We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beef Bar And Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beef Bar And Grill
154-158 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 0AH , England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“New Years Eve brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Four of us eat here for a change from our normal place as they were charging ridiculous prices as it was the last day of December!! The food was really good and they had a young man playing the guitar which was a really pleasant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    6
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food was great, bartenders and staff were spot on.. however no stock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

even though there were only a couple of tables in tonight, we still had a good time and the food was great. The refurb looks amazing and so i recommend this place to anyone who wants to give this place a chance. The bartenders were always doing something and the drinks were spot on, just how me and my wife like them. The staff are young but are polite and lovely. The food was amazing, however i think whoever is the owner or in charge of the food orders, in the place, needs to make sure that the actually have stock in. Wasn't nice being told that there were some meals not available due to no stock.

overall a good place for a drink and a meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Below average food, wouldn't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had been wanting to try out this place for a while and with an enthusiastic welcome, we expected good things. However, food was very average, could have bought better quality burgers in the supermarket and a side of chips means two thirds of the plate! The fried chicken came in tiny strips and there wasn't much of it for the price we paid, very disappointing. We were also left waiting ages for our bill whilst the staff were chatting which was annoying when we wanted to just leave.
All the staff were very nice but the restaurant is poorly managed and the food quality is poor

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“should have kept walking!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Its never a good sign when all the chefs are hanging out in the restaurant and are the only people sat in it! i should have kept walking, but husband fancied a burger so in we went.
It looks ok from the outside, but smelt like a tired old nightclub inside (i could tell as there were no food smells due to no customers) and was vv dated interior, looked a bit seedy and with aspirations of night club status.
the food when it came was awful, as it is called beef and defines itself by its meaty meals, the burger was uninspiring and unimpressive, it was a bun, burger and iceburg lettuce on the plate- end of! it was also expensive. as theres so much choice in the area i wont go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenterden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awful food, dated horrible restaurant but very friendly staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We prebooked and arrived for our table for two, to be told that most the staff hadnt come to work, so they only had a temporary/inexperienced chef and waitresses working. Not the best welcome, but we decided to go ahead anyway (wrong decision!!). The restaurant looks tired and desperately in need of a refurb. It looks grungey. I was told to not lean back as there was wet paint behind my head on the back of the chair! There are huge scrape/scuff marks/damage to the floors. The staff were smiley and very friendly, but when our order arrived wrong (both asked for no chips and extra salad, but got chips anyway. Peppercorn sauce was forgotten for the steak and brought after we had finished. The steak was APPALLING, like a dried up piece of bacon!. My ribs were overcooked to death and almost inedible. Starter of ribs served cold and starter of corn on the cob which had been boiled to beyond recognition and was slush on a stick!). Even the waitress looked appalled at what she had served us to eat! The staff were lovely and kept apologising throughout the whole meal. They deducted a lot of stuff off the bill, but really we shouldnt have been charged at all. Whoever manages this place needs to wake up sort the place out properly!! Its a disgrace.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beef Bar And Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beef Bar And Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.