We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Park
866 New Chester Road, Bromborough CH62 7HF, England
0151 334 1331
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Bromborough
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Never had a bad meal there, great selection, great service and especially great value for money. Going again next Monday. Well worth the drive there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    9
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spec”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Travelling home and hungry, the restaurant we had picked to eat at was closed (7.30 on a Sunday evening). We drove on and called in here. Large and bright and busy but we were served immediately and chose from the special menu for 2. It's a bit like eating in your Gran's parlour (though much bigger). The food was excellent and plentiful. Huge ribs in the shared platter and three main courses between 2. Now, we are big lads who like to eat but this beat us and we were forced to leave half a dish and declined the desserts. The restaurant was almost full by the time we had left and is obviously popular with locals. There is a lot of competition in the locality so they must be doing something right. Lots of takeaway business also. Not the place for a romantic liaison but recommended for larger parties. We will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral Merseyside
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't usually do reviews for restaurants but having seen the last few reviews for this restaurant I felt the need to put the record straight. For the record I don't know the owner or any of the staff.
Yes I know anyone can have a bad meal anywhere but we have been to this restaurant three times in the last four months and have been very happy with the food and service each time.
It is not a Michelin star restaurant but neither are the prices. The decor is a bit tired BUT £12.90 for five courses including crispy duck is excellent value. There is plenty of choice and it has always been good quality.
The staff have always been friendly and efficient. They never stop and work very hard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It is disgraceful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I would never go there again because the staff are VERY rude I felt like walking out of the door IMPROVE YOUR BUSINESS GOLDEN PARK I HOPE U IMPROVE

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER GOING HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Staff very very rude. Smells of damp dog and not sure what they are serving as the chicken if that's what it is is very wet and doesn't taste like chicken. Bad bad mistake coming here. Save your money and go elsewhere. Didn't want to tick that circle. Don't deserve one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Park also viewed

 
New Ferry, Wirral
Parkgate, Wirral
 

Been to Golden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.