We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart - Cadnam

The White Hart - Cadnam
Old Romsey Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park SO40 2NP, England
023 80812277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Cadnam
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We went to the White Hart on Saturday night and got sat down in this beautiful room. The staff were polite and friendly and the menu had a good variety of food. Some of the dishes on the menu are standard pub grub, ham, egg and chips, burger but we went for something else.

Our server was this chap with black hair and blue shirt, lovely guy always smiling and joking around. My wife went for the venison and the fish pie was suggested as a good choice. Credit to the chefs the food was lovely. The portion size for venison was generous but the fish pie was OK, the quality of the food and service easily made up for the lack of food with the fish pie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    44
    25
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandlers Ford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice food, more attention to service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Came for dinner having not been here for a couple of years. I found the portions generous and there were no complaints about the food but the service was lacking. The staff were all very friendly and polite but seemed to miss the usual cues for their attention being needed.
On arrival we were seated quickly but had to wait a while for someone to come and take our drinks order. Then another long wait for someone to take out food order. The food took a while to come out but as previously stated it was all good sized portions and good quality. No check back to make sure all was well with our meals (thankfully it was) and then another wait for our plates to be cleared. Another wait for the offer of desserts and to order and then for the plates to be cleared and then we were totally abandoned! No offer for coffee's and eye contact was ignored so were unable to ask for our bill and just went to the bar to pay. At no point did anyone ask if everything had been ok and there seemed to be a general lack in customer service. We ate early evening and the place was not busy and there were several staff members so no excuse for this lack of attention to customers. A shame because this would make it a great place rather than just good. The food was it's saving grace.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Diet friendly pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good parking, newly refurbished interior, good quality pub food, friendly staff. But then I saw the size of the meal. OMG ! The diet has started. Had to stop at nearest tesco for emergency top up to get home. Price a bit stiff.
Oh and don't leave it too long for the toilet as it's upstairs?, small and I had to share the one and only sink and drier.
Overall nice pub but needs BIGGER portions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Having been recommended by friends we thought we would give the pub a try as we hadn't been there since the renovation.
Very pleasant as we walked in. Staff very friendly. Hadn't booked a table but asked for one for two and were quickly seated at a recently vacated one.
Choice of food was good and was reasonable but not to the standard expected for the price. We won't be in a hurry to return which is a shame with it being so local.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not in a hurry to go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Met friends for lunch. Menu looked inviting and moulles in cider was very nice but expensive at over £10 for very few mussels. One person had a steak sandwich which was underdone, watery and rather tough. The staff were pleasant enough but not very attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart - Cadnam also viewed

Cadnam, New Forest National Park
Cadnam, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The White Hart - Cadnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart - Cadnam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.