We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great course and a wonderful old clubhouse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Liverpool Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Liverpool Golf Club
Meols Drive, Hoylake CH47 4AL, England
0151 632 3101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Hoylake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Royal Liverpool Golf Club is delighted to welcome visitors to play our challenging, historic links. Please see our online Tee Booking system for details, discounts apply on Mondays.Royal Liverpool Golf Club at Hoylake has staged major tournaments throughout its long history including 11 Open Championships. The Open made a successful return to Hoylake in 2006 when Tiger Woods achieved his third victory. The Women's British Open will be played at Hoylake for the first time in 2012, then the Open returns in 2014. The Club was formed in 1869, making it the second oldest links in England. Hoylake has a long and distinguished history of golfing firsts: It was host to the inaugural men’s amateur championship in 1885; the first ever international match between Scotland & England in 1902; the first Home International matches & the first transatlantic contest between GB&I & the USA in 1921, an event which became the Walker Cup the following year. In fact, it is Hoylake's contribution to the amateur game that has set it apart from other clubs. The historic memorabilia in the clubhouse is well reknowned. Golfers are welcome to follow in legends' footsteps to play our links.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great course and a wonderful old clubhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I recently played Royal Liverpool GC again after a 23-year absence (I played on the Liverpool University golf team here). It was every bit as good as I remember. Great holes, good condition and a wonderful history. Can't wait to see how it plays during this year's Open Championship.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A top ten logo a top fifty golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of my favorite courses in England. A lot of history in the clubhouse so don't be to hasty in leaving.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“In great condition with fabulous greens.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Played this week in the Wirral Classic.The club was very welcoming & the course a great test,fair & with fabulous greens.I played last year & it had suffered from the heavy rain on previous weeks,but this year it has benefited from the good summer.The staff were very friendly & it is steeped in history,take some time to view all the pictures & photographs.Look forward to my next visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the seventh 'open venue' course we have played and ranks up there as one of my favouites.

Played start of September and course was in fabulous condition. The holes are all fairly interesting and the first tee shot sees out of bounds down the right and the clubhouse down the left, followed by a dog leg right. Great opening hole.

It was a very windy day when we played but the course was enjoyably playable off the visitor tees.

Par threes all good.

As a day out and experience, there is a range to hit some balls, two practice greens for chipping and a great putting green in front of the clubhouse.

The shop has a good range and staffwerereally friendly.

The starter explained the first tee shot and how the layout changes during an open when 1st becomes the 3rd and had some good stories from the 2006 open whilst we waited.

All round very enjoyable and would highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tough Track for British Boys Championship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a fantastic course. We hadn't been since The Open in 2006 where it was so dry and hot. The boys got wind and a bit of rain the first few days but the course as ever was in amazing condition. With the sand dunes it is also great for viewing play.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Liverpool Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal Liverpool Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Liverpool Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.