We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB BREAKFAST!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Wirral

Save Saved
You added Village Urban Resort Wirral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Wirral
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pool Lane, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Bromborough
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SUPERB BREAKFAST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed over the road in the Travelodge Hotel,but was lucky enough to take Breakfast here on the Sunday.Excellent sevice and the selection was outstanding.All you can eat and drink for £5.95 each.Would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    103
    84
    39
    21
See reviews for
49
106
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel was conveniently situated near Port Sunlight and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It had all the amenities we wanted and it made our trip to the Wirral very enjoyable indeed. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and the meals in the restaurant were very ggod and well presented. I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to the Wirral and Liverpool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Average hotel with some good points but some flaws the management and designers might like to look at.
Firstly, when you arrive you have to walk through a cloud of smoke as all the smokers congregate outside the front door. This also creates the problem of smoke blowing into the hotel giving the whole ground floor a smell of cigarettes.
We had an upper-deck room but walking to the room meant walking down corridors that felt like the could do with some TLC. The bathroom was large and spacious and well decorated. There was a large shower was over the bath which was very nice. However, the shower screen was totally inadequate and the bathroom got wet when you used the shower. To make matters worse, the soap dispenser and controls were at the other end of the bath which meant walking on the slippy bath surface.
The bed was large and comfortable and although the TV was large, the picture quality was poor. The BOSE ipod player was a great bonus. The room was very hot and the window only opened about 2 inches. The air conditioning unit only went as low as 19 degrees and was very noisy. The tea and coffee contained a good selection and the bottled water was welcome. However, the wardrobe only had 4 coat hangers, no good if you're staying more than 1 night.
The swimming pool was totally unsupervised with loads of kids running around and jumping in despite the signs saying not to. The steam room and Jacuzzi were good but the whole spa area felt less than luxurious.
We didn't eat at the hotel but we did have one drink in the bar. The reason we only had one was because beer was £3.95 a pint and lager £3.45. £7.50 for two drinks is extortionate and, being on the ground floor, the bar smelt of cigarette smoke.
In all, a reasonable stay and if we were in the area we may stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as we were attending the Vintage Weekend at Port Sunlight and were pleased to find the hotel is within easy walking distance to Port Sunlight village.

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly greeted by the receptionists and booked for an evenings entertainment Tribute act.

We ate dinner in the restaurant but it was not up to expectations for the price paid. Breakfast, however, was very good with a good choice. The dining room staff were all very friendly and efficient.

On arrival in our room in the afternoon we could clearly hear a hen party in the next room so asked to be moved and this was arranged. Pleased to say we didn't have any further disturbance but I do think the hotel needs to segregate hen party guests from other guests, drunken men are bad enough but drunken women are far worse!

The hotel is in a good location and has lots of facilities, highly recommend it and we will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I spent 2 nights here in early October, and can see why this place is called The Village.
There's so much going on here, it can be quite busy when you step through the doors - there's a Spa/gym, a bar, a Starbucks, a restaurant, and the hotel itself - which also offers the standard conference and wedding/celebration packages too.

Despite all this going on, the trip through reception was swift and easy, the only downside being that they can't take a debit card for any food or extras on the room - just credit cards.
when I stayed there was a conference on at the same time, so the hotel was busy - and pretty much totally full, which is why I assume I ended up with a family room.

Not bad as far as space and comfort went for myself, but had I been travelling with my husband I would have been a bit annoyed at not having a proper double bed - what I got was 2 singles pushed together and made up as a double.
I was on my own though, and had a nice spacious room with a good dining table/working area, and a large sofa.
There's good wardrobe/hanging space, and plenty of drawers for clothing & storing general 'stuff'
The hotel has free wifi throughout, and I was getting a decent strength signal too.

There are a few other points that the hotel should have a look at improving though.

As i said, I was in a family room, but if I was staying with children I would not have been happy with the level of noise coming from the spin class in the gym - it was loud enough to be able to make out the instructors shouted instructions and the dance music that they were working out to, this went on till about 19:45 both evenings.
When I called down to reception they did offer to move me the following day, but there were no more rooms available that evening - not a problem for me when I was told the finish time for the class, but I wouldn't be wanting small children trying to sleep in there with that going on - better noise insulation please!

The TV was new, but the remote control was missing the battery cover, and there were definitely less channels than I've found in other hotels. Several that were available weren't particularly clear either. I also noticed that there were poorly filled screw holes in the top of the unit the TV was sat on.

And finally - there are almost no plug sockets!
In the room I stayed in, there was 1 plug socket available, really - 1!
This single socket had to be used for the kettle, the hairdryer, powering my laptop, and charging my mobile.
I assume the cleaners have to use this for the hoover too...
I looked behing the bed, the tables, the units - nothing!
Everything else electrical was wired direct into the walls - and this really was the only available plug socket.
Maybe other rooms have more?
but this one definitely didn't - which seems very strange given how reliant we are these days on being able to plug things in

I did have a really good nights sleep though, and that's the main thing.
The bathroom was also clean and functional, with decent waterpressure on the shower (the showerhead could have done with a bit of a descale if I'm honest, but it worked)

Breakfast was also hot and filling, there was plenty of choice, and the cooked food was tasty and hot. It does help if you're there first thing though I guess.

All in all - I'd stay here again, but there are a few things they need to work on.
This could be a really nice hotel, but these few niggles are just really letting it down.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floors/away from the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

pleasant location away from the hustle and bustle of LIverpool city but close enough to visit - just 10 mins away through Mersey tunnel. Almost opposite Port Sunlight model village/museum/art gallery which is well worth visiting. An Italian restaurant and pub on site both providing adequate food and Starbucks for coffee/cakes etc

Room Tip: upper deck room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed as a last minute booking after original hotel overbooked - wonderful - staff so helpful could not do enough for us - as only one night stay we wanted to check in as soon as possible and they were so understanding even though 3 hours before official check in time they located us a room
Rooms were fab so clean and everything you need on hand
Pool was bonus and a great way to relax they offer range of treatments but I did not undertake so cant comment
We had breakfast included and for the price it was excellent - considering other local hotels charge almost 3 times
best option is to book early as last minute can be pricey but we would be happy to return again and re already looking to book 2 more trips

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Urban Resort Wirral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Wirral

Address: Pool Lane, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Bromborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Wirral 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Wirral is only minutes from the M53 and is an ideal location from which to discover the Wirral Peninsula and all that North Wales has to offer. Then there's the historic Roman City of Chester in one direction, the bustling city of Liverpool in the other. Between them, they'll provide hours of fun and entertainment for all the family. Village Urban Resort Wirral has 117 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Village Urban Resort Wirral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Village Hotel And Leisure Club Wirral
Village Hotel Leisure Wirral
Village Hotel Bromborough
Village Urban Resort Wirral Bromborough, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Wirral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.