night stay at Bartley lodge for a romantic break with my wife. Hotel was the perfect setting the hotel/house is stunning and the grounds are magnificent. Warm friendly welcome on arrival by receptionist and the general manager came over and introduced himself and showed us to our rooms personally which was a nice touch. Room was amazing big four poster bed lovely stunning views of the grounds. Dinner was lovely very quick service which was nice as no long periods of waiting during courses. All staff are very attentive without being in your personally space all the time. A member of staff was always on hand you never had to look very far.rooms and hotel are very clean and comfortable. A fantastic stay thank you all very much can't wait to come again .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, General Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Nixonandrew

Thank you for taking the time to review Bartley Lodge following your recent visit. Thank you for your kind words which I will feed back to the team.

We look forward to your next visit

Regards Stuart Earp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just had afternoon tea at the Bartley Lodge Hotel which our son booked us for a birthday present and I can honestly say it was the worse afternoon tea we had ever had. The surroundings were lovely but the tea was terrible. The cakes still had the tin foil cases on them which we presume were all Mr. Kipling, nothing was home made except the three half rolls we had which had a little bit of ham and pickle, grated cheese and a dried up piece of cucumber and smoked salmon which was the only thing decent on the stand. We have never complained about anything before but sorry this was bad, we were too embarrassed to complain when we were there because there was a big table having lunch next to us who I'm sure thought the tea we had was bad. All a very embarrassing experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I am sorry to read of your disappointing afternoon tea at Bartley Lodge Hotel. The duty manager could have rectified this situation had you mentioned it at the time, however I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the general manager and head chef to investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton abbot
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Greeted on arrival by welcoming receptionist, room in old part of hotel, lovely 4 poster bed, very comfortable. Good selection of coffee and teas and biscuits provided. Lovely size bathroom with bath and shower. Nice pool but quite small. Excellent meal on the first evening and bar snack on second evening. Staff very attentive and nothing too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel and would love to visit again:).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stinchcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were a party of 22; six families with children and grandchildren. The booking arrangements were made so easy, thanks to the warm, friendly and efficient people at reception. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff were really excellent and I was so impressed by the quality of the food at dinner on Saturday night that I went into the kitchen to thank the chef personally. This was regardless of the fact that a wedding was also being catered for that evening. The rooms were spotless, warm and the beds so comfortable. We all commented on the quality of the breakfast - so tasty and such a good range on the menu. We were made to feel special, even though we must have been difficult to cater for, being such a large group for two days.

The staff were very patient with the toddlers and arrangements for eating times were all catered for. The well maintained pool was a big attraction and made all the difference on such a wet weekend. The hotel is well positioned for walks directly into the New Forest without having to use a car and there is lots to do in the surrounding area.

As well as all staff thank you in particular to Chef, the Head Waiter, Manager and Deputy manager Tom for their care, consideration and dedication to their jobs. We are already talking about coming back next year as a large group but also individually as families.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I Stayed in the Bartley Lodge 1st feb for 1 night we paid £130 with breakfast with Travel republic, upon driving up towards the hotel on the long driveway its beautiful and the appearances of the hotel (house) is also wonderful it is like something out of a Jane Austen novel lovely gardens for walking and a good location for the new forest.
The receptionist was pleasant we were told our room was 18 only to find it was at the very top floor we were very disappointed she didn’t show us the lifts as we had no help with our luggage we were going to a wedding so had more than usual for a night’s stay. When we opened the door we couldn’t believe it, our room, well, if you can call it that it was like a wardrobe we have never stayed in such a small room the bed was so small and had a very thin duet cover, ok in summer but because the room was not doubled glazed it was very cold and you could hear the wind whistling there was nowhere to put our luggage and the bathroom was also so small and dated no shelves to put our toiletries on and you could hear all the comings and goings of other residents late at night. Also the bright outside flood lights shining in your room was not good at all. Especially on my request before I arrived I asked for a good view in a very quiet position.
The hotel also asked you to check in at 2pm but they have no suitable lunch available for you to eat only sandwiches and chips, Breakfast the next day was good but service and staff where not organised I would prefer buffet services as we waited a rather long time for drinks, toast and croissants which I couldn’t understand as there was enough staff also think you shouldn’t have to pay a supplement for anything else you require. This room was properly the worst room to eat in it was very cold and dull looking and smelt quite musky.
The pool and sauna are lovely small so could get over crowded in high season and if you have mobility issues be careful of slope as you go in could really fall and bang yourself but it’s a bonus they have it.
Overall Sorry we would not return to this hotel as getting an average sleep while we are away is very important and we didn’t even get a wink.

Room Tip: Do not choose number 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with the room allocated for your recent stay at the Bartley Lodge Hotel. We do have 4 different room categories which allows our guests to upgrade if they wish. We do try to fulfil guest requests when allocating the rooms, however this is not always possible depending on availability. We only have a lift in the new wing of the building, however this does not service the rooms in the part of the building you were staying in. This said, the staff should offer to assist guests with luggage and I will ensure this comment is raised with the general manager.

We offer a full bar snacks menu which is available from 12pm – 2pm, offering soups, salads, sandwiches etc. I am sorry if you found this to be insufficient for your lunch requirements. We have recently reviewed our breakfast menu and this is now being offered to guests in our hotels.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed the weekend for a conference. All the staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel interior is beautiful, really atmospheric and cosy! All the facilities are close together and it definitely feels like a Country House rather than a Hotel. The gardens, despite the torrential rain were beautiful to walk in. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Agisters rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park SO40 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Cadnam
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartley Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.