We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families not couples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Save
You added The White House to your Saves list
Beaumont Estate | Burfield Road, Old Windsor SL4 2JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Ightham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for families not couples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a lovely building in beautiful surroundings, however appeared very corporate and for families not good for us as a couple. Two weddings going on and no where to sit for coffee after meal due to weddings. Food reminded me of a holiday camp and too many children, great if i had my grandchildren with me!

Room Tip: Rooms in he whitehouse better for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I had a recent business dinner at the White House, which was really lovely. Dishes were excellent, and service was very good (although one of the waitresses sloshed a little wine on someone's jacket and didn't even notice). So overall a very pleasant evening.

The charm of the grounds, and this beautiful building turned to dismay once one realized that the Beaumount Hotel is far from the same standard. Such a let down.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel unless you really have no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I attended a dinner at the end of a course last week.

Staff attentiveness, dinner service & food were of a much higher quality than the Beaumont Estate hotel where we actually stayed.

I had a warm soup followed by pan fried chicken/vegetables, then fresh fruit salad. All courses were as described on the menu, tasty & well prepared.

Nice high ceiling private dining experience overlooking large & mature landscaped gardens. Recommended.

Room Tip: Very large area covered by the hotel. depends whether you want piece and quiet e.g. Room 93, 10 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly, south wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Belmonte. We were there for a family wedding which was lovely and a great time was had by all!! We were a bit aprehensive about our stay due to some of the reviews but we were really shocked at how poor some people rate this hotel.

The grounds are lovely and well worth having an explore ( even if it is -1 outside!! ). The room was large for the two us, maybe a little tired in places but clean!!

Breakfast was good usual buffet fare but lots to go around. All the staff were attentive and very polite.

The size of the hotel is a bit of a shock but you do get a map on check in to explain where everything is!!

Overall a pleasent stay the only thing that I would say was a bit annoying was the noise of overhead aircraft as you are close to Heathrow!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which over looks the white house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a suite in the White House - which was perfect for what we needed. The suite itself was well appointed, felt luxurious and spacious, was air-conditioned, was spotlessly clean and had an amazing bathroom. You get what you pay for.
The staff were attentive and as helpful as they could be, although the reception is quite a long way from the White House. But the phones in the room and corridors as helpful to call on staff if you need them.
The buffet breakfast in the White House was nothing special, but in a lovely airy room which was not too busy. If you can cope with the hoards and main hotel guests, the breakfast in the main restaurant has a much bigger selection and better quality food (perhaps nearer the kitchens, so fresher and hotter?).
All in all, it is worth splashing out if you can!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We attended a wedding fair with it being a possibility for a venue for a wedding.
From the moment on parking up,you knew this was a substandard Hotel.
The hotel rooms and corridors were old,filthy and the main part of the hotel was smelly.
Toilets were like something you would expect to find in a nightclub around 3-00am.
Staff were hard to find and were not trained in meeting&greeting.
I cannot comment on sleep quality or the rooms,but the function rooms,halls etc were awful.
This hotel best summed up is,An aging decaying 2 star poor mans conference centre,A major cash injection,refurb&change of management may just save the day...

Room Tip: Be prepared for long walks in this sprawling hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Windsor hotels

Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We booked this hotel as it looked beautiful and needed close proximity to Legoland. The Whitehouse is actually beautiful although we didn't actually stay in that part, unbeknown to us there was an ugly modern building set behind the grand beauty which was to become ours and many others' accommodation!
The hotel had two weddings going on when we arrived (one holding 400 guests) so this is not the place to stay if you are looking for a quiet escape. We attempted a bar meal that evening but there was no children's menu and the buffet in restaurant was £9.95 for kids! There is plenty of choice in Windsor of restaurants/cafes etc and I would recommend the 5 minute journey just to have a decent/fairly priced meal (especially with children).
The room was fair, no fridge though - we requested for our room to be freshened up but after a long day at Legoland our towels were where we left them and beds un-made. The fan in the bathroom did not work, the shower was over the bath and didn't give you much space to wash.
Breakfast was a nightmare (mostly because of the volume of guests) - we were not offered tea/coffee on either mornings, you help yourself to a buffet style breakfast which was 'fair'.
The hotel is situated under the flight path to Heathrow airport so if like me you are a light sleeper then take earplugs as there must have been a plane every minute ~ day and night!
On the plus side, the hotel caters very well for children's entertainment outside, with a bouncy castle and outdoor borad games for your use free of charge. Also the hotel is set in massive grounds and acres. We took a stroll through the enchanted wood, had we known we would have taken a football and tennis gear as there is a large pitch area and tennis courts for guests to use.
When checking out, there were only two staff in reception and about fifteen frustrated people waiting their turn. There were a lot of people complaining about the service and overall I would say the hotel could do a lot better.

Room Tip: ask for a room/suite in the white house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Beaumont Estate | Burfield Road, Old Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Old Windsor
The White Hotel
The White House Old Windsor, Berkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.