We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a return visit to this Wirral Rendezvous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Restaurant Bar and Grill

Monte Carlo Restaurant Bar and Grill
22/24 Market St, Hoylake CH47 2AE, Hoylake, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Hoylake
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Well worth a return visit to this Wirral Rendezvous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having lunched here four or five times, it's wonderful to return with very dear friends to receive a very warm welcome from the highly professional staff who are very attentive without being over familiar. The food and wine and best of all the bill match this relaxed Trattoria. Bravo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Need somewhere good for a meal? Come here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I were looking for somewhere fairly inexpensive for an impromtu Wednesday night meal, and made a fantastic choice by coming here. From the service on walking in with no reservation, to the beautiful food and wine, and esepcially the bill at the end of the meal, we were really happy with our choice and will be back again. This was helped by the fact that Wednesday is 1/2 price pasta night, and as we picked the Pasta Trio to share, we spent under £30 in total including wine, starter, main and dessert each!
Bella bella!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I have just been for a fantastic meal for my wifes birthday.The service was fantastic. It's nice to be served by an experienced professional Italian waiter who was very attentive. We were made to feel very welcome.
The food was excellent. I would recommend the monkfish and the tiramasu, which were fantastic.
We will be returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good food and a lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have eaten here three times now - on one ocassion it was the two pastas for the price of one. The Service is excellent and the food reliable . The pasta is particularly good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok but Not Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Four of us went on a Saturday night. For some reason we'd booked earlier than we normally do but when we got there downstairs was full. We were shown to an empty upstairs, but it soon filled up. Service was good and there was a wide choice of starters and mains. Basically it's a Italian restaurant but they dont do pizzas in the evening. I had sardines to start and they were good, 2 of our party had ribs and the consensus was that there was too much sauce and it was too 'tomatoey'. Mains were mixed too, although they arrived very quickly after the starters were cleared away we all felt they had been sitting under a hot lamp. At £150 for 4 I wasn't cheap either (that included 2 beers and a bottle of wine).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Carlo Restaurant Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monte Carlo Restaurant Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Restaurant Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.