We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue, poor hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bartley Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bartley Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Bartley Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park SO40 2NR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great wedding venue, poor hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Amazing wedding in all respects. Organisation, food, venue rooms, service etc. Cannot fault it. Thanks to those who organised, cooked and served us.
But, beware as per previous reviews:
-family rooms are excessively hot due to location and I would not stay here again for that reason (even with an industrial aircon machine chugging away which we requested)
- breakfast is poor for the price. Hot food very hit and miss ( eg pancakes uncooked to the point they were doughy and left uneaten), service inconsistent (ranging from good to chaotic and rude), organisation poor (people seated at tables not properly cleaned, small buffet table not replenished to point there was sometimes several items missing at anyone time)

Room Tip: Ensure you do not have hot room on pool side. Check size of room. Check location of room if there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    94
    34
    34
    20
See reviews for
89
123
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

£177 for a night in a sauna, way way to hot in the rooms, not just ours. It's nothing to do with the outside temperature it's because all the family rooms are over the pool. Fans and aircon did very little to help and the pumps or something came on outside at 6:30 so we were all woken up early. Dreadful night will never stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am sorry you found the room to be too hot, maintenance shall look into this as room 33 is not above the pool and therefore the heat from this should not have affected the temperate of the room and is unlikely to be the cause on this occasion. The pump noise is from the fan extraction unit and again will be looked at to see if this noise can be minimised. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The other day, my mum read the weather and saw for the next few days, it was going to be hot, hot, hot! So,she decided to book a one night stay at Bartley lodge with two day Paulton's park tickets.I,age 11,my brother,13 and my sister,3 traveled with our mum last Thursday and we managed to get there 15 minutes early! We noticed there was an additional turnstiles entrance to the park which had a very short queue. When it was our turn to enter, the ticket collector said we could get a refund for our sister as she was under one meter. This was my eighth time here and it was as always, PACKED!!! But we all enjoyed very much. When we got to the hotel, a friendly receptionist checked us into family room number 45 which i was pleasantly surprised by. There was a massive four poster, a single bed and a sofa bed. When we unpacked, we decided to go swimming in the pool. The pool was a bit small and sloped, but we all had a lot of fun. We ate in the bar, and the food was average, but yummy! My mum got an alright sleep in the sofa bed, but woke up several times worrying what time it was. In the morning , we went down for breakfast at around 9:00. When the food came, the waiter asked us if we wanted anything else and i asked for ketchup. But after a while, it didn't turn up. We all had a very good stay and would come again.

Room Tip: Book a family room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My partner and I booked Bartley Lodge for our Civil Partnership ceremony and celebrations on 17th August. We booked Bartley as its a hotel that we had been to before and fell in love with its charm, setting and the service.

The service provided by the team at Bartley on the run up to our special day was fantastic. Sam, the events manager, helped us with planning and did everything she could to accomodate our requests. She is not only a credit to Bartley but a credit to New Forest Hotels.

We couldn't of asked for anything more from the team at the hotel on the day its self. All of the staff were friendly and polite and did everything they could to help create a really relaxed atmosphere. The hotel looked amazing and the food served was great. The whole day exceeded our expectations which were very high.

Many thanks.

Room Tip: There is a relatively new wing at the hotel with superior rooms (this is where we stayed) Some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed Here last night, and stayed in Room 33, double with Bunk beds.... Negatives, Bath room slightly to small. food is slightly under Par, Thai Green Chicken curry flavourless, and the Pancakes at Breakfast were under done with flour balls, but I am a spice amateur cook, and my Partner is a semi pro baker, so we both understand those two products...and how hard it is to pull them off correctly and for everyone taste..But The Chips at Dinner were the best I have had anywhere! Staff at Checking and Breakfast were smart,polite and actually genuinely asking about your day, and sharing their day aswell. but overall Highly recommend this hotel as this is a little gem with great Location, great bar and restaurant but above all superb staff. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding. First impressions of the hotel and it's picturesque surroundings are favourable and it's very understandable why this venue was chosen for the ceremony and evening entertainment. However, the adage of never judge a book by it's cover certainly applies to this hotel. The room we stayed in was very small, the temperature of the room was too high with no air conditioning, the loo flush was very noisy and there was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom. Some of these gripes could have been overlooked if the pricing of the room was appropriate, but the price we paid certainly warranted a better quality room. The size of the room was never communicated to us prior to our visit, which could have made expectations more realistic and less surprising considering the price we paid.The worse part of our stay though was yet to come........breakfast!. The staff were friendly, but the service and organisation was very chaotic and poor. Incorrect orders arrived, not just for us, but for many other guests; guests who had arrived for breakfast several/many minutes after us got their food before we did. Some guests were served very quickly, whilst others had to wait an eternity. The restaurant was busy for breakfast, but some food items had to be requested several times before they were served. When it arrived and was what we had ordered, the breakfast itself was ok, but we have had better in less prestigious establishments. The stay could have been so much better if the staff were better organised and common sense practices prevailed (like serving breakfast in the order that the guests arrived, remembering what guests ordered, not having to wait so long, etc). It's a shame that we, and our friends, felt this way as the hotel is in a beautiful location and could easily warrant repeat stays if improvements are made and it didn't feel so overpriced. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do offer different room types which allows our guests to upgrade if preferred. I am sorry to hear you experienced slow breakfast service and will ensure the general manager implements further training where required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the 2nd time that my family and I have stayed at this hotel whilst visiting the New Forest. We first stayed for a week 2 years ago and enjoyed it so much we decided to return for another week this year. Ideally situated for family attractions and the Forest itself this place is an ideal location to explore and stay. Room was good, pool was fine and the food was very good. Whilst the bar often ran out of certain soft drinks and some drinks orders were overlooked the friendliness and concern of the staff more than made up for it. More of the family joined us for a night and Ellie, our waitress, looked after us in grand fashion. The grounds are lovely for the children. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All seem very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park SO40 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartley Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.